We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but service need to improve!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We attended the wedding function at Ming Garden recently and our first impression is what a nice new hotel in kk. But the disaster came in we are having the dinner at the ballroom..Just imagine, during last courses (Dessert) they didn't replace our dirty plate, no fork and the worst thing is there is no equipment for us to take the dessert which is in the middle of the table. We trying to get some attention from the waiter but seem that they doesn't bother. Frankly speaking, the food is ok but in terms of service, they need more training. After the dinner we are looking for smoking area INSIDE the hotel but the answer from the back of the house staffs in very disappointing.. "you can smoke outside of the lobby area". is it just because of we are local, they treated us like that? I'm hotelier as well but I never get instructions from my superior or management to look down to our guests no matter where they are come from. Return back to this hotel??? think twice.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raynold76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for a night at the Ming Garden and for a 4 star hotel expected better facilities. We had booked a superior room but on arrival these were smoking rooms only and the staff made a big fuss about changing us to a deluxe non-smoking room (we were not informed of the difference in room type on booking). The room was very dark with only a small window partially occluded by walls and the air con so even in the middle of the day the lights had to be kept on.

The pool is small and not heated, which meant in September it was freezing cold and certainly not a place to relax in. The pool area smelt of sewage and was windy which is probably why there were no guests here!

There is a good selection of items at the breakfast buffet however the hot foods (eggs, baked beans, noodles, pancakes) were all cold and whilst staff did offer to replace them, after 10minutes I gave up waiting.

The hotel is only a short walk (10mins) into town and there is a free shuttle bus which runs almost hourly until 5pm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kkanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Came to the grandballroom to attend a briefing. Whilst staff on the whole is friendly and helpful, the venue, even though newly opened feels old. The carpets didn't look very clean, chair covers were mostly stained, toilet's floor was wet, door knob of one toilet was missing and the squatting toilets looked out of place in the setup. Greeted by lots of rubbish (adjoining area) as you come in and out of the driveway.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jercyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear jercyng,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We would like to apologise for the discomfort that you have endured while attending a function here at the hotel. The restroom’s condition was indeed not a practice here at the hotel and we apologise deeply that this unfortunate event occurred during your trip here.

The rubbish and squatter houses are one of the serious matters that we are currently taking action on. Again, we apologise for this inopportune sight. We will definitely take note on your comments and use it a reference to upgrade the cleanliness and standards of a good hotel.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Spa has potential based on decor but staff were not professional and were not polite. Ladies washroom was out of order. Men's washroom had no soap or toilet paper. Washroom is not clean; strong urine smell. Would not recommend this spa.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bailey163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGeneralManager, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback bailey163,

We appreciate your comments and have addressed these issues regarding the spa's hygiene and facilities up to the Spa Operator. We will take action on this accordingly as well. We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We hope that you will give us and Odyssey Spa another opportunity to serve you and your family better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

During my current trip to KK, i have stayed in 2 city town centre hotels before switching to Ming Garden Hotel today. I must lavish my unexpected highly complimented remarks, without any reservation to the front desk staff who attended to me during check-in. Good job and well done Ms KATHELEN LEE and the other team members too.

I must laid a comment on here about the definite 4 star and above for room experience. The room is spacious, design is moden, rain shower and nice mattress.... There is complimentary shuttle service for free to the town shopping centres at regular basis. + point for that. Anyway this is my day one experience. 10/10.. Lets await my rest of the days to come and will share more with you all

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surgeon-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback surgeon-kl,

We're glad your first day's stay was a splendid 10/10! :)

We appreciate your thorough comments on your experience here in the hotel we appreciate that you share them.

We'll forward your comments to the respective departments accordingly and especially to Ms. Kathleen Lee for her assistance.

Just to further assist you, to make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights with our 2 teenage sons. The apartment was clean and spacious. We ate at the restaurant a couple of nights and found the food really good, the same goes with the buffet breakfasts. It is in a convenient location near both the airport and city centre. Staff were very friendly especially in the restaurant and bars. The only down side was when I booked the apartment I had said in my email that we were a family of four. When we arrived we were informed that a 2 bedroom apartment consisted of a King bed and one single and that we would have to pay an extra $75 ringgit a night for a foldaway bed. I was not happy with this however did not have a copy of the email with me to prove anything. However this was not enough to tarnish my opinion of the hotel as everything else was very good. We used the hotel taxi driver 'Dannon' several times during our stay and found he spoke very good english and was very friendly and helpful. He even picked up our laundry for us from mega laundry as we were on a snorkelling tour and would not get back before it closed. Highly recommend you ask for Dannon. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback Miss S,

We appreciate your thorough comments on your experience here in the hotel we appreciate that you share them. We hope you’ve enjoyed Kota Kinabalu and Sabah as whole!

For future stays, feel free to request for extra mattresses if you need next time or even connecting rooms. If it also makes you more comfortable, you may request to shift your rooms to other floors accordingly as and when, just let us know.

As for the positive comments you've shared on Dannon and other staffs - we will convey it to them accordingly and let them know how they've met your stay a really good one.

To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

General Comments: Clean spacious rooms close to the city and airport. Very friendly staff with good breakfast service. The shuttle runs every two hours to the city(last one to and back5pm/5.30pm) and you need to pre book, While we never found it an issue, I am sure it could become one if the hotel was full. Taxi fare to town was the standard 12 ringgit and to airport is 30RM.

Room: Quick check in to very clean rooms and spacious rooms. Bathrooms and toilet were very clean. Two double beds slept two adults and two toddlers easily enough. Although, two large adults may be a struggle. Internet was free but wired and you have to sign for the cable, no issues though. Had to ask for cream as none is provided by default. Can view the mosque on one side and the city on other, the city side does have some traffic noise (4th floor) but we did not find it an issue. Free bottled water was provided every day which was most useful.


Gardens: There are no gardens as such.


Staff: Very nice and friendly staff who looked after us very well. In general in sabah, language can be an issue and while everyone is well meaning sometimes the attention to detail is not the same as well established tourist places. For example, everyday we had to ask for two extra towels. Even though room service found four used towels from previous day they would only replace two. And if you plan on staying there, ask for Redwan as your taxi driver, knowledgeable, reliable and speaks English well.

Food: We only ever ate breakfast which was the usual buffet fare. eggs were precooked and kept, although one could request an omelette. Breads were very nice and there is a wide selection of asian fare and juices etc. Tea/Coffee is served at the table. Only complaint would be that there were specific items listed on in room dining that were never available! We left sabah without ever tasting the coconut pudding because the hotel never had it and we never found it elsewhere.

Family Specific: The place was very kid friendly with the staff helping us out whenever possible.
The kids play area and swimming pools were excellent.

Clean linen, delicious food, shuttle service to the city, good breakfast and friendly staff made it a easy stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less chance of traffic noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your SueDasai,

We appreciate your thorough comments on your experience here in the hotel and thank you for sharing them. We hope you’ve enjoyed Kota Kinabalu and Sabah as whole.

We’re glad that the doubles could fit you and your family so perfectly. Feel free to request for extra mattresses if you need next time or even connecting rooms. If it also makes you more comfortable, you may request to shift your rooms to other floors accordingly. The next time you’re town and you request for more than two towels daily, you may let us know accordingly during the check in process and it will be sorted out accordingly.

As for the food and and staff, we’re glad our staff has taken very well of you and your family and rest assured we will let our team know of their job well done. Feel free to utilise the kids room daily when you’re around next time.

As for the Coconut Pudding, you may want to try those around Tanjung Aru Beach Market and there’s a famous one in Tuaran too. If you need help getting to these places, try and ask our Concierge staff and I’m sure they’ll be more than happy to assist you.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
615 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing