We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The room was comfortable with an excellent sea view, The staff was friendly and help full, overall our stay there was enjoyable without any complaints. Good value for money well spent for services rendered.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I got to stay in this hotel for 2 nights and I was impressed by the service especially the concierge. They are very helpful and informative.

The room that I stayed was having the sea with good view. However the size f the room was a bit too small but great decor. Small and cosy with a swivel lounge chair. The amenities were just great.

Location wise is perfect away from hustle and bustle of night life. Walking distance for food and Sunday gaya market.

Down side was the price is relatively expensive at Rm350 nett per night.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elennor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Director of Sales at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Elennor L,
Greetings from Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback on the efficient and pleasant service from our team members, our great decor as well as our amenities.

It seems like you have explore the nearby attractions especially the Sunday Street and the nearby shops and shopping malls, we'd like to thank you for sharing this tips to other readers.

Your positive feedback will certainly encourage us to continuously seek for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.


Thank you.

Natalia Nadirah Saiman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were stranded at the hotel lobby for about 1 hour because the room is not yet ready, despite checking in well after 2pm. We were served by a helpless trainee receptionist and was tokd that previous tenant has just checked out when we arrived. But 1 hour for making up a room is too long when the guest is already waiting at the lobby!

Despite the strategic location at the heart of the city, the price is quite costly when compared against the customer service experience. If I were to dp it again, I wouldn't have minded to pay an extra 50 for better service at other hotels.

They should have managed the rooms better especially during peak season and definitely should not let a trainee on her own at front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afiqahthalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

if you are planning a vacation to relax, shop, and dine, this is an ideal property to spend it with. from airport, you can take an airport taxi (toyota innova) for rm45 flat rate regardless of arrival time which makes it safe..all taxis in kk dont have meters, but negotiated or fixed rate..about 15 minutes form airport to hotel..we were upgraded to a deluxe room japanese zen type which has a circular bath tub and big lavatory, toilet seat with bidet. room size is 35 square meters, same size as standard room. room has hi speed complimentary wifi. free breakfast was pretty impressive as praised by most reviewers with good spread and choices. fresh fruits with super sweet honeydew and papayas are just unbelievable. it has an infinity pool on the 6th floor. within 5-10 minute walk from hotel are 4 shopping malls, kk plaza, wisma, suria, and centerpoint/warisan. from warisan, one can take a free shuttle bus to 1 borneo hypermall which leaves every hour. kk plaza and centerpoint are mid scale malls, while wisma and suira are up-scale malls, but suria is the newest mall. the asian resto in the hotel was just perfect. the dimsum offers a 30% discount during weekdays, and 20% weekends that makes it all convenient and all worthwhile. the choices of dimsum are definitely splendid, don't foget to try the homemade fish call wrapped in lime skin, hmmmm.2 people dining will only cost less than rm30 with 5 to 6 dishes...dinner at the same resto ala carte with soup and 3 dishes about rm80, but are a little bit on the salty side. local tours are readily available down the lobby for you to choose from which is convenient for personal or group tours. outside the hotel is a city bus stand which costs rm0.50/pax to take you within the city. taxi from hotel to 1 borneo fixed rate is rm30..right outside of kk plaza was a central market and night market plus durian cart in the afternoon where you can savior fresh and delightful durian..locals go there and eat their heart out with favorite durian. hotel prohibits durian, jackfruit, mangostene, and marang. the downside is...this property caters to majority tour groups from china wihich makes it horribly loud and unruly. they shout and yell like in their own home, leave room door open and talk between rooms even late at night, not to mention slamming of doors repeatedly! overall, this is a pretty good choice whether for couples, family or business trips.

Room Tip: higher floor and corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgarong888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights to explore the city prior to heading up the mountain. We had a fantastic time! The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean and the shower was amazing... I want to take it back to Australia with me! The location is perfect! So close to so many landmarks that we just walked everywhere! (even to Tanjung Aru to the disbelief of many lol). Breakfast was included which was a yummy selection of local and western foods. The pool was great with amazing views of the city as you relax.
Easily the best thing about this hotel is the staff! Everyone is so welcoming with beautiful smiles and friendly helpful attitude even though language was a bit of a barrier. It was an absolute pleasure to come and go!
Highly recommend the Horizon Hotel to anyone planning and exploring KK... We had an awesome time! Thank you for looking after us!
From the 2 crazy Aussie girls :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only on our way through KK to explore Sabah from further afield. The hotel was more than we expected and the highlight for me being a GREAT experience at the SPA upstairs. We arrived late in the evening after a sunset cruise and departed at 0530. Mum and dad ate in the in house restaurant and raved about the quality for money. They had organized a take away breakfast box for us all which we unfortunately forgot when we checked out.
Wish we had a chance to stay a few more nights here!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. The hotel is very centrally located; shops, markets and restaurants are within walking distance.
The rooms are spacious and clean, although the floors always felt dusty. There was lots of drawer space, which you don't often find in hotel rooms. They also have this wavy carpet leading to the rooms which are quite psychedelic but we thought quaint. We were on the eighth floor and we had a lovely view of the mountain ranges and the sea.
They need to improve on their customer service though. They had a smile campaign going on whilst we were there, whereby the staff were encouraged to smile more and guests could nominate a staff member who smiled the most. However, the only time we ever had a smile from the reception staff was when we checked in; after that they lost their smiles. We had asked for a late checkout and were given one by one member of the staff who said that it would be recorded that we could check out at 1pm. On the day itself, we had a call from another member of staff at 12.45pm asking why we hadn't checked out yet and when told that it was already approved the day before for a 1pm checkout, she didn't know anything about it and told us that if we weren't out by 1, we would be charged another day. They were very grumpy when we eventually came down at 12.58.
We had the buffet breakfast provided as well, which offered a good variety of food. But again the staff weren't very helpful. I couldn't get green tea - they only offered Sabah tea or coffee; one morning I brought down my own bag of green tea and asked if I could have some hot water, the staff brought me a teacup of hot water. He couldn't seem to understand when I asked for a pot of hot water. The wait staff also took a long time getting from point A to point B. They also need to be more vigilant with the guests - I saw a guest walk from one dish to another using the same pair of tongs, and another one dropped the tongs, picked it up and put it back on the table. The waiter just walked past and 'didn't' see it. In fact, the chefs who came out every now and then seemed to be working harder than the wait staff.
I think our stay would have been more enjoyable if not for the poor customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Lizperth

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write your review.

It is with regret that you had such an experience with us. I do apologize for the confusion caused upon your last day of stay. There was a miscommunication between the Front Desk staff on the checkout time extended to you. I again apologize on the poor attention given to you and the inaction by the service staff during breakfast meal period.

Rest assured that all points as mentioned has been reviewed for improvement and we will include in our training and audit to ensure such experience will not occur.

Once again do accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations and we welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.


Kind regards

Philip D. Theseira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £55 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing