We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Upon arrival we were given a room with 2 twin beds, so we told them that we booked a double, showed them our reservation etc and we got upgraded to the penthouse junior suite. Room was huge and everything was new. Everyone seemed very friendly at the hotel. The breakfast was great, huge selection. Lots of western friendly food too. We ate at the asian restaurant one night, which was our best meal in KK. Rooftop pool was great too, only problem is the pool is huge and not much seating area around it. They might have been better making the pool a little bit smaller so they could have had more seats.
The only thing we didn't enjoy about the hotel was the sky spa massage. very painful massages for both of us. And the girls didn't speak English so was hard to tell them to go softer.
Overall I would recommend this hotel, great value for money, modern, good food, great location, friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjeennzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Many thanks for your food comments.

Your comments on the space constraint around the pool are noted, but this is what is currently available in our capacity as a city hotel.

Your remarks about the Sky Spa have been highlighted to their management.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    120
    28
    9
See reviews for
142
326
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations based on the price we paid and the research I'd done. Our room was stylish and we felt very comfortable in there. We didn't use the rooftop pool but it did look good and it was nice to know it was there. The location is walkable to pretty much all KK attractions. We enjoyed the breakfast that was on offer too, they had a very good selection. A good find.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NE_Traveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. We were delighted to see that we, as a hotel, exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to our shores!

Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed at the Horizon hotel three nights in March 2014. The rooms where modern and of good size, but the cleaning could be better. The room was quite dusty on shelves and on the windows. Had a room with the city view at the penthouse floor and the view was OK. Not a lot of traffic noise, but had a family with small children as neighbors which was a bit disturbing at night when they where crying.

The breakfast buffet was really good, but the airconditioning was very cold and windy which was disturbing. The pool (and the pool bar) was nice to have after a hot day.

The airport bus stop was right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We appreciate the time taken to review our hotel. We have alerted our housekeeping department to your cleanliness comments and necessary action has been taken.

We were delighted that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast selections.

We hope to see you back at our hotel.

Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel was a bit outdated but nice. Room (13th floor) was a bit strange, we had bath and sink in the room. Not in the toilet. Breakfast was ok. Location was perfect, you can walk anywhere in downtown KK. There was the best concierge ever. Too bad I can't recall his name. He knew everything about the city and was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We were a bit puzzled by your remark about the hotel being outdated as we only opened for business 2 years ago.

We hope to see you back again soon.

My regards,
Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had a great stay at this hotel. The staff could not be more helpful and the room was very large, modern and clean. The decor of this hotel is very funky art-deco and the breakfast was the best we had in Kota. The only downside I can think of is that the area around the pool is quite small and there was only space for 3 sunbeds -so if you're thinking of catching some rays by the pool this isn't the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucytheengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel is located in the centre of Kota Kinabalu, and it is quite convenient for traveller who want to go nearby islands for daily trips. However, for price about USD 100 per night it is kind of expensive considering it is just 4 star city hotel in the secondary city in Malaysia.

Check-in is fast and efficient, and room is quite spacious and clean. However, the furniture and amenities used in the room seems using low-quality of product and interior design doesn't show a high-class standard. Parking is complimentary is for the hotel guess and parking space is sufficient.

Breakfast served in the ground floor, quality is acceptable with decent choices of foods.

Overall, the hotel is located in the city centre, however price might be quite expensive for such 4 star hotel in Kota Kinabalu. Suitable for family vacation and also business traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Teddy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Deutschland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was in this hotel for 4 nights and I liked it a lot (compared to the Hotel sixty3 where we were before)

The pros:

- Awesome pool on the 6th floor. My advice: Go for a swim in the early morning, when the building casts a shadow on the pool. "cool" moments are rare in KK, grasp them.

- the room view. I was so lucky to see the sunset every evening from my hotel room window, amazing!

- the staff: friendly, helpful, all can communicate in English well. I felt well treated by them.

- the room setup was as expected for a 4 star hotel, room was clean and neat. Still, due to the black furniture design, small scratches and other damages that are inevitable in a hotel room, are easily visible.


cons:

if i HAD to complain about something, it would probably be the breakfast. (In particular half-raw fried eggs, lousy coffee, fake orange juice, and the weirdest cheese i have had in my life) But i also must admit that it is probably not easy to please both westerners and chinese with the same breakfast buffet. Just pick what you like, have a light breakfast, and then feast on a 2nd breakfast on Gaya Street, where you have a million options.

but that is complaining on a high level - i really recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: spend a bit more for sea view. you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank havoc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing