We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and convenient”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is located in a great location for eateries, markets and shopping.
We arrived and our room was no ready so we were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was very comfortable and spacious.
The breakfast here is of a high standard with plenty of choice.
The pool and gym are acceptable however there are only four sun lounges which is not very conducive to staying there for long.
Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Many thanks for your review.

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you got to explore and enjoy the many nooks and crannies of the city.

The hotel pool deck is a little on the small side we must admit as it is located on the 6th floor which is a bit limiting. We hope that you enjoyed it none the less.

We hope to see you back in Kota Kinabalu.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very Happy with the Horizon Hotel. Positioned across the road from the Sunday market and in between the bigger shopping centres. Slight problem with our room when we checked in however this was quickly rectified. We had a great room with a sea view and a in room bath. Loved the roomy gym with sufficient equipment. Nice pool. Not sure about the life size porcelain male horse lamp in the foyer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and, of course, value your comments.
The life size horse in the lobby is a decorative conversation piece.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the first time that we had been to Kota Kinabulu and it was a great one right from the first get go and this hotel was a fantastic start, Our room was great and modern with a seaview which would of been better if the King sized bed was the other way around so we could see the sea better, the bathroom was great with a rain head shower which most of the hotels seem to have, The mini-fridge worked, which was great to put our food in from the 7 Eleven store. The staff was polite and friendly at all times and really helpful and the tour desk was also helpful to arrange a day tour for us. The breakfast was good with a lot of choices, but the packed breakfast that I requested to take when we were leaving for the airport was awful, it looked like they had just thrown something together which we ended up throwing away, but that was the only fault that I could find, and the tv channel were also good as well as the tv reception, definitely would come back as everything that you need is within walking distance and the pool was great, but not the pool bar, you could not really call it a pool bar.

Room Tip: Seaview room was good, but the bed should of been round the other way to really appreciate it these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guru314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We were delighted to be a part of your first trip to Kota Kinabalu and that you were happy with your stay and our services. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on the packed breakfast. We have forwarded your comments to the kitchen team for their action.

We hope that you had a safe trip back to Australia and that we will see you back again in Kota Kinabalu.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night in July. Location is very central, close to the Sunday markets and a 5 minute walk to the night markets.

The rooms are modern, however, a little on the small side. This was fine for us as we were only staying one night.

Compared to some of the other buffet breakfasts we had, we found this one to be a bit average. While I would definitely stay here again, I would forgo the buffet breakfast and opt for the shop across the road that was teaming with locals grabbing their breakfast for 1-2 ringget!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jess2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Yes, we are indeed very fortunate in our central location as it is a huge plus point in our favour. This is also the case with regard to all the eateries in the area. Breakfast, lunch or dinner they are worth a visit whilst in Kota Kinabalu.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed here as part of an Intrepid Tour, but arrived a few days early. I had an ocean view room, and even though the hotel is a few blocks back the view was very good. I was also just a couple of floors up from the pool and my window directly overlooked it which was resort-y and fun. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the market place (a good place to buy souvenirs and delicious food and take photos) and also directly across from the weekend market (even better for shopping). The room was very comfortable, as was the bed.

There is a huge day spa on the top floor which is good, with very reasonable prices. The staff give VERY strong massages (painful at times). Welcome drinks are promised but never eventuate but it is still a great experience.

The restaurants in the hotel are fine, but over priced. The complimentary breakfast, however, is very good with lots of options to suit all tastes.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriaonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We were so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Kota Kinabalu and that the hotel lived up to your expectations.

We hope to see you back on our shores again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We are staying here second time, previously in February. We had deluxe room then and superior now. Honestly, superior room is better for us. The bed is by the wall not window as in deluxe and out of airflow from the aircon. The setup of room is more practical as well. View from 8th floor is good on greenery. Deluxe have "water view" but first plan is concrete walkway and roofs. I recommend superior room. Breakfast as always very generous. Staff friendly. Location in the city centre. Great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AvaR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We were pleased to see that this was your second stay with us!

Our Superior rooms face the city and Signal Hill which does allow for an interesting alternative to our Deluxe sea facing ones.

Thank you also for highlighting our staff, who we are very proud of, and our services.

We hope to see you back a third time?

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When in Borneo, there are many options, from backpackers longhouses, from cheap hotels to good ones! IN KK, the Horizon is very reliable - clean, good service and quality rooms for around $110AUD (350 Malaysian Ringgit). Consider using their day spa (extra costs) as it is a treat for the user.
I don't think you will be disappointed.
About 20 minutes from the airport, but in the middle of the city of KK.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMcDonald2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We were indeed delighted to see that you had stayed with us three times in the last three years! Statements like this are always music to a hotel’s ears! We value all comments but ones like this do make our day.

We hope to welcome you back a 4th time.

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £51 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing