We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horizon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
254
439
137
35
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
439
137
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeco cafesea viewrain showergaya streetsunday marketdeluxe roomwalking distancemodern roomscentral locationoutdoor poolsmoking floorbreakfast buffettop floorfree upgradeegg stationhotel restaurantnice room
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013

At the check in, the staff were just not interested. There was no ‘Hello and Welcome’ and whilst checking us in, they continued to answer the phone, run back and forth to the office, and generally ignore us. Even though we had clearly written on the booking form that we required an extra bed in the room for our 3 year old and emailed the hotel separately, this was not set up for us. We were told, that if we wanted an extra bed we would be charged extra per night, but if we wanted our 3 year old to co-sleep in our bed or if we wanted a baby cot, this would be free. Where is the logic in this policy? She is 3 years old, why does it matter how she sleeps, she will cost the Hotel the same amount whatever type of bed she uses.... the manager just kept repeating that it was ‘normal’ for a 3 year old to co-sleep!

The hotel lobby was chaotic, maintenance and cleaners everywhere, equipment left everywhere causing trip hazards.

We got to the room, which was very well decorated and modern, however, even though it was a non-smoking room, there was a strong smell of smoke.

There was a letter left in the room to inform us that there was maintenance taking place that afternoon and that the water pressure would be low between 3-7pm. (no mention of this at check in)
This was not great but we understand things happen and hoped the hotel were working quickly to solve the problem.
We headed out for the evening without being able to flush the toilet or have a shower but were sure everything would be ok for us to bathe before bed time.
How wrong we were........ when we returned to the room there was still no water at all (hot or cold) and this remained the case right through to our check out the next day. So, we had to go 24hrs without a shower, cleaning our teeth or able to flush the toilet. This was particularly distressing as one of us had an upset stomach during our stay!
We raised this with the manager at check out and were told that all rooms from the floor 9 upwards had the same problem with the water........ clearly this was an ongoing problem, not just between 3-7pm the previous day.
HORIZON – you should not be putting people in rooms with no water supply. It is a health hazard and extremely upsetting for guests. You need to sort this problem out asap or reduce your available capacity until it is sorted!
As a means of compensation, the manager arranged a free transfer for us upon departure.


The hotel pool is very small and the terrace area around the pool only has 3-4 sun beds, no chairs and no shade whatsoever. It also needed a good clean.

Breakfast was OK, not much choice of hot items and the air-con was leaking and fluid was dripping in to the food.

This hotel has the potential to be excellent value for money as it is very well decorated and has good facilities, however, until they sort out the attitude of their check in staff and their water problems, it should be avoided!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinaranft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Mrs Tina Ranft,

Thank you very much for posting your review on your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu,
Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

It is with regret to know of the unpleasant experience that you had during your 1 night stay with us. I would like to apologise on the poor service rendered by the Front Desk staff upon your check in. The staff could have done better by extending you a warm welcome and a smile. On the request of an extra bed, your request was made through your Online Travel Agent which wasn’t made known to us. Extra beds are chargeable however we extended the extra bed on complimentary.

I do apologise for disruption of the water supply on the day of your arrival. We were trying our level best to rectify the problem and water supply was available to all floors at intervals. This should have been made known to you upon check in.

With regards to the sunbeds at poolside, with space constrain we can only accommodate 3 units. We are unable to fix any shades or parasols as sudden strong winds had blown this onto the main road below which may cause serious accidents.

We take all comments seriously and you can rest assure we will improve on our service.

Kind regards,

Philip D. Theseira General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Our family of 7 stayed at the Horizon Hotel for 7 nights and had a wonderful stay! The rooms were very new and the beds very comfortable. We had several meals in the hotel and they were very affordable and tasty. The Asian restaurant was lovely also. Breakfast was included and had a lot of variety.

The staff at Horizon are wonderful and what really made our stay special. They provide fantastic service and were always up for a chat. They loved our kids and our kids loved them.

A special thank you to Asmidah, Eddey, Aswan, Prince, Bariamin and Neoly. Your friendliness will not be forgotten.

I would definitely stay at Horizon Hotel again.

Mr Harry, Nel and family from Australia!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellygirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear nellygirl71,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

Send our regard to Amy and Mikeala.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had had an adventurous and energetic trip in Kinabalu and were looking for a day spa to treat ourselves with before our flight home and we came across the horizon hotel. We checked out the day spa and it looked good and then sat down to try their coffee - we hadn't found a good one in the two weeks we'd been there so were delighted to finally get a nice cup of coffee. That prompted us to look on the Internet to see how much it would cost to stay a night. As it was last minute we got a great rate that included breakfast so we snapped it up and weren't disappointed.
The rooms were lovely; spacious, comfortable, great shower and lovely city view. The breakfast was fantastic - a buffet with a large variety of things to eat and drink. The staff in the restaurants were excellent - efficient and friendly.
The day spa, after a bad start, turned out to be good - when we first walked in the women working there seemed very disinterested in us and the spa that was supposed to be hot was not even luke warm so we had to give it a miss. we had to wait for a while for the massage but once it began it was good.
The pool was disappointing because when we were there it was really murky (as was the spa) and they smelt. So much so that our water baby teenagers opted not to use them. However the breakfast made up for it!
Great rooms, great breakfast,great coffee and at a great price!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear KayeMelbourne,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu,
Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly pass your kind words onto the team.

I do apologise for the pool water being murky as we had some technical problem with our pump and the problem has since been rectified.

With regards to the smell, it did not come from the water but from the wet market which does carry the smell over depending on wind direction.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel team, we all look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

great hotel, excellent location and rooms were very nice. rooms were large, new and spacious and with comfy beds we felt right at home here. totally reccommend and i will be back. breakfast was a good selection of mostly asian cuisine. pool is roof top and ok but not somewhere to hang out for too long as a pretty compact area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelequalslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear travelequalslife,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about your recent experience at the Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu, your feedback is always welcomed and very helpful.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Sabah, it truly is a unique place with a lot of hidden treasures.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel Team, we all look forward to seeing back with us again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We want to let you know how much my friend Judy & I loved staying at The Horizon Hotel in Kota Kinabalu Sabah, last week, which was ideally located & very handy to everything.

Management are to be commended on the wonderful staff employed there! Nothing was too much bother or trouble when we had a few " special" requests, and everyone was so friendly & helpful.

Thank you to Amin, Ady, Rasmidah? & other Deco Cafe staff who were very accommodating & looked after our every wish! The meals were very tasty, surprisingly inexpensive, and the extensive breakfast buffet was an added bonus.

Thank you also to the lovely Ron on the Tour Desk for being so knowledgeable and friendly - we really thought she was a "beautiful" person, and loved seeing her smiling face everyday as we wandered through the hotel!

We were checked-in to our room on our early arrival & the later checkout time was much appreciated as well, as it gave us time to visit the Gaya St markets & do other last minute things on the Sunday prior to our 6pm flight!

We were very impressed with our spacious room & amenities, and enjoyed "people watching" from our City View window. In fact, the only thing we missed was not having a retractable clothes line in the bathroom. We did not feel that we missed out by not booking a Harbour View room, as we were out & about from just after breakfast until late evening every day of our stay.

Whilst we were too busy to use the pool, it looked very clean & had expansive views over the city & Harbour.

The spa area was luxuriously appointed and there were special discounts on offer during our stay.

We really enjoyed our holiday in Kota Kinabalu, and did as much sightseeing as we could in our 6.5 days. We loved KK & it's lovely inhabitants. We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Adrienne Y,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews