We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to use a base for visiting the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good to use a base for visiting the area”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for a few nights on a tour of Malaysia.
Hotel has a range of facilities
food is good and a choice of restaurants at reasonable prices.
two small bar areas and an enclosed bar with music
the hotel is used by tour groups for arranged tours and can appear to be quite hectic at times, but the tour groups are kept separate and do not use the hotel facilities.
found the staff to be helpful and polite.
taxi to centre of town is approx. 15MR about £3.50
hotel is located in a non descript area and is not easy to locate the entrance on your first arrival if you are driving.
taxi from airport is approx. 35MR
for convenience to tour surrounding area we found this hotel to be well placed.
would stay again if in this region

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Stephen T,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews for our services. Your comments are greatly appreciated especially your compliments regarding our facilities and services. It is a pleasure to share them to our entire team particularly to our front of the house staff.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. See you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    189
    133
    30
    22
See reviews for
107
107
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Ming Garden was completely disappointing. Whilst some of the staff were helpful and willing to help you when needed, the biggest disappointment was the cleanliness of the rooms and the daily house keeping or lack of. My fiancé and I repeatedly had to call the reception over the time we stayed there to get our room re serviced as the basic amenities were not even replenished. I.e toilet paper, fresh towels nor were the floors vacuumed, tables wiped down or the bathroom floor tiles cleaned..... This hotel is NOT worth the money that they are asking, it's completely out off the way and you need to catch their shuttle service or taxi into town (when they decide its operating) and not by the scheduled times they advertised on the reception notice board!. Lastly on the room review we only had hot water in our shower 2 days out of 5!!!!!!!..

Now to the F&B department... If anyone is still going to book this hotel and not acknowledge my review I would STRONGLY suggest you book a room with Club lounge facilities as the breakfast buffet was like a mass feeding frenzy of seagulls with 200+ people pushing their way through to get some food onto their plates before its all gone. We made the mistake once and the remaining mornings we ventured upstairs to their club lounge were it was completely civilised.

I hope this review will help you make your decision when booking a hotel in Kota Kinabalu, I would strongly suggest booking a hotel in the middle of the town were Its more convenient in amongst the action or better yet Stay on the islands just off KK, we spent most of our time out on the reefs and once we were out there we both really regretted our decision.

I hope someone in Mings hotel reads these reviews as this hotel has potential but they need to get the basics right in operating and servicing the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Tony B,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

On behalf of our entire team, please accept our sincere apologies on the discomfort and inconvenience that you have stomached during your stay here. We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. We value all your comments and I have shared them to the relevant departments. Rest assured that all these points will be reviewed for improvement and that will include re-training and service audit, where necessary to ensure such experience will not recur in future.

If your travel ever brings you back to Kota Kinabalu then please contact me as it will be a great opportunity for the team to provide you a memorable experience that we promise and I am sure it will definitely erase any negative bad memories of your first stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

Kindest regards,
Shauntay Dawn Chong
Asst Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

It Is situated quite a distance from town area. However, there is a free shuttle service and taxis available if you need one to get to the airport in the early hours. Rooms are spacious with comfy bed and large sitting area. The bathroom is complete with amenities like toothbrush, shampoo etc. Good view of the pool downstairs. The staff is polite and helpfull. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 646Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear 646Jacqueline,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews for our services.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon. See you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

i forgot my iPad when I checked out. After 1 hour, I reported to call centre and got very helpful follow up. After another hour, I was informed that housekeeping staff reported to lost and found dept and finally I found my iPad. Really appreciated their help.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helensweetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Helensweetlady,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

On behalf of the team, we would like to say thank you for your generous comments and that it is our duty to make sure each and every one of our guest deserve an honest and respectful service.

Other than good hospitality we do emphasize on the importance of service efficiency, your kind comments have been communicated to the housekeeper/ staff in-charge and she is pleased to know that she had fulfilled her duties towards a client with a job well done. I believe this will serve as a source of inspiration for all of us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Shauntay Dawn Chong
Asst Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Firstly I would like to say this is by far the worst hotel experience I have had in all my travels.. Restaurant service is non existent the food too took over 1 hour to be served with only 2 guests in the restaurant !! Then it was Cold !! The rooms are average to say the least... I will not recommend this hotel - I would prefer a back packers hotel other than this - very sad !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GTR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear GTR19,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. We value all your comments and I have shared them to the relevant departments. We will take serious note of your feedback and discuss this matter with my team to ensure we rectify the points you have highlighted.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed a night there nice hotel as new hotel but breakfast is not very good no options.....
If u want to b in centre near to all places fr shopping and food, stay here...
Just d pool is not good, it's in a closed place between building towers.

Room Tip: Good hotel good price choose junior suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanchanLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear KanchanLad.,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel especially at our Junior Suite. The location of the hotel may be a bit out of city centre but we are glad that you enjoyed exploring Kota Kinabalu on foot as this is what adventure is all about when travelling. :)

We will be having layers of options and better selections of buffet menu for breakfast in the future so do watch out for that ;)

We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Located 500m away from the edge of the city, its 500m of walking on a busy highway sidewalk. The hotel should provide more frequent 1/2 hour pick ups and drop offs.

For the price we paid, I was anticipating an at least 4star quality hotel, as there was no comp breakfast on the package. I was sorely dissaponted as it rated only 3stars in my opinion. For the same price, I could have gotten a 3 bedroom less frills apartment right smack in the middle of the city.

To further aggravate my disappointment, there was no WiFi (but had internet) and there was no refrigerator (whatt??).

Room Tip: Ask a local!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kupster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing