We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent quality steamboat/hot pot and 'à la carte' restaurant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windbell Seafood Restaurant

Windbell Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #238 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: US$7 - US$12
Cuisines: Seafood, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Full service restaurant serving predominately Steamboat buffet. Chinese as well as Malay and other Asian Dishes are available. Western Food is also available for groups.Casual dining, with air conditioned rooms Covered outdoor setting is available
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent quality steamboat/hot pot and 'à la carte' restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I visited this restaurant with friends and family a few times and we tried both the steamboat (25RM/p.p. all you can eat) and the à la carte menu and it is excellent quality.

I'm usually not a big fan of all-you-can-eat restaurants as the quality often seems sacrificed for quanitity but I can happily report that this is not at all the case here. In fact, the buffet is extremely well presented, there is a wide variety of high quality ingredients and the staff is very active and restock the buffet very quickly. The buffet also offers more than just the steamboat ingredients and has all sorts of fresh cooked food such as crispy skin chicken (which was extremely good) and is all included in the price. There is also a dessert buffet which looked great but unfortunately I never made it that far ;-)

On our third visit we also tried the 'à la carte' menu and it was also excellent. We had a variety of chicken and seafood dishes all of which were great.

The restaurant is only a minute walk to the beach and if you have a few minutes before or after the meal it is well worth to have a look at it. Especially at sunset you get AMAZING views (see picture).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
1 review
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I went there with my girlfriend and it was absolutely great! We took a taxi from the city center, because it's situated a little bit outside. The restaurant is located directly at the beach. So before we started our dinner we enjoyed a beautiful sunsets on the lonely, natural beach. We took the traditional steamboat and loved it right from the start: It's some kind of hot pot or fondue with two soups in it. You choose from a wide variety of fresh food at the Buffet and put everything inside. After a couple of minutes the food is ready. We love steamboat, because you can try a lot of different fish, meat (no pork!), tofu, vegetables, rice, noodles, etc.

The steamboat was absolutely worth the money and we ate so much, that we almost couldn't move at the end.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best steamboat ever - don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

It was our secound time in Sabah and we discovered this charming seafood restaurant, located directly at the Tanjung Aru Beach with breathtaking sunsets. It was our favourite place for having steamboat dinner and we went there several times. They have a wide variety of fresh, high-quality food and you can eat as much as you can. We like the restaurant because you eat among locals and you feel the warmth and hospitality of Malaysians. I can highly recommend the Windbell to everybody who stays in Kota Kinabalu. Thanks to the Windbell staff, we had a great time at your restaurant. We will come again!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good steamboat in KK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have been to this place few times and like it everytime. It is definitely value for money. Fresh steamboat. Now they even serve BBQ lunch by the beach which was great.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank noy1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

All you can eat steamboat buffet. Quite worth the money

Helpful?
Thank connieliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windbell Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Windbell Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing