We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ming Garden Is Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
“Ming Garden Is Very Good”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

i'am first time in new hotel...Ming garden all the area is good,the food,room,sparks and the bosses i thing from 5star anything i very2 like in stay the new hotel....don't worry i came back again THANK YOU all the staff....

Room Tip: all the staff is very good service,because i see one person..i'cant remember the name?but i very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Monata,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with overall thumbs up for our services. Your feedback has been communicated to the entire hotel team and they are delighted to know that their hard work and efforts are appreciated. I believe this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!
See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    190
    136
    31
    22
See reviews for
109
109
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We attended the wedding function at Ming Garden recently and our first impression is what a nice new hotel in kk. But the disaster came in we are having the dinner at the ballroom..Just imagine, during last courses (Dessert) they didn't replace our dirty plate, no fork and the worst thing is there is no equipment for us to take the dessert which is in the middle of the table. We trying to get some attention from the waiter but seem that they doesn't bother. Frankly speaking, the food is ok but in terms of service, they need more training. After the dinner we are looking for smoking area INSIDE the hotel but the answer from the back of the house staffs in very disappointing.. "you can smoke outside of the lobby area". is it just because of we are local, they treated us like that? I'm hotelier as well but I never get instructions from my superior or management to look down to our guests no matter where they are come from. Return back to this hotel??? think twice.....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raynold76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for a night at the Ming Garden and for a 4 star hotel expected better facilities. We had booked a superior room but on arrival these were smoking rooms only and the staff made a big fuss about changing us to a deluxe non-smoking room (we were not informed of the difference in room type on booking). The room was very dark with only a small window partially occluded by walls and the air con so even in the middle of the day the lights had to be kept on.

The pool is small and not heated, which meant in September it was freezing cold and certainly not a place to relax in. The pool area smelt of sewage and was windy which is probably why there were no guests here!

There is a good selection of items at the breakfast buffet however the hot foods (eggs, baked beans, noodles, pancakes) were all cold and whilst staff did offer to replace them, after 10minutes I gave up waiting.

The hotel is only a short walk (10mins) into town and there is a free shuttle bus which runs almost hourly until 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kkanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Came to the grandballroom to attend a briefing. Whilst staff on the whole is friendly and helpful, the venue, even though newly opened feels old. The carpets didn't look very clean, chair covers were mostly stained, toilet's floor was wet, door knob of one toilet was missing and the squatting toilets looked out of place in the setup. Greeted by lots of rubbish (adjoining area) as you come in and out of the driveway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jercyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear jercyng,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We would like to apologise for the discomfort that you have endured while attending a function here at the hotel. The restroom’s condition was indeed not a practice here at the hotel and we apologise deeply that this unfortunate event occurred during your trip here.

The rubbish and squatter houses are one of the serious matters that we are currently taking action on. Again, we apologise for this inopportune sight. We will definitely take note on your comments and use it a reference to upgrade the cleanliness and standards of a good hotel.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Spa has potential based on decor but staff were not professional and were not polite. Ladies washroom was out of order. Men's washroom had no soap or toilet paper. Washroom is not clean; strong urine smell. Would not recommend this spa.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bailey163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGeneralManager, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback bailey163,

We appreciate your comments and have addressed these issues regarding the spa's hygiene and facilities up to the Spa Operator. We will take action on this accordingly as well. We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We hope that you will give us and Odyssey Spa another opportunity to serve you and your family better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

During my current trip to KK, i have stayed in 2 city town centre hotels before switching to Ming Garden Hotel today. I must lavish my unexpected highly complimented remarks, without any reservation to the front desk staff who attended to me during check-in. Good job and well done Ms KATHELEN LEE and the other team members too.

I must laid a comment on here about the definite 4 star and above for room experience. The room is spacious, design is moden, rain shower and nice mattress.... There is complimentary shuttle service for free to the town shopping centres at regular basis. + point for that. Anyway this is my day one experience. 10/10.. Lets await my rest of the days to come and will share more with you all

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surgeon-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback surgeon-kl,

We're glad your first day's stay was a splendid 10/10! :)

We appreciate your thorough comments on your experience here in the hotel we appreciate that you share them.

We'll forward your comments to the respective departments accordingly and especially to Ms. Kathleen Lee for her assistance.

Just to further assist you, to make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bendigo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights with our 2 teenage sons. The apartment was clean and spacious. We ate at the restaurant a couple of nights and found the food really good, the same goes with the buffet breakfasts. It is in a convenient location near both the airport and city centre. Staff were very friendly especially in the restaurant and bars. The only down side was when I booked the apartment I had said in my email that we were a family of four. When we arrived we were informed that a 2 bedroom apartment consisted of a King bed and one single and that we would have to pay an extra $75 ringgit a night for a foldaway bed. I was not happy with this however did not have a copy of the email with me to prove anything. However this was not enough to tarnish my opinion of the hotel as everything else was very good. We used the hotel taxi driver 'Dannon' several times during our stay and found he spoke very good english and was very friendly and helpful. He even picked up our laundry for us from mega laundry as we were on a snorkelling tour and would not get back before it closed. Highly recommend you ask for Dannon. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback Miss S,

We appreciate your thorough comments on your experience here in the hotel we appreciate that you share them. We hope you’ve enjoyed Kota Kinabalu and Sabah as whole!

For future stays, feel free to request for extra mattresses if you need next time or even connecting rooms. If it also makes you more comfortable, you may request to shift your rooms to other floors accordingly as and when, just let us know.

As for the positive comments you've shared on Dannon and other staffs - we will convey it to them accordingly and let them know how they've met your stay a really good one.

To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing