We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Macaoi, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel located in the center of the town,so it is very convenient for the shops, restaurants etc.
I stayed for two nights.The twin-bed room is quite spacious,and the sea view is really amazing. And I was discontent with the air conditioner in the room, because it always kept in 23 degrees Celsius and can't be turned down. It was too cold for us.

Room Tip: higher floors got better views, especially for the ppl who love the seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    412
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
327
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the first two nights and the hotel has the best location as it is just located right in the middle of the city!

Bed was big and staff was nice, but if you prefer a more family oriented hotel, it may not be your choice I am afraid and they also need to work harder on cleaning up the room especially the floor.

Breakfast was just so so and you will have more local breakfast options outside of the hotel and they are just located around the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Having traveled extensively in many SE Asian countries, we are quite used to the varying qualities provided by hotels. The Horizon bills itself as a 4 start but I really don't see it being better than a 2 star. Where to begin…. for starters we booked and paid for the junior suite. When we saw the room it looked kind of ok (bathtub and sinks out in the open area of the room to try to give the room a bit larger look (hence junior suite I guess). However, we stayed there for 7 nights and the bathtub did not work well throughout our stay even after we brought maintenance up several times to look at the problem. The rest of the enclosed bathroom area was so small, you could barely turn around in it.
The hotel services were also terrible. We discovered that the tour desk and the hotel spa really was not part of the hotel and they would only take cash for their services (excuse was that credit card machine was not working and they were not connected to the hotel). We experienced the same hassle at check out as well and we had to pay cash to clear the bill. The morning breakfast was also substandard and service almost non existent (we had to pour our own tea and coffee).
The gym itself is ok but there was a full 20 person football team using the gym during peak hours in the morning so the hotel guests did not really have the proper use of the equipment.
Room clean up was hit and miss and some days they didn't even stop by the room to change towels!
Most my previous reviews of hotels have been positive but this time, I have to say this hotel is something that should be avoided at all cost. Just for the final bit of indignation, I must have eaten something bad at my last breakfast there and ended up with really bad stomach cramps, runs, chills and fever.
The only thing I can say good about this hotel is the central location but there are other much better (Hyatt and Le Meridean) also centrally located as well. The final straw was at checkout as we prearranged a car to get us back to the airport. Because of the delay checking out (Credit Card machines not working and no change for cash), it took forever to leave and then we found out there was no car arranged. They just went outside and flagged down the first taxi!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GManSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel is convenient for the shops, restaurants etc and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It's nothing flash but it is fine for a few days and the food is reasonable without being exceptional. It's pretty much the Asian equivalent of an Ibis Hotel but with bigger rooms and a great shower! My room was clean but already showing signs of wear but the beds were comfy and the hotel overall wasn't too noisy. All up worth considering if you are coming to Kota Kinabula but don't expect luxury, just expect functionality and reasonable prices for a room with breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterfloyd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

spacious and super clean room, located in the heart of KK, close to many famous local resturants. good value for money. however the service is just so so and the staff is not as helpful as expected...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Room spacious, clean, staff helpful & friendly. Situated in the heart of town. Walking distant to a lot of favourite places & eateries. Breakfast had a variety of selections. Had a wonderful foot & shoulder massage and it was cheap. Overall the hotel was value for money. Will definite stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseTheseira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A bad start to our stay with a check-in that took more than 30 minutes. We had pre-booked and pre-paid months earlier but on arrival the room had apparently disappeared. Three staff members whispered to each other and pointed at the screen for about 15 minutes without once speaking to us. It was even more frustrating when another couple walked up to the desk, checked in and were upgraded to a King Deluxe room, which is what we had paid for. Their check-in took all of 5 minutes! Finally, another staff member assisted and we were given a room at last. The room decor is very interesting and gives the Hotel a boutique feel. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The location is good. Close to the city centre and waterfront. After our initial disappointment with the check-in staff, we found other staff members to be cheerful and courteous. The travel desk was very helpful in arranging a tour. So, managers, please help your staff to understand that they must speak to their customers and let them know what is going on!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judylou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing