We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay!”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way! The room was beautiful was a very large bathroom and spacious bedroom. Wifi in the room, great maid service and the restaurant breakfast which was included in our price was terrific with lots of great choices. The hotel itself is located very close to the ocean, the night market and the everyday markets. Everything was easy to walk to. We rented a car and traveled down to the Klias Wetlands one day which was very rewarding.

Room Tip: Watch booking.com for special rates. we had a lovely deluxe suite for $80. on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear OntarioTravellers2,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback on the efficient and pleasant service from our team members, our beautiful room, free wifi as well as our breakfast at Deco Café & Grill Restaurant.

Your positive feedback will certainly encourage us to continuously seek for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Nice hotel, good facilities, helpful staff, central location. We had 5 nights at this hotel, & found it to be good value. Quite a new building. Didn't try the spa or gym, but pool was nice. Breakfast was included in our package and was a good slelction. Good tour desk for booking day trips.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSCNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear JSCNewZealand,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu, your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly pass your kind words onto the team.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel team, we all look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had 5 days at this hotel and struggled to find anything wrong. Location is perfect to markets, resturants and shopping malls. The buffet breakfast would have to be one of the best we have had. Staff are very friendly and very helpful.
The one thing that was annoying was that the rooms air con seemed to be liked to the hotel and the temp couldn't be changed. That's just being picky!!
A really great hotel.

Room Tip: Shop around for a cold beer as prices can vary so much. Check out Uppers Star, by the Hyatt. hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carterkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear carterkenny,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa, Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us.
Such information enables us to monitor the application of our service standards while simultaneously allowing us to rectify any shortfalls.

Your comments with regards to the room air conditioning are noted and will be looked into.
Thank you for your positive feedback on our buffet breakfast.

I truly appreciate your kind patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in the town before flying out. Centrally located hotel. We had booked sea view but were upgraded to mountain view suite on arrival. The hotel appears to want to stand out on its decor from the the life-size black horse lamp at reception to psychedelic hallway carpet. The spacious room had the bed in the middle and the bath in the main room, not in the bathroom (toilet and shower). Lots of cupboard space. Staff were helpful. Pool is shaded in the morning (empty) and gets the afternoon sun (crowded). Plenty of food choices outside in addition to hotel restaurant and cafe. Wide breakfast choices but being all buffet most things were cold. Acceptable value for a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saydelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Saydelah,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

Your comment with regards during breakfast is noted and will be looked into.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.
Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

New hotel with incredible rooms for great value. Very high spec and working for a large financial institution I get to travel and stay at great places.. This was a holiday and wanted to relax with a touch of luxury without paying too much This has it.. Rain shower, free standing bath tub in the bed room, 50 inch plasma, great bed and everything else you could think of.
Location is good and a few minutes walk from waterfront or the harbour (access to the islands).
Service is great and everyone polite and professional and friendly.
Breakfast is fairly varied enough to not bore me in 6 days and Kk is a good base to explore as the Horizon is the place to 'set up camp'. Highly recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmxstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear dmxstu,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is centrally located. The room is clean and is spacious. The breakfast also have many varieties. But the only disappointment is everyday the breakfast is the same.The staff are polite and helpful and with smiling faces.Great gym and pool.Very convenient to food shops and and shopping plaza.Everywhere is only walking distance. Just outside the cafe of the hotel there is a flyover and can reach the Filipino Market in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear joanne932,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

Your comment with regards during breakfast is noted and will be looked into.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We booked a room, knowing we would have to pay for a dot to be brought in for our 8 yr-old daughter, and worried it would be too crowded. But even with the king bed and table & 2 chairs we had plenty of room. The rooms are very well designed with lots of room & storage space as well. The central location is excellent, you can access shopping, the waterfront, Jesselton jetty, hawker stalls, rainforest bar & grill, Sunday market, etc immediately within a short walk. We were so happy here we extended our stay and changed our itinerary to stay longer. Staff were nice & helpful, buffet breakfast was excellent even for our finicky daughter, and the pool was small but very refreshing after walking around. Thanks to the staff at the Horizon, we very much enjoyed our stay at KK, and we would highly recommend it, and can't imagine why you would stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We had a city view, which was fine as the big market at the end of the walkway from the hotel pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green-family-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Green-family-trips,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £51 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing