We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quick visit”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a quick visit”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

stayed here one night en route to sandakan.Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade of our booked room and ended up on the sixth floor,room with balcony and loungers. Nice hotel,clean and centrally located with across the road the night market where some lovely food can be had indeed.
Nice varied breakfast in the morning. Friendly staff all around.

Down side:th size of the pool is miniscule and hardly any room for a sun lounger :-(

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    412
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
327
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Definitely a hotel that does her work very well. Reasonable price tag, clean average room with breakfast, centralise location that is easy to access a few attractions. Close to local life and delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siwei_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed for five days, the hotel location is good and easy to access anywhere!

There are too many travel group stay in there too, a bit noisy!

The breakfast have many varieties but average in standard. We appreciated that the food refill frequency is satisfaction! Hotel can consider to improve the quality of food and add more special dishes.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnyexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I spent one night on 23 Feburay 2014. The room condition was excellent. It was clean and everything look new. I got a good sea view facing view on the 10th floor. The swimming pool thought abit small but the water was clean and I get to have the pool to myself. Good choice of hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Stay at room 1017 as it face the sea and nearest to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I got off a cruise ship from working a 6 month contract. I done lots of research and found this hotel. Now looking at the hotel from the outside, I passed it several times. Then I actually took a look inside........

The inside is very modern, dark but modern! Rooms are very well sized for the money and I took a terrace room which is really nice (strange having the bath n sink in my room). Anyways a few little things need to be done to make the hotel look as new as it actually is (the paint on my bedroom wall was a little chipped/damp looking).

I stayed here 2 nights did not really use the terrace but was great as the hotel is centrally located the noise, huddle n bustle is only a slide of a door away.

The staff were friendly, check out took a bit longer than I would have thought but no complaints.

Generally I am trying to find fault but I. Cannot as the hotel is perfect in every way.....

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Horizon Hotel as our base to explore KK and its surrounds. Horizon Hotel & Spa is located downtown KK and thus is in a great location to explore the local markets and restaurants.
There are a number of resaurants and convenience stores within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. A number of fast food outlets are also within walking distance.

The hotel itself from the outside is modern and well finished. We had a few problems at check in with our rooms. We had specified on all our bookings that we had wanted double beds (we were checking into 3 rooms) however we were informed that none were available.
We declared that this was not acceptable - just because our check in time was not 2pm precisely a hotel cannot sell rooms that you had booked and paid for in full before your arrival. After our further protest one double bed room was 'available' however we would have to
wait until the next day before another was available and there was no estimate as to when the last would be available. We had no option but to agree as it was getting late. The next day reception did not try at all to organise our room change as promised, we had to explain our
entire situation once again and after a significant delay, another double bed room was found. We were informed that it would be yet another day before we could get our last double bed room. How can a large hotel not have any double rooms free? Especially when it was their fault that they had oversold OUR rooms?

The rooms themselves have been decorated in a modern style, however some signs of wear and tear can be seen on corners of furniture (marks are easy to spot when all the furniture is dark), and also on the walls themselves. The bathroom was in better condition and was clean and tidy if a little on the smaller side.
The rooms also featured a flat screen TV and a small refrigerator. On the roof of the hotel there is a lap pool which offers good views of the surrounding area.

Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant and was of a buffet style which included both Asian (such as noodles, and steamed dim sim items) and European items (such as toast, pork free sausages and cereals). A noodle station was available however no egg station was present.
Staff work hard to clear the tables however during peak times it can be a little busy and hard to secure a table.

The Horizon Hotel is fundamentally a good hotel from which to explore the KK surrounds. It may have been an insolated incident we experienced however if the problems with reception and reservations could be corrected then we could wholeheartedly recommend the Horizon Hotel.
As we experienced it, we would have to try another hotel the next time we are in KK>

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Director of Sales at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Chris N,

Thank you for your sharing our great locations, our rooms and our breakfast as well as other facilities nearby. You have highlighted specific areas that we need to address on room booking. On normal consequences, bedding type is always subject to room availability unless it was committed earlier by the hotel.

It was at our high occupancy and I agree with you that you should be informed of your request status on the double bed room on the following day as promised. Anyhow, this will be addressed with our Front Office and the Reservation team.

I do apologies on the inconvenience caused and hope that this did not affect your overall impression of the hotel and Kota Kinabalu as a destination.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Natalia Nadirah Saiman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is situated at the KK downtown and it's so easy to reach all the shops and restaurants. The room was spacious and the temperature in the room was good. The room was clean and there is no bathtub but we prefer shower instead. The breakfast is basic and it's more with asian tint. There were malaysian chicken with rice, congee, dumplings. Also, there were cereals and sweet cakes, juice. It's not spectacular but you wouldn't get starve from it. From the hotel, it's about 10 minutes to the Jesselton pier that you could take a boat to the islands for scuba diving or snorkeling. We did use the pool in the hotel but it's quite small. The gym is not big and basic. We would definitely stay here again for next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVitamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing