We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, excellent value”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, excellent value”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had a great stay at this hotel. The staff could not be more helpful and the room was very large, modern and clean. The decor of this hotel is very funky art-deco and the breakfast was the best we had in Kota. The only downside I can think of is that the area around the pool is quite small and there was only space for 3 sunbeds -so if you're thinking of catching some rays by the pool this isn't the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucytheengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    412
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
327
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel is located in the centre of Kota Kinabalu, and it is quite convenient for traveller who want to go nearby islands for daily trips. However, for price about USD 100 per night it is kind of expensive considering it is just 4 star city hotel in the secondary city in Malaysia.

Check-in is fast and efficient, and room is quite spacious and clean. However, the furniture and amenities used in the room seems using low-quality of product and interior design doesn't show a high-class standard. Parking is complimentary is for the hotel guess and parking space is sufficient.

Breakfast served in the ground floor, quality is acceptable with decent choices of foods.

Overall, the hotel is located in the city centre, however price might be quite expensive for such 4 star hotel in Kota Kinabalu. Suitable for family vacation and also business traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Teddy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Deutschland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was in this hotel for 4 nights and I liked it a lot (compared to the Hotel sixty3 where we were before)

The pros:

- Awesome pool on the 6th floor. My advice: Go for a swim in the early morning, when the building casts a shadow on the pool. "cool" moments are rare in KK, grasp them.

- the room view. I was so lucky to see the sunset every evening from my hotel room window, amazing!

- the staff: friendly, helpful, all can communicate in English well. I felt well treated by them.

- the room setup was as expected for a 4 star hotel, room was clean and neat. Still, due to the black furniture design, small scratches and other damages that are inevitable in a hotel room, are easily visible.


cons:

if i HAD to complain about something, it would probably be the breakfast. (In particular half-raw fried eggs, lousy coffee, fake orange juice, and the weirdest cheese i have had in my life) But i also must admit that it is probably not easy to please both westerners and chinese with the same breakfast buffet. Just pick what you like, have a light breakfast, and then feast on a 2nd breakfast on Gaya Street, where you have a million options.

but that is complaining on a high level - i really recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: spend a bit more for sea view. you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank havoc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampong Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Before I make booking with this hotel, I have been introduce by local taxi driver said that it is a convenience and easy accessible to KK town. Nearby the hotel also can find a lot of local food taste in town. Surely the driver have not wrongly introduce to me.

I came for the trip only 3 days and 2 nights and I enjoyed with my vacation.

1) The hotel reception people are nice and well. (breakfast is average)
2) Room is tidy.
3) Gym equipments are occupied. I can lay on the bench at swimming pool and view airplane crossby and island view.
4) Location is accessible to Jetty, Philippine market, Shopping Mall and restaurants (Yee Fung Restaurant – Laksa, Fu Yen - Roti Kawin)
5) Beside the hotel under the pedestrian bridge have night hawkers, I can taste a lots of local cuisine.
6) They have a leisure SPA in the 5th Floor. I thought China only can get good China masseur. I have experience with a good China Therapist. She did well massage with me and heal my body sore. I have no objection to give her a tips.

I will come back and stay with this hotel and experience with the Spa again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatasiaJerudong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at The Horizon for 2 nights. The rooms were very modern, clean and the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. When we got to our room we found they had given us a room with two single beds even though we had booked a queen/king bed 4 months previously. We phoned reception to be advised that was all they had available, so we were disappointed with this. The location of this hotel is very central and the staff were friendly, the breakfast had a good selection. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would stay here again. The day spa is not connected with the hotel so we could not book any of the services to our room. We had a half hour foot reflexology which was very good, however there was immense pressure to provide a tip to the masseur. When you are paying already for the service you shouldn't be expected to then tip, especially after only half an hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel online and considering the price we had high hopes for a good experience. Unfortunately on arrival we realised the advertising had been somewhat misleading. It seems to have the elements of a great hotel but doesn't quite deliver. The room itself was lovely, very comfortable with a view over the harbour. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was great! Unfortunately the positives end there. The pool area was the biggest disappointment, tiny, cramped and only 3 places to sit/lie and no other space around the pool. The air conditioning system had a habit of dripping on us when stood at the reception desk.
The location is reasonable as only a short walk to the night market and the harbour side area of restaurants and bars....it would've been short if there was a map or staff could help point us in the right direction rather than having to wander hoping we were going in the right direction.
Compared to our other hotels in this area we really felt it was overpriced considering the facilities and non-seafront location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieprice5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us in Kota Kinabalu.

We were delighted to see your remarks about the hotel room and our staff. Further to the pool deck, the exisisting deck only allows for 3 deck chairs. With space constraint, as a city hotel and not a resort, that is as much as we can provide.

The condensation on the lobby air-conditioning system has been addressed.

We were a bit puzzled about the hotel being overpriced as our rates are in line with other local hotels of the same catagory and, furthermore, are quoted in Ringgit Malaysia.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

My regards,
Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Location is great at the centre. Its very easy to get to the Philippines market and Gaya street is right at the front. Outstanding staff. And spacious room. Average breakfast, and I saw some of the staff standing and talking instead of actively clearing the plates on the table for the guests.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank locsyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing