We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 8 January 2012

stayed here for one night on 7th jan 2012.

booking - i did it via agoda. sabry who attended to me was informative and helpful too.
hotel location - very accessible and easy to locate
room location - overlook kampung air and sabah square. not the best view but we don't mind this since we are hardly in the room
pool - ok with staff overlooking the users

we love the room, swimming pool, breakfast, the whole hotel deco and the parking. staffs were generous with smiles and love to greet the guests. i am travelling in a family of 6. surprisingly, extra pillows and duvets were not charged! all facilities were new and extra nice. the deco was lovely too. breakfast - pastries and roti jala, must try!

slightly pricey but totally recommended! :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nurulh275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback nurulh275,

We're happy you enjoyed your stay and are also glad that you were very well taken care of by our staffs so accommodatingly. We will inform this to the relevant departments.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Ming Garden is the newest hotel in KK and for NYE my hubby and I stayed in a Deluxe room. I love the modern look of the room, which was spacious with a nice comfortable king size bed and strong hot shower (Take note there are 2 shower heads. I enjoyed the ceiling rain shower panel which I did not notice till I was halfway through my shower). The bathroom is semi see through so be sure you know who you are bunking in with.

The staff were extra friendly and accommodating. Found it a little weird for housekeeping to come round to my room around 8pm to see if I needed anything. Not sure if this is a regular thing.

There was a good selection for breakfast in a nice cozy setting. There is a gym, pool and spa which we did not get to try but our room on the 5th level overlook the pool and you can also see the nice looking gym too. However, rooms are not sound proof so we could hear the clubbing music from Sparks bar till the wee hours.

Another thing to note, being a modern hotel I was rather surprised that though there is free wifi in the lobby, the room has free internet but you need to access it via a cable. I for one no longer bring a laptop around so found this cable requirement outdated. Plus be warned that if you do request a cable from the hotel it cost RM50, so even though the Internet is free, the cable isn't. Hopefully we get room wifi at Ming Garden in future.

But overall we would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and need your beauty sleep, request for a room facing the sea or a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gyyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback gyyr,

We're happy you enjoyed your stay and are also glad that you were very well taken care of by our staffs so accommodatingly. We will inform this to the relevant departments on their job well done.

Should you like to request to be placed on other rooms or on other floors next time - feel free to let us know and we will accommodate your requests accordingly. We are also pleased to inform you that internet cables are available (non-chargable) upon request. If you're here the next time and you'd like to use the internet - feel free to let us know :)

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed a night in Ming Hotel last night. Love the swimming pool, located on the 4th floor together with the Gym, Children Room & an absolutely great spa!
I got to say, Ming Hotel has one of the most spacious room in town, i stayed in the Premier Room, it is big enough to even fit in another 3 more extra beds. Highly recommend it for family. And, you are entitled for Club Facilities which provides complimentary evening cocktails, express checks in & out.
The hotel has not been fully completed, as they are now still doing some touch ups for its residence. It expected to be done in January next year. Be expected to see some contractors outside the hotel property doing their work.
This will be a great hotel to stay starting February 2012! As all is completed by then!

Room Tip: For family, go for Premier Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabah_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback Sabah Girl,

We're happy you enjoyed your stay and glad that it could fit all your family members together with all the facilities that were utilized by you and your family. We are pleased to inform you that rest assured the hotel is now fully completed.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank buneiwanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 離市區有段距離,離機場較近
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 昱茹 廖
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 샛별 한
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing