We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not great for access to city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not great for access to city”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel in itself was nice, we were upgraded to some sort of suite on the 10th floor which was very spacious, good as it had a mini kitchen etc (though no utensils at all - that would have been useful!)

The real downside is the location - it was pretty difficult to walk into the centre due to the need to cross the 6 lane road just outside the door - we did this anyway but it wasn't particularly easy OR safe to navigate! I found it incredibly frustrating that the mall across the road was impossible to get to on foot! However, taxis are cheap and plentiful. Don't bother with the shuttle bus as it just seemed to be full every time we tried to book!

Food and drinks were fine in the restaurants downstairs and the staff were friendly and kind especially the doormen & bar staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alielv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    190
    136
    31
    22
See reviews for
109
109
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent 5 days in KK in early January 2014 and chose to stay at the Ming Garden Hotel. It is a new hotel (2 years old) located on the edge of the main city area of KK. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk into the main shopping area but be prepared to dodge heavy traffic and negotiate some very bust roads to get there! This was the main detraction for us as we have a young family and trying to negotiate children in prams along a goat track disguised as a foot path whilst thousands of cars, trucks and various other vehicles hammer past mere inches away is not really my idea of fun! The hotel does offer a courtesy bus but at the peak times of morning and evening it is often booked out. The only other option is to get a taxi which there are plenty of and relatively cheap (US $5 to get into the down town area). The rooms were a very good standard, room service efficient and the food good quality and the buffet restaurant served quite a good buffet as well. The hotel has a nice pool area with a large pool which was quite enjoyable as well. The only disappointment with the pool area is that food and drink choices are very limited so it is not the sort of pool where you might spend the whole day laying around but it does provide a nice place to have a dip and cool off. All in all I would say that this is a good value option when in KK but be prepared for some "highly interactive" walking trips or budget in $20 a day for cab fares to get you around.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good but the corner suites looked particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDurackHaywards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Let me start on a good note, the breakfast place is well done, the food selection and layout is of a 4 star restaurant.

Onto the rest:
I booked this hotel as it looked reasonable on the internet and was reasonably priced. The room they gave me did not have wifi, they changed my room. The second room the air con did not work, they asked if it was ok to say in this room and they would call maintenance for me. I declined and wanted a new room. The hall ways spelt on the way to my second and third room.

The walls are paper thin and you can hear people talking, walking to their rooms and the housekeeping cart traveling at various hours in the day/ night.

This hotel is not situated well, it has a shuttle bus which takes you to the city which comes ever hour but you cannot easily walk to the city to visit or return.

Reception never answers the phone, they always have to call you back.

This hotel is geared for bus traveling tourist. I do not recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Re B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

George Town, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Had a comfortable relaxing trip to kota kinabalu, provided by this hotel. Updated designs and hassle free location for those with a rented car are it's plus points. Room service is actually delicious if one is too tired to go to the bustling city. Will return if I'm visiting KK again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drinkingcocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Really couldn`t find anything to fault in this smart, clean and friendly hotel, the rooms were spotless, a good size and comfortable. More three pin (UK) sockets than I have ever seen in any hotel, kettle, water, big tv, great shower, for the money probably one of the best hotel rooms I have used.
The friendliest staff with the biggest smiles nothing was too much trouble, from the room cleaners to Sam the Sales Director everyone was a pleasure to meet.
Big big breakfast buffet mainly Asian but the sausage and egg was there as well and it was all tasty.
All the Malls, restaurants, and ferries all a short taxi ride (15MR) the travel time would depend on the time of day as rush hour could be busy but you could walk into town in 15mins
No problems at all with this hotel and if we were ever to come back to Kota Kinabalu I would go nowhere else

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahammckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I flew to KK from the UK and my girlfriend from Sydney, Australia to spend Christmas together. What a lovely hotel. The staff were brilliant and looked after us especially 'Nainih', our sweet little room maid who even put christmas decorations and a card in our room which was on the top floor and had a great view of the mountains. It was clean and stylish and the aircon was quiet and efficient. The buffet breakfast was amazing every day and the Christmas day dinner buffet was beautifully presented and delicious. Some members of staff dressed up and sang carols in the foyer on 23rd and 24th. We attended the best ever Christmas eve party in 'Sparks' bar which was the highlight of our stay. Brilliant! !

Room Tip: Only 10 minutes from the airport so some aircraft noise is inevitable. Busy road at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The room is smaller than photos but sufficient space to move around. Bed is comfy, room clean, service is great. Quite a distance from KK town centre. The only complain that I might have is the wifi which I find difficulties to connect at times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su2122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing