We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Apollo Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very good facilities. Shuttle bus service good. Kind, considerate staff. Even though this hotel caters more for tourist groups, as a couple we felt well cared for. Location is a good distance from both the airport and shopping areas

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjh5654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    190
    136
    31
    22
See reviews for
109
109
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Ming Hotel is located in a strategic location for tourist as it's just a few minutes away from Airasia airport and less than 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport. There is also KK Times Square which is very happening at night just across the road, all the popular clubs are gather in that area. Prefect for those who loves club. Room is clean and big. Facilities are okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffanynKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Room facilities are ok, good for those traveller who just need a room but not for leisure purposes. Breakfast is bad, not much choices. Room service is worse, requested Chinese newspaper for many times but always not available. Requested for porridge for in room dining also not available. Too crowded with china tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LkSiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Located on the highway near the airport with nothing else around in terms of food or shops, you are effectively TRAPPED here if you do not wish to venture to the city.
Front office is poorly organised and lack either language or listening skills. Being a tourist group focused hotel, individual travellers get ignored or de-prioritised by the louder tour leaders. This hotel IS NOT RECOMMENDED if you wish a quick check-in or a place to come back to relax after a long day at work.
Food: The breakfast is of poor quality and you have to pay extra for an omelette at the egg station (who does this?). With the tourist groups fanning in and out, eating alone also means your table gets occupied in the 2 minutes you go off to replenish your juice or get more toast. A la carte dinners are a nightmare as the restaurant is buffet-focused. Service staff arbitrarily tell you certain condiments or dishes are unavailable so they don't have to go back to the kitchen (I saw that they have set 3 course dinners but the menus with them mysteriously disappeared when I came back later in the evening - a bit dodgy)
Rooms are new and relatively comfortable. Bathrooms DO NOT have bathtubs but are well-appointed. A common complaint with fellow travellers is that the shower stall doesn't drain properly, so you get a mini bathtub in the first 3 minutes of your shower which is an unpleasant bonus. The room corridors are noisy at all times of the day with different travel groups coming in and out until late at night.
The pool is a nightmare on the weekends with hordes of families and children in the pool. There are limited sunbeds and you will have people circling around you waiting for you to finish your time at the pool or dropping their room keys and belongings around you.
The only true plus point is its proximity to the airport and at the end of my 1 night stay, I would safely say I could not get out of there fast enough.

Room Tip: Low number rooms are closer to the lift (more noise from foot traffic) High number rooms are ridicu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed one night for work related travels. Overall the hotel is average. A lot of tour groups staying at this hotel, so breakfast was pretty crowded. The choice of food was pretty limited for such a big group of people.
Staff were friendly and helpful when I asked for assistance. Hotel is clean and new. There is a frosted glass between the hotel room & the shower area, thought that was interesting. The driveway into the hotel is quite weird, you have to make a big round to the entrance and its confusing as there is a hotel entrance and an service apartment entrance.

So overall, I would say it is okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szetwinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed one night due to lack of rooms at other hotels and corporate policy. To sum up the experience, this is a hotel for groups, and Chinese tour groups in particular. It deserves an "Average" rating because you have to rate it as a tour group hotel (2-3 stars), not exactly built for business or high end leisure travellers. And as such, it was an average property in all aspects.

Check-in:

It was slow because it seems that this is also the main crew hotel for Malaysia Airlines in addition to catering to numerous tour groups. Front desk lacked charm and efficiency and they did not proactively provide two keys despite knowing there were two guests in the room.

Room:

Let's talk about the hallways first. This property opened in 2012, but it feels more like a 3 star hotel from the early 90's. The hallways are dingy and has a stale smell. Once you enter the room, there is an averaged sized toilet. We had twin beds in the room and one of them had stains on the sheets. Wifi is available only in some rooms. Be sure to check with front desk which rooms have wifi. The speed is generally ok.

There are two parts to this hotel. The residence side where rooms have a kitchenette and the newer side with normal hotel rooms (and a refreshed hallway). Try to get a room in the latter unless you need a kitchen (be warned that there is only a bigger fridge and a regular sink, no other kitchen appliances are available).

F&B:

Breakfast was nothing to write home about. There was an average selection of Asian and Western options, but the quality of food left a lot to be desired. Service was virtually nonexistent. It took over 15 minutes for them to replace utensils at my table.

Facilities:

The pool surprised me. I didn't expect much, but it looked nice. The gym is next to the pool and has a good variety of equipment. I couldn't find the switch to the AC (I suspect there was none) and it felt really stuffy. Definitely needs better ventilation. There is also an onsite spa, but didn't try it.

Overall:

If you are travelling for business or leisure, try to find another property. This hotel is really only there to cater for groups. Having said that, if you are planning on taking a group here and saving some money, then it's ok to spend one night. Not sure if you want to spend more than one night here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPA902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I could write pages about my stay at this hotel and the problems I had there and how they should do this and that. DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR and HEED MY WARNING stay away from this hotel
Location terrible next to motorway and shanty town
Staff terrible
No idea how to treat people
Price is cheap but not worth it
Crowded
Stay away stay away

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank herthaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear herthaberlin,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

First and foremost, we would like to apologise for the discomfort that you have endured during your stay here at the hotel. The undesirable attitude of staff is indeed not a practice here at the hotel and we apologise deeply that this unfortunate event occurred during your trip here.

Due to the hotel's peak season, we are currently running on full house and we do apologise should other guests made you feel uneasy and perturbed. The squatter houses are one of the serious matters that we are currently taking action on. Again, we apologise for this inopportune sight.

Rest assured that we have taken note of your comments and will address this issue to the management and respective departments.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing