We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed 7 nights. Top floor room (spend the extra for deluxe) with amazing views. Very spacious also. Great customer service and clean facilities. Great gym and pool. Delicious breakfast. Cant really complain about anything.

I will just let the photos speak for themselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamTrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear DreamTrip2,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback on the efficient and pleasant service from our team members, clean facilities, great gym & swimming pool as well as our breakfast at Deco Café & Grill Restaurant.

Your positive feedback will certainly encourage us to continuously seek for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    412
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
327
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Could not fault the facilities or staff.
It is one of those hotels that exceeded our expectations as tourists.

Very centrally located with convenient overhead walkway to the waterfront markets and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 380SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear 380SL,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Spent a few nights here recently, before and after climbing Mount Kinabalu (that's another story). The hotel is located right in the middle of KK, close the waterfront and markets. Breakfasts are fine, the happy hour prices good, staff helpful and the rooms OK. We were on a smoking floor, after booking a non smoking room, but were given an upgrade and the option to move if we were not happy. Colour shceme is a bit bizzare as is the horse lamp in the foyer, but overall we were very happy staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEB0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear DEB0077,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and recent experience at the Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Your feedback is always welcomed and helpful.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Sabah. Sabah is a unique destination with lots of hidden treasures and places of interest to explore.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel Team, we all look forward to welcome you back with us again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Horizon Hotel is ideally located in walking distance to shopping, restaurants and most city attractions, . The air-conditioned deluxe room was spacious and well appointed, with lovely sea views. The included buffet breakfast was extensive and catered for many tastes. The staff were friendly and helpful. If wanting to spend time in the pool some may find the 6th floor pool area a little compact. Overall, very comfortable and great value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose to stay at Horizon again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Dee W,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu, your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly pass your kind words onto the team.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel team, we all look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Rooms are spacious (we got 2 connecting rooms) and very comfortable. Friendly staff. Great breakfast buffet. Located right across Gaya Street (KK's Sunday market). We were delighted with the rain shower. It’s actually more than what we expected. There are probably cheaper hotels along Gaya Street but for $87/night with breakfast, it’s a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Betsy A,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us , and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at Horizon for a week and every day we liked it more and more. Clean and comfortable room with enough storage space. Rain shower was awesome. Bring your own body lotion, hotel provides only shampoo, conditioner, soap and shower gel.
Breakfast had good variety of dishes; 2-3 items are changed every day. Have to mention though that food was not hot enough. It does not matter if you come at 7 am or 10 am, food is always barely warm. Another thing about breakfast area: too many fingerprints on its shiny glass door, hotel management should pay close attention to such little but important things.
If you did not prebook your trips, don't worry - there is a tour desk at the hotel.
10-15 min walking distance practically to everything: Jesselton Point, malls, Welcome Seafood Restaurant, tourist center, seafront market. There's a taxi stand on the right side of the hotel. Sunday market is just across the street from Horizon (If you need to buy comfortable sandals go to Bata shoes store which is located at the beginning of Gaya Street).

Room Tip: For a great cup of coffee go to OLDTOWN White Coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhenia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Zhenia1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and recent experience at the Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Your feedback is always welcomed and helpful.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Sabah. Sabah is a unique destination with lots of hidden treasures and places of interest to explore.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel Team, we all look forward to welcome you back with us again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I live and work in Sabah, and every time I come to KK I stay at the Horizon hotel. Having tried out many of the hotels in KK, I can guarantee that this hotel offers the best combination of price, location, comfort and facilities. The staff are very friendly (I don't need someone to greet me at the door and take my bag from my hand) and are always willing to try and help- which is not always the case in Sabah. I have seen the quality of the hotel improve rapidly over the last year as it has grown, the staff have grown with it and developed. Rooms are large with big comfy beds and a good sized bathroom. The small pool is a welcome relief on a hot day (although a few more pool beds/ chairs would be welcomed I'm sure) and the gym is well equipped (and nearly always empty so there's no fighting for machines). Finally, for some reason, the restaurant is always reliable for a good breakfast, and is worth trying for lunch and dinner too- there's often great promotions to be taken advantage of!

Room Tip: All rooms are of a similar high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Philippa V,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu, your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly pass your kind words onto the team.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel team, we all look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing