We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location in town”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Handy location in town”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel is convenient for the shops, restaurants etc and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It's nothing flash but it is fine for a few days and the food is reasonable without being exceptional. It's pretty much the Asian equivalent of an Ibis Hotel but with bigger rooms and a great shower! My room was clean but already showing signs of wear but the beds were comfy and the hotel overall wasn't too noisy. All up worth considering if you are coming to Kota Kinabula but don't expect luxury, just expect functionality and reasonable prices for a room with breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterfloyd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    120
    28
    9
See reviews for
142
326
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

spacious and super clean room, located in the heart of KK, close to many famous local resturants. good value for money. however the service is just so so and the staff is not as helpful as expected...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Room spacious, clean, staff helpful & friendly. Situated in the heart of town. Walking distant to a lot of favourite places & eateries. Breakfast had a variety of selections. Had a wonderful foot & shoulder massage and it was cheap. Overall the hotel was value for money. Will definite stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseTheseira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A bad start to our stay with a check-in that took more than 30 minutes. We had pre-booked and pre-paid months earlier but on arrival the room had apparently disappeared. Three staff members whispered to each other and pointed at the screen for about 15 minutes without once speaking to us. It was even more frustrating when another couple walked up to the desk, checked in and were upgraded to a King Deluxe room, which is what we had paid for. Their check-in took all of 5 minutes! Finally, another staff member assisted and we were given a room at last. The room decor is very interesting and gives the Hotel a boutique feel. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The location is good. Close to the city centre and waterfront. After our initial disappointment with the check-in staff, we found other staff members to be cheerful and courteous. The travel desk was very helpful in arranging a tour. So, managers, please help your staff to understand that they must speak to their customers and let them know what is going on!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judylou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Vacation Time means exploring the area as well as relaxing and getting away from the hustle and bustle of our daily grind. When in KK, staying at Horizon Hotel would give you the pampered experience you have at home. The courteous staff will welcome you and accommodate your requests during your stay and the hotel location is in the midst of almost all the places to go to when in KK. There is a connecting walkway to the Night Market (Left side) and the Philippine Market (Right Side) where you wouldn’t have the hassle to cross the streets. With the same distance, the Centerpoint Sabah and Warisan Square is also nearby where you can purchase good finds. Asia City is also walkable where one can devour on Seafood Dishes. If your stay includes a Sunday, the Gaya Sunday Market is right in front of the hotel where you can feast on Malaysia’s handcrafted items, souvenirs and even local commodities such as spices and even pets. Truly, Horizon Hotel is one of the strategically located accommodations in KK.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

When we first arrived here, I had my doubts, but after seeing the room, all doubts were gone. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, with a nice view.
The bathroom is super clean and quite big. Room is spacious, loved all of it.
Location is also perfect. Breakfast was amazing!
Just one negative point, our last day, we left early so we got a packed breakfast to go. That was a bit of a let down, an orange, some pastry, and a bottle of water, hmmm. But apart from that, superb hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge_Steffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

After two weeks here, I think you would have to be pretty picky to find any fault with the Horizon Hotel, everything that is promised is delivered... and more.

1. Location: The Horizon is very central - right in the thick of things and it's super easy to spot from wherever you are in town, so it's easy to get your bearings and find your way back. The Sunday markets on Gaya Street are a 30-second walk from the front door. The waterfront is a five minute walk in the other direction. It's also a short walk to Wisma Merdeka and Suria Sabah shopping malls or to the nightly fish/food markets in front of the Meridien and to Jesselton Jetty.

2. Room: I stayed in a deluxe seaview room and it was like a home from home. There is a neat little kitchen 'hidden' in the wall, with kettle, bottled water and a mini fridge that you can fill with your own drinks etc. Wifi access was very good. My laptop had a little trouble on the first day locating the network, but the hotel sent an IT guy up to my room to sort it. Talk about service! There is a 42in plasma screen with a decent range of channels, including BBC Worldwide and Fox Movies. The wardrobe contains a big safe deposit box (large enough to fit my laptop, ipad and sundry other valuables). You'll also find in the wardrobe an ironing board, bathrobe and sarongs. The bathroom is very stylish, with round bathtub, rainshower and handheld shower. Lots of toiletries and they are replenished every day.The bed was super comfortable, with lots of pillows and they were exactly the right degree of softness.

3. Facilities: I didn't spend a lot of time by the pool, but could see that it was well maintained and had great views. There are only three loungers, but that's because there simply isn't room for more. The gym is better equipped than your average hotel gym and the lifeguard/gym assistant is very helpful. The spa on the 5th floor is open from midday to midnight and has quite an array of services. I had several one-hour foot and shoulder massages (very relaxing, I fell asleep during one of them).

4. Tours: the tour desk at reception is brilliant! I used them quite a few times, even did a couple of the tours twice! (fireflies and the national park tours). Catherine, Davis and Brendon, thank you!!!!

5. Food: I'm ashamed to say that I didn't go further than the breakfast buffet (plentiful, with a big Asian offering, but I'm a jam and toast person) and room service (which was perfectly fine - choice of burgers, rice dishes or noodles and prices are very reasonable).

6. Hotel staff: definitely one of the best assets of this hotel. Everyone - from those at the front desk, to the concierges, to the breakfast waiting staff and the lovely friendly faces who cleaned my room each day - were shining examples of warm professionalism. Hotels can be soulless places, but the staff here really make you feel like part of their family. I love the way that they manage to be quite unobtrusive and yet so totally efficient.

Overall, I have had a fantastic time here (one day to go, but I'm not expecting any nasty surprises) and I would say, if you're considering staying in Kota Kinabalu, the Horizon Hotel represents excellent value for money. I'd been tossing up between the Horizon and the Meridien (central location and sunset views being my priorities) and I'm very glad I chose the Horizon.

Room Tip: Corner sea view rooms (ie room numbers ending in 27) offer fantastic sunset views, looking towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing