We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Classy Business Hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely ambience, great location and good food makes the horizon hotel a lovely place to stay in while in Kota kinabalu. Great place to have a evening walk around with the waterfront and Gaya street closeby.

The breakfast buffet spread was great and the food choices were well designed. The staff are really friendly. Thanks ppl for giving us a upgrade in the room type during our stay there.

Dont miss the awesome pool on the 6th Floor..!!!

Room Tip: Whatever room type u choose, they are stylish and neat..!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veepy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you highlighting both our breakfast buffet and the hotel pool. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back with us again.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    405
    118
    27
    8
See reviews for
142
322
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked this hotel a few months in advance for a double room - however upon arrival we were told there were no double rooms available, unless we wanted to go on the smoking floor (as a non-smoker this was definitely not an option). We were given the option of changing to a double room the next morning but to be honest we couldn't be bothered with the hassle.

The twin beds were comfy and larger than standard single beds and the room was of a decent size. We were on the 6th floor looking out of the front of the hotel - with floor to ceiling windows this is a nice view and is surprisingly quiet.

Our rainfall shower in the bathroom didn't work - a screw had actually been put into the handle to prevent you from switching to it. We were left with a tiny shower head which, due to the wall fittings, sprayed out horizontally either at over 6ft high or at waist height. Not particularly convenient! Again, we didn't want the hassle of complaining as we had very early starts and late finishes so moving rooms wouldn't have been particularly convenient for us - I just wish we'd been given the room we booked, with everything working in the first place!

Breakfast has an average selection of food and was quiet but it was often cold - I never actually saw it being replenished, and the cakes were just left out and often stale.

The pool area has only three sunbeds so we never actually managed to make it out there as they were always taken up. We did notice it was a little smelly (smells of the town, not from the hotel) when we went for a look up there, too - so perhaps not somewhere one would want to relax anyway!

The location is good, only a couple of minutes walk from the seafront and no more than 10 minutes from most of the sights in the town.

I'd probably stay here again if I got a good price but I'd insist before booking that I got the room type I wanted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandelionMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you writing about what you liked and what was not up to your expectation.

We apologise for the rain shower not working properly and have taken the necessary steps to ensure that proper maintenance checks are streamlined. We have also taken note of your comments on the breakfast buffet and have shared your comments with our kitchen team. As we are a city hotel the deck space around the pool may seem a bit limited on occasion.

We too appreciate our central location as this truly is a great asset.

We hope to see you back at the Horizon.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here after an awful experience with booking private accomodation.
As we booked 2 rooms for over a week we were able to get a great discount off room rates with some free laundry and buffet breakfasts.

The rooms were modern and very spacious and the balcony room we had was almost like having a 3rd room, the balcony was that big. Views of either greenery or ocean depending on which side you are on.

The pool,although small, is great. Most other hotels in this price range do not have a pool.

With the exception of 7am door knocks for laundry, the staff were incredibly lovely. Special mention to Rosidi in the restaurant who knowing there were 5 of us, would ensure that there was always one table for us to share even though some of us came down late.

The food was a really good mix although as a vegetarian I was limited to sweets, which wasnt a bad thing except for my waistline. But seriously, the traditional sweets were one of my favourite things of the trip.

Helpful tour desk however quite expensive compared to other outlets.

Very well located, within walking distance (5-10 min) of the boardwalk and markets (with an undercover overpass all the way for when it's raining) and close to Suria Sabah Shopping Centre too.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The blacony rooms on hte 3rd floor are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for your review. Much appreciated. We were pleased to read that we lived up to your expectations and will be sure to pass your kind comments on to Rosidi.

We too are happy with the hotel’s location at the doorstep of the city’s many eateries and shops
.
We hope to see you back on our shores.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei, Brunei
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boyfriend and I checked into Horizon Hotel on a Thursday night (almost 9pm) and we were informed that they have "run out of double bedrooms" and that we could switch the next morning. Troublesome yes, but we decided to do so anyway. So the next morning, I called reception regarding the switch and was told that there were no available doubled bedrooms as they were fully booked for the Harvest Festival.

I made my bookings online at least 2 months ago for a double bedroom, so to be told that there were NO MORE upon my arrival was rather disappointing and borderline ridiculous. Just because we checked in late did not mean we could be put as second options to take the 2 single bedrooms.

Also, we were placed on the 13th floor (Floor P). There was NO WIFI the entire time we stayed there. There was very weak wifi only if you stood near the hotel room door. Once you get to the comfort of the beds, there would be no wifi detected at all. I called reception, and they said to use any other room's wifi, but the trouble was there was no wifi detected at all. When the staff came to my room to assist (Thank you), there was (weak) wifi detected because we were near the room door.

That was really disappointing and if I didn't have a Malaysian line with 3G, I would have been very upset.

One last thing that disappointed us was the check out time was 12pm, but our access cards (you need this to go upstairs in the lift) stopped working by 11:45am. We had to ask the staff to reactivate it for us, and we were already rushing to check-out in time. What was bad was it was deactivated so early before time's up.

However, on the good side: the hotel is located in Gaya Street area, so its fairly near to everywhere you need to go for food and shopping. The staff was also pretty helpful, especially the one who helped us with calling the taxi and with keeping our luggage until our late flight after we checked out.

We also tried the Spa for food reflexology, and it was okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCY23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your views on our hotel.

We are sorry that you were inconvenienced with a twin room instead of the double you had booked. Room requests are very important and we will ensure these requests get top priority from now on.

Further to your wi-fi comment we find that connectivity can on occasion be sporadic and we regret that it lasted for the duration of your stay, which is very unusual.

We were pleased to note that you found our staff obliging. They are indeed an asset to us.

We hope to see you back in Kota Kinabalu.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Horizon Hotel is in the middle of downtown Kota Kinabalu and well located to eat at local restaurants, and about a 10-15 min walk to the Jesselton Jetty for boats out to Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, and about 5min walk to the Filipino and fish markets. It is very modern inside and the beds and pillows are soooo soft and comfortable- the best we had in our three weeks in Borneo.The lifts are quick to respond, breakfast was good, wifi worked reasonably well- a little slow. The pool was very welcome after returning from a day out in the heat and humidity. However, there is very little deck area around the pool to relax- only 3 sunlounges, and no umbrellas or shade. We had a fridge in our room, so could buy beer at the supermarkets and chill them for 'happy hour' with our friends. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to store our suitcases with the concierge while we went to Pulau Tiga for three nights. We stayed at the Horizon twice- the first time was in a room on the 9th floor- it was very well appointed, but the decor was a very trendy black, which was hard to find light switches etc in the dark as they didn't stand out against the walls. However, when we returned the second time, we had a room on the 11th floor, and the decor was a light beech colour with a different floor plan. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. All feedback is welcome as it helps us to keep our finger on the pulse so to speak.

We are very fortunate in our location which is so very central.

Until next time.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

When visiting Kota Kinabalu, if u not looking for a resort, then staying at the Horizon Hotel is worthwhile n value for money indeed. Rooms are well kept, staff are friendly, breakfast is great, location is convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmdarsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We were delighted that you rated our hotel as being value for money. Thank you. Our central location is one of our biggest assets and one we value highly.

We hope to see you back at The Horizon!

Kind regards,
Philip D.Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just spent 5 nights at this hotel which is right in the centre of KK, about a 20 min taxi ride (30 MYR) from the airport and perfect for access to shops and restaurants. Easy access also to the Jetty for trips out to the islands. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. Special thanks to Dino.
The breakfasts are very good with lots of choice. The pool on the 6th floor was great for relaxing at after long days on tours.
The room was quite big with a walk-in Rainforest type shower. We were travelling with our teenage daughter, so we booked a double room with an extra bed. We were at the front of the building in RM 1104 facing the Atkinson Clock Tower and Signal Hill. I think a sea view at the back of the building would have been better. The view out to sea and the islands was fantastic.
The room was modern and tastefully decorated. The air-con was quite noisy, and we usually ended up switching it off in the middle of the night.
The room was equipped with a large wall mounted flat screen TV, which had USB and HDMI connections, so we could use our portable hard drive to watch movies and listen to music. The room also had a fridge and a small safe. The electrical wall sockets were UK style 3 pin, so there is no need for travel adaptors if you are from the UK.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for a good base in the centre of KK. Good value for money.

Room Tip: The view of the islands at the back of the building is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are grateful that you took the time to share your thoughts with this review. It was great to receive so much positive feedback – thank you. We will be sure to pass your special thanks on to Dino.

Further to your comment regarding the aircon in your room being noisy we have taken steps to rectify this matter.

We hope to see you on our shores again.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing