We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Time & Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Waste of Time & Money”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Firstly I would like to say this is by far the worst hotel experience I have had in all my travels.. Restaurant service is non existent the food too took over 1 hour to be served with only 2 guests in the restaurant !! Then it was Cold !! The rooms are average to say the least... I will not recommend this hotel - I would prefer a back packers hotel other than this - very sad !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GTR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear GTR19,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. We value all your comments and I have shared them to the relevant departments. We will take serious note of your feedback and discuss this matter with my team to ensure we rectify the points you have highlighted.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    189
    132
    30
    22
See reviews for
107
105
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed a night there nice hotel as new hotel but breakfast is not very good no options.....
If u want to b in centre near to all places fr shopping and food, stay here...
Just d pool is not good, it's in a closed place between building towers.

Room Tip: Good hotel good price choose junior suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanchanLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear KanchanLad.,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel especially at our Junior Suite. The location of the hotel may be a bit out of city centre but we are glad that you enjoyed exploring Kota Kinabalu on foot as this is what adventure is all about when travelling. :)

We will be having layers of options and better selections of buffet menu for breakfast in the future so do watch out for that ;)

We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Located 500m away from the edge of the city, its 500m of walking on a busy highway sidewalk. The hotel should provide more frequent 1/2 hour pick ups and drop offs.

For the price we paid, I was anticipating an at least 4star quality hotel, as there was no comp breakfast on the package. I was sorely dissaponted as it rated only 3stars in my opinion. For the same price, I could have gotten a 3 bedroom less frills apartment right smack in the middle of the city.

To further aggravate my disappointment, there was no WiFi (but had internet) and there was no refrigerator (whatt??).

Room Tip: Ask a local!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kupster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

After much anticipation of this long Gawai weekend, my husband and I headed to KK for some relaxation and retail therapy. To our astonishment, the reception manager,named Florence said,and I quote:" Finfo, your room is not ready yet." This happened at 8pm. Reason-there were groups who checked out late earlier. What?! No apologies,no insight to her action.

Leaving that aside, we waited for an hour for our room to be cleaned,only because we approached the counter and weren't called despite being asked to leave our numbers so as to call us as soon as our room is ready.

Room itself is not worth the price offered. Simply put it, other hotel rooms were more equipped even at lower room prices compseed to this.

Unless you have a car,Ming Garden might be in town,but it's no exactly IN town conveniently speaking. You've to brace through a 8-lane highway before walking another 15-20minutes to find what u want in town center.

In short, not worth your life and health to he staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeerChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Arrived late on 31st May at 9 pm. Was told by a 'manager' Florence, that room was not ready yet as too many guests checked out late.

Room was finally available at close to 10pm. Lo and behold the aircond was leaking. Had to force maintenance to come twice before they finally and a lot of haggling before they finally gave us a new room. Could only settle down at 12am.

Next day was full of surprises as well. After a tiring day came back at 4pm only to discover I HAD BEEN LOCKED OUT OF MY ROOM !!
Went down and asked the counter, it was the same Florence from yesterday, had no idea I had another night !!

After much fussle FINALLY I got my room. Florence was extremely rude and unapologetic.

After staying in so many hotels in KK, this is the worst service I have ever
had. If front counter staff have this type of attitude probably animals would be better candidates.

Knowing the preposterous management, they will probably say we have tried to address our mishaps. Probably the next lifetime would be an appropriate timefrime. Trust me when I tell you to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CriticalTraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We check-in pretty late as our plan was to only spend one night in Kota Kinabalu because our flight was due in the morning at 0730am, so we needed a place to stay for the night & we didn't make an advance booking beforehand.

First of all, the location of the hotel is a little inconvenient. There isn't any shops easily accessible if you happen to get hungry, bored etc & doesn't want to order room service. But the hotel service was welcoming.

We felt that for a late check-in & a night stay, the very least the hotel can give us a lower price for the room, but we were charge full price for the room which we only spend around 6hrs in. It was a little pricy for half a night stay. Because we were hungry, we ordered room service. The food was not a disappointment luckily for us. We got a nice room though, 9th floor with the view of the swimming pool. The bed was very comfortable, especially the pillows! The toilet was spacious & everything was clean.

But all in all it was average.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana_Mohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at this comfortable hotel for two nights of our trip to Kota Kinabalu. This hotel is a little outside of the centre of town, located about 15 minutes from the airport.

Although this is a large hotel with many rooms the service felt personalized and the hotel was quiet and relaxing. The house keeping staff stopped by our room towards the end of the day and asked if there was anything else they could do for us before their shift ended which was appreciated.

Breakfast was a large buffet with many different styles of food including fruit, yogourt, many different types of pastries and warm breakfast food. The second morning we were unable to make breakfast as our flight was too early and the hotel even put together a small breakfast for us to take to the airport with us.

The pool area is small but includes a gym that is decently equipped.

Overall our stay here was nice although the hotel was a little inconvenient due to its location outside of the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Amber L.,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with highlights of our room services and the quiet relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. We are utterly pleased to know that you enjoyed your culinary experience during breakfast at the Golden Dew Bistro.

As the location of our hotel is quite a walking distance from the city center, we trust that our 24-seater Shuttle Bus Service has aided you throughout your jouney around Kota Kinabalu? A 24-hours taxi service is also available on standby just in case you've missed the pick-up and drop-off time. We are pleased to know that you find our hotel facilities a plus point and that you've enjoyed a nice relaxing time at the pool.

Again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing