We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel is close to the airport (30 Ringitt) and is conveniently located. The rooms were modern, well-appointed, and clean. No big issues but not good for a relaxation holiday. I would recommend for business travellers who will be out most of the day. We had an early check-out the next morning and the hotel was kind enough to pack our breakfasts for us to take with us. Also, email communication with the hotel was very speedy/efficient except that in the end the hotel car that we had arranged never showed up at the airport. In any case, I would stay here again if I am expecting a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jumeirah_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    400
    117
    27
    8
See reviews for
141
315
53
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The best thing we love about this hotel room (deluxe king with seaview) is enjoying the seaview while lying on the bed! Overall the hotel score points for its location (near Suria mall, Jesselton Point Jetty, KK plaza, night market, waterfront, eateries), comfort of the room, nice pool with sea view and staff service.

However, there are also a few minus points. I was greeted by a cockroach in the bathroom on the day of arrival. Luckily, it disappeared and never reappear for the rest of our stay. The wifi reception is extremely slow! The rainshower water flow is not working well. The water sprayed to different directions and we used the narrow shower head instead. Our room level has cigarette smell and some of it lingered into our room. If you do not mind the above minus points, it is overall still a recommended hotel to stay at KK.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe king room with sea view where you can enjoy the view while lying on your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Loved the hotel. Was in the middle of the city and easy access to food, restaurants and convenience stores. Room provided (although was smoking and not what was reserved as the non-smoking room was not ready at 2 pm) was nice. The bathroom and bath tub was what I loved the most together with the design on the room. It really made my day.

Room Tip: Ask fro high floor and rooms with a bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danieltankeemok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The room was comfortable with an excellent sea view, The staff was friendly and help full, overall our stay there was enjoyable without any complaints. Good value for money well spent for services rendered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I got to stay in this hotel for 2 nights and I was impressed by the service especially the concierge. They are very helpful and informative.

The room that I stayed was having the sea with good view. However the size f the room was a bit too small but great decor. Small and cosy with a swivel lounge chair. The amenities were just great.

Location wise is perfect away from hustle and bustle of night life. Walking distance for food and Sunday gaya market.

Down side was the price is relatively expensive at Rm350 nett per night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elennor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Director of Sales at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Elennor L,
Greetings from Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback on the efficient and pleasant service from our team members, our great decor as well as our amenities.

It seems like you have explore the nearby attractions especially the Sunday Street and the nearby shops and shopping malls, we'd like to thank you for sharing this tips to other readers.

Your positive feedback will certainly encourage us to continuously seek for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.


Thank you.

Natalia Nadirah Saiman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were stranded at the hotel lobby for about 1 hour because the room is not yet ready, despite checking in well after 2pm. We were served by a helpless trainee receptionist and was tokd that previous tenant has just checked out when we arrived. But 1 hour for making up a room is too long when the guest is already waiting at the lobby!

Despite the strategic location at the heart of the city, the price is quite costly when compared against the customer service experience. If I were to dp it again, I wouldn't have minded to pay an extra 50 for better service at other hotels.

They should have managed the rooms better especially during peak season and definitely should not let a trainee on her own at front desk.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afiqahthalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

if you are planning a vacation to relax, shop, and dine, this is an ideal property to spend it with. from airport, you can take an airport taxi (toyota innova) for rm45 flat rate regardless of arrival time which makes it safe..all taxis in kk dont have meters, but negotiated or fixed rate..about 15 minutes form airport to hotel..we were upgraded to a deluxe room japanese zen type which has a circular bath tub and big lavatory, toilet seat with bidet. room size is 35 square meters, same size as standard room. room has hi speed complimentary wifi. free breakfast was pretty impressive as praised by most reviewers with good spread and choices. fresh fruits with super sweet honeydew and papayas are just unbelievable. it has an infinity pool on the 6th floor. within 5-10 minute walk from hotel are 4 shopping malls, kk plaza, wisma, suria, and centerpoint/warisan. from warisan, one can take a free shuttle bus to 1 borneo hypermall which leaves every hour. kk plaza and centerpoint are mid scale malls, while wisma and suira are up-scale malls, but suria is the newest mall. the asian resto in the hotel was just perfect. the dimsum offers a 30% discount during weekdays, and 20% weekends that makes it all convenient and all worthwhile. the choices of dimsum are definitely splendid, don't foget to try the homemade fish call wrapped in lime skin, hmmmm.2 people dining will only cost less than rm30 with 5 to 6 dishes...dinner at the same resto ala carte with soup and 3 dishes about rm80, but are a little bit on the salty side. local tours are readily available down the lobby for you to choose from which is convenient for personal or group tours. outside the hotel is a city bus stand which costs rm0.50/pax to take you within the city. taxi from hotel to 1 borneo fixed rate is rm30..right outside of kk plaza was a central market and night market plus durian cart in the afternoon where you can savior fresh and delightful durian..locals go there and eat their heart out with favorite durian. hotel prohibits durian, jackfruit, mangostene, and marang. the downside is...this property caters to majority tour groups from china wihich makes it horribly loud and unruly. they shout and yell like in their own home, leave room door open and talk between rooms even late at night, not to mention slamming of doors repeatedly! overall, this is a pretty good choice whether for couples, family or business trips.

Room Tip: higher floor and corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgarong888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing