We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay at the Horizon Hotel- we forked out double the amount to stay at the Regency Hyatt on our final night as a "treat" and wished we had stayed at the Horizon!
We got off to a shaky start as we weren't picked up at the airport as planned, but once we reached our room the initial frustration diminished. We had a very large room with a nice view of the sea and islands. A hot tub, large shower & the usual hotel amenities, plus some extras like razor blades etc. The couch by the window added an extra touch. We didn't have time to dine there or try the pool & spa but our experience of the room was very enjoyable - and the wifi was efficient! We also had a buffet breakfast daily which was HUGE.

We would return again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natashaszew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    400
    118
    27
    8
See reviews for
142
317
53
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel was very modern, comfortable, and affordable. And the staff was excellent. Friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the free breakfast buffet, which had a wide assortment of food. And the room service food was also good and available late at night. There was a pretty good exercise room and pool. And a spa was readily available and affordable. The hotel had a good location in the central business district and was right next door to Gaya Street, which has a very good open market on Sunday's. Kota Kinabalu itself is on the small side for a city and if you want to go to a beach, go to one of the islands that are about 30 min by speedboat offshore. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, especially the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel has one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in! I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and the quality reflects the well deserved 4*. The treatments at the spa were great and very affordable and the staff were very friendly. I couldn't really comment on location as I was there visiting friends who came to pick me up but would definitely recommend this to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked 2 nights in 2 Grand Luxe King rooms. At the time of booking, we had requested these were together, and I emailed 3 days before arriving trying to confirm this but did not get a reply. I was apprehensive about this hotel after reading recent reviews about bungled bookings.
To my delight, check in was fine, and although our rooms were not together, they allowed us to check in early. The staff in the bar/pool area were pleasant. Drink orders are phoned through to the restaurant and delivered to the bar...? Odd.
My room had everything I could have wanted, included an iPod dock, multimedia ports and international power points. My friends room did not have the international power points, so GD King rooms may differ from room to room.
We did not encounter any problems with breakfast, however we were there early. There was a large choice, especially if you like a cooked breakfast. Cereals, fruit & breads available also.
I didn't find reception very helpful with tour advice, instead passing me off to the 'tour desk' that is actually an external tour group offering only their tours. Do yourself a favour and go to the Tourist Information Centre (across the road from Hotel Thirty3).
I think this room was overpriced, but there are not many options in KK and I would probably book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicknlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've cancelled my reservation with another hotel because of the good reviews of this hotel.I booked the family suite @RM775/per night as I have 3kids along with me and my husband.Sadly,it didn't meet my expectation when we arrived. No doorman, concierge to greet and help us with the luggage.I thought it is a 4star hotel??
Breakfast need to pay for 1 extra child as the family suite only allowed 3 pax for breakfast which is really a waste as my children only ate koko crunch. The breakfast choice was only average.
The hotel is also a 10-15mins.walk to a nearest mall. But, that walk will be half an hour with kids tagging along. The room was clean, though. Room card needs to be access in the lift to go to your room floor, which makes you feel safe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkhu31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

First up: The front office staff need professional training - badly. It was evident proper processes and standards were not in place. It was strange TripAdvisor had awarded them with many stars in 2012!

We were required to put down a cash deposit (not a credit card swipe), which the Front Office staff manually stapled to a slip of paper. We were astonished at this practice. Upon checking out, if we had not asked for the return of our deposit, the Front Office lady would have just seen us off to our waiting cab. An oversight or........?

We were on a non-smoking floor but the smell of cigarette smoke permeated the corridor. When we told Housekeeping, they were hapless and appeared unable to manage the problem.

Uniformed staff that we met in the lift remained stone-faced. One even scratched himself in full view of us. The usual greetings and pleasantries one would expect in a 4-star property are not widely practiced in this establishment.

The room itself looked tastefully furnished but upon closer inspection, items were broken and left unfixed. Our towel rack came right off its wall mount. The lamp shade was crudely taped together with green duct tape.

We had repeated troubles with our card key door lock. After several card key changes, the problem persisted. We had to persuade, yes, persuade, a member of the staff to follow us back to our room to check out the problem for themselves.

They were fixing it when I returned. A uniformed female Manager or Supervisor was lounging on our unmade bed, totally relaxed, chatting with her colleague as he poked around the door mechanism. She made no attempt to stand up when I entered MY room.

What we witnessed and experienced was a result of mismanagement. If this hotel is aiming to make a name for themselves as a 4-star property, they certainly have a long long way to go.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Annie 1013,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is with regret that you had such an experience with us. I do apologies on the lack of service and attention extended to you. We take constructive comments seriously and it is in no way our culture to extended shoddy service to our valued guests.

Rest assured that all points as mentioned has been reviewed for improvement and we will include in our training and audit to ensure such experience will not occur.

Once again do accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations and we welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.

Kind regards,

Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

stayed here one night en route to sandakan.Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade of our booked room and ended up on the sixth floor,room with balcony and loungers. Nice hotel,clean and centrally located with across the road the night market where some lovely food can be had indeed.
Nice varied breakfast in the morning. Friendly staff all around.

Down side:th size of the pool is miniscule and hardly any room for a sun lounger :-(

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing