We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the History...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Borneo Railway

North Borneo Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$138.75*
and up
North Borneo Steam Train With Tiffin Lunch from Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The North Borneo Railway runs two weekly return departures (Wednesday, Saturday) from Kota Kinabalu to Papar, year round. Lasting approximately 4 hours, passengers experience the lush landscape of the coastal and rural regions of Sabah. A typical 'tiffin' colonial lunch will be served on the return trip.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back to the History...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you love to know the historical of South East Asia then it shouldn't be a problem for you to see how hard do our ancestors built the nation in finding resources and to bring the better future for us. The experience for me is splendid, feels like British-Malaya Princess. Thanks to Uncle Jual & Irwan for serving us throughout the journey...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frenzy_Faezah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    171
    56
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karratha
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yesteryear”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the day out in this vintage steam strain. It was a nice way to see the Sabah countryside with little effort apart from sit back and enjoy the ride. Nice little touch was to be issued a passport that was stamped at each of the interesting towns we passed through. The staff were great and dressed according to the era. Breakfast was provided at the start of the journey and then a Tiffin lunch on the return journey. Air con was not needed as the train had fans and the windows were open. Part of the fun was the enjoyment of the locals waving as we passed by and even the most stoic passenger could not resist waving at the little kids along the way. I would recommend this short journey for all visitors that can't climb mountains!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DianneKarratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For all train lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a fabulous trip down memory lane on this trip.It was like I was back in my childhood, as I come from a family who grew up with railway links, the town I live in being "The Cradle Of The Railways", Shildon , in County Durham, England. Most of my family had at some time worked for the railway and as a child always travelled by train. This trip, from the staffed dressed in those wonderful uniforms and so pleasant and helpful, to the food and drinks, and every one we passed waving and smiling, it was a trip I would not have missed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fryingpan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is a great Train journey.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A fabulous step back in the age of colonial steam transport. Very well done with staff dressed in period clothing and serving good food in the old style. The train goes through some interesting countryside and is a comfortable way to see things. EXCELLENT!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald and Barb... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

do this its great not cheap but a lovely trip in the jungle countryside staff amazing they never stop smilling wish i had a job like that! food good but this trip is a must maybe not for very young children but thats up to you my dad would of loved it just stepping back in time once eh!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Borneo Railway also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to North Borneo Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing