We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair, but disappointed”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Brunei, Brunei
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fair, but disappointed”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boyfriend and I checked into Horizon Hotel on a Thursday night (almost 9pm) and we were informed that they have "run out of double bedrooms" and that we could switch the next morning. Troublesome yes, but we decided to do so anyway. So the next morning, I called reception regarding the switch and was told that there were no available doubled bedrooms as they were fully booked for the Harvest Festival.

I made my bookings online at least 2 months ago for a double bedroom, so to be told that there were NO MORE upon my arrival was rather disappointing and borderline ridiculous. Just because we checked in late did not mean we could be put as second options to take the 2 single bedrooms.

Also, we were placed on the 13th floor (Floor P). There was NO WIFI the entire time we stayed there. There was very weak wifi only if you stood near the hotel room door. Once you get to the comfort of the beds, there would be no wifi detected at all. I called reception, and they said to use any other room's wifi, but the trouble was there was no wifi detected at all. When the staff came to my room to assist (Thank you), there was (weak) wifi detected because we were near the room door.

That was really disappointing and if I didn't have a Malaysian line with 3G, I would have been very upset.

One last thing that disappointed us was the check out time was 12pm, but our access cards (you need this to go upstairs in the lift) stopped working by 11:45am. We had to ask the staff to reactivate it for us, and we were already rushing to check-out in time. What was bad was it was deactivated so early before time's up.

However, on the good side: the hotel is located in Gaya Street area, so its fairly near to everywhere you need to go for food and shopping. The staff was also pretty helpful, especially the one who helped us with calling the taxi and with keeping our luggage until our late flight after we checked out.

We also tried the Spa for food reflexology, and it was okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCY23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your views on our hotel.

We are sorry that you were inconvenienced with a twin room instead of the double you had booked. Room requests are very important and we will ensure these requests get top priority from now on.

Further to your wi-fi comment we find that connectivity can on occasion be sporadic and we regret that it lasted for the duration of your stay, which is very unusual.

We were pleased to note that you found our staff obliging. They are indeed an asset to us.

We hope to see you back in Kota Kinabalu.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    120
    28
    9
See reviews for
142
326
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Horizon Hotel is in the middle of downtown Kota Kinabalu and well located to eat at local restaurants, and about a 10-15 min walk to the Jesselton Jetty for boats out to Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, and about 5min walk to the Filipino and fish markets. It is very modern inside and the beds and pillows are soooo soft and comfortable- the best we had in our three weeks in Borneo.The lifts are quick to respond, breakfast was good, wifi worked reasonably well- a little slow. The pool was very welcome after returning from a day out in the heat and humidity. However, there is very little deck area around the pool to relax- only 3 sunlounges, and no umbrellas or shade. We had a fridge in our room, so could buy beer at the supermarkets and chill them for 'happy hour' with our friends. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to store our suitcases with the concierge while we went to Pulau Tiga for three nights. We stayed at the Horizon twice- the first time was in a room on the 9th floor- it was very well appointed, but the decor was a very trendy black, which was hard to find light switches etc in the dark as they didn't stand out against the walls. However, when we returned the second time, we had a room on the 11th floor, and the decor was a light beech colour with a different floor plan. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. All feedback is welcome as it helps us to keep our finger on the pulse so to speak.

We are very fortunate in our location which is so very central.

Until next time.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

When visiting Kota Kinabalu, if u not looking for a resort, then staying at the Horizon Hotel is worthwhile n value for money indeed. Rooms are well kept, staff are friendly, breakfast is great, location is convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmdarsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We were delighted that you rated our hotel as being value for money. Thank you. Our central location is one of our biggest assets and one we value highly.

We hope to see you back at The Horizon!

Kind regards,
Philip D.Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just spent 5 nights at this hotel which is right in the centre of KK, about a 20 min taxi ride (30 MYR) from the airport and perfect for access to shops and restaurants. Easy access also to the Jetty for trips out to the islands. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. Special thanks to Dino.
The breakfasts are very good with lots of choice. The pool on the 6th floor was great for relaxing at after long days on tours.
The room was quite big with a walk-in Rainforest type shower. We were travelling with our teenage daughter, so we booked a double room with an extra bed. We were at the front of the building in RM 1104 facing the Atkinson Clock Tower and Signal Hill. I think a sea view at the back of the building would have been better. The view out to sea and the islands was fantastic.
The room was modern and tastefully decorated. The air-con was quite noisy, and we usually ended up switching it off in the middle of the night.
The room was equipped with a large wall mounted flat screen TV, which had USB and HDMI connections, so we could use our portable hard drive to watch movies and listen to music. The room also had a fridge and a small safe. The electrical wall sockets were UK style 3 pin, so there is no need for travel adaptors if you are from the UK.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for a good base in the centre of KK. Good value for money.

Room Tip: The view of the islands at the back of the building is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are grateful that you took the time to share your thoughts with this review. It was great to receive so much positive feedback – thank you. We will be sure to pass your special thanks on to Dino.

Further to your comment regarding the aircon in your room being noisy we have taken steps to rectify this matter.

We hope to see you on our shores again.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at the Horizon in April 2014 for about a week. I cannot speak highly enough of the service I received during my time there. Let's break this down into what you want to know:

The hotel is nice and centrally located, central enough to Kota Kinabalu that access to local services including Jesselton Point is simple and easy.

The staff are friendly and attentive, happy to help. Room service turned up quicker than I expected, and was delicious and very reasonably priced.

The day spa is great, but be aware Government taxes will be added to the rates and it's common place to tip the masseuse also. Not a huge deal, but worth noting.

The pool was lovely, and while I didn't venture into the gym it looked pretty extensive. The only remark I'd have re the pool was that while the lounges were great, some umbrellas would be nice too. A small thing though.

The breakfast - wow. Awesome. A massive range of options, of which about 25% changed day to day. If you want 'western' breakfast, it's there in spades, if you want something more 'eastern', it's there too. Staff on hand to serve you the whole time, and another chef making your omelette's as you like. I destroyed a couple of plates of bread and butter pudding during my stay. You'd be hard pressed to get a better breakfast.

The rooms were nice, and well turned over. I really do recommend asking to go as high up the building as you can to improve the view, but if you're on the sea side of the building you're laughing. That's not to say the other side (which I had during my stay) isn't nice too. There's no great advantage either way.

While the rooms are very modern there is the odd spot where you notice their age, but that is a small complaint. They were very clean, very comfortable. Very dark if you wanted them to be, and very light if that was your preference too. I had several nice long sleep ins which is a good sign. Towels and towels and towels, plus sarongs, robes, the whole kit.

I was lucky enough to score a free room upgrade which was great and very nice of them to help with.

Room Tip: Ask to go up high and obviously for a sea view if you're staying a few days. That said seeing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for your detailed review. Much appreciated we do assure you as all feedback in invaluable to us. Good reviews are especially nice to read and a big kudos to our staff.

All your comments were very constructive and duly noted by our respective team members.

We hope have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel. Great location near markets, shops and transport. Beautifully decorated with innovative design. Great food and service in the 3 restaurants at very reasonable prices. This hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We were delighted to read that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed your shopping, our food and surroundings.

Yes, we are very fortunate in our location with the town and all it has to offer on our doorstep.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I arrived at KK on Sat and checked in about 2pm. Its a city hotel with a good location to seafood restaurants and pubs. its also convenient to get to the jetty to take short excursions to offshore islands like Manukan Island. The weekend flea market is just right outside the Hotel where most of the local handicrafts and produce can be purchased. Its quite a distance to the cultural village of Mari Mari but its worth the trip of about 45mins. Take a guided tour from the place itself with the local lunch thrown in.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are very lucky to be so centrally located with a great variety of shops and restaurants right on our door step. We were happy to see that you enjoyed that too.

We hope to see you back on our shores in the near future.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing