We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms poor customer service”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great rooms poor customer service”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in the standard sea view room. Not really worth paying the extra for the view as it is partially obstructed by buildings. The rooms are very clean and modern. The king size bed is huge and comfortable. Make sure you request a room with a rain shower it is awesome.

Don't expect anyone to greet you at the door and carry your bags otherwise we enjoyed our time.

Room Tip: Request rain shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear kolly33,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu, your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel team, we all look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    120
    28
    9
See reviews for
142
326
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The exterior of this hotel is terrible, But what a shock when you go inside the rooms are amazing the wooden bath tub was such a great feature , Really comfy bed & pillows , Wifi in room. Breakfast was great really good value. Kota Kinabulu town is dirty smelly & really grotty but the ocean is clear & a trip out to the islands by boat is great shame about the rubbish on the beaches they really should clear it up .

Room Tip: I had ocean view deluxe sunset was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Tigeki,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu, your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass your kind words onto the team.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here for a week.

Everyone on staff we came in contact with was very friendly and helpful.

Location is an ideal jump-off point for any activities you have in mind.

There are 2 restaurants downstairs. They have a fixed price menu at the restaurant Deco with some great deal. Less than 20 ringgit for a meal!

There is also a decent happy hour if you would like a beer (or 5) after a day out.

The AC in the rooms is cold, and you can control the temp!
If you are staying in a room facing the ocean, make sure to close your curtains after about 13:00 or your room with get steaming hot from the direct sun.

Everything in the room worked as it should, and there was a complimentary local paper at our door each morning.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the north side provide gorgeous views of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Josh R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and recent experience at the Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Your feedback is always welcomed and helpful.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Sabah. Sabah is a unique destination with lots of hidden treasures and places of interest to explore.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel Team, we all look forward to welcome you back with us again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed here a year ago and returned for this trip. The hotel has only got better! Our room the first night wasn't as comfortable in layout (noise and light came through the door) as the previous room so we asked for a change. Not a problem to the staff. The breakfast was varied with enough fruit and coffee to keep me happy. The swimming pool and spa were fabulous although the pool needs umbrealls to be sun smart! Location is perfect to walk to the waterfront area, to the port, to markets and for shopping. Thank you Horizon Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear MyTravel44,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu, your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass your kind words onto the team.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel is new all looks nice and clean, stayed with a friend and there were two good sized beds and room is big enough to move around. Shower spacious with the rain shower in the ceiling. Minibar empty, but that is fine, two bottles of water provided and tea in the room. Breakfast buffet great, good selection, nice and friendly service. Airco a bit noisy and the pool is ok but not great, few beds and not really a place to spend a couple of hours as quite small. Roof terrace is nice though and good view.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurineCitroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Ontheroad1974 ,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us , and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 nights during our roundtrip in Borneo 2013.the seaview from our room is nice.nearby from hotel is Pasar filipine.just walking or taking a cab just about RM10 for 1 way.the breakfast spreads is ok,many choice.have nasi lemak and western buffet.we have book Deluxe seaview room.the rate is about RM 243(for government staff rate).have batik sarong and kain pelikat.have bathtub outside of bathroom.nice infinity swimming pool at level 6.Though the hotel was rated 4-stars, the rooms were 5-star quality; large, ample, very clean, and nicely decorated. All the amenities were there; iron, room-safe, satellite TV, wifi, toothbrush, robes, really like this room and view.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadJaafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear BadJaafar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and recent experience at the Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Your feedback is always welcomed and helpful.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Sabah. Sabah is a unique destination with lots of hidden treasures and places of interest to explore.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel Team, we all look forward to welcome you back with us again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

After a unhappy Kota experience, we treated ourselves to the Horizon.
Service was excellent.
Room was better than great.
Bed was super comfy.
Pool was perfect, maybe an extra chair or deck room tho.
Horizon has a gym and day spa also if that floats your boat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_Honest_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing