We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty standard hotel but service lacks experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty standard hotel but service lacks experience”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Room was ok, nothing special (don't expect any kind of view), but fairly clean. There's a frosted glass partition between bathroom and bedroom so if you go to the loo in the night and your partner is sensitive to light they might get woken up when you turn on the bathroom light. Staff seem inexperienced and have trouble understanding what is required so everything seems to take a while to explain (which is fine seeing as though English might not be their first language and we don't speak Malay- the problem was more that they'd say yes to understanding something but then not deliver what was requested because they'd not understood clearly- it's always better to ask again if not sure!) Location is probably the worst aspect of this place- it's not walking distance to KK town centre, and it's next to a pretty deprived shanty settlement so it's potentially not very safe to walk even if you wanted to. There's a free shuttle service provided by the hotel to transport you to town but it only runs once per hour. If you get a taxi, and the driver knows you're a tourist, be prepared to be ripped off (RM40 for a taxi from KK town centre to the hotel is a total rip off but we couldn't be bothered to argue). We didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on the food. We used the gym once which was ok, it's got a decent range of equipment although some of it is not in the best shape and needed maintenance.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    189
    132
    30
    22
See reviews for
107
105
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was a guest at the Ming Garden for an extended period of time and there was nothing wrong with it. The staff are friendly and helpful and do their very best to make your stay pleasant. However, as it was a work trip rather than a holiday I thought that breakfast should have started a bit earlier than 6.30am, but the staff on duty let me in. However, the selection of the food available covered all corners of the world. The rooms are carpeted and they were not thoroughly cleaned during my stay.

The location is at the edge tourist of the tourist area so visitors must traverse major highways to get to the markets or restaurants. So it is not the most convenient hotel for visitors who either depend on public transport or are driving.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArmstrogn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel was divided into new and old wings with difference in rates and its appearance.
Old wing seems economic but the corridor and lift are worn out. New wing has presented its premium outlook. Services of the hotel staff is good and pleasant, slightly slow.
However, overall experience was good and cosy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceWong3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There's nothing really wrong with the Ming Garden Hotel, but at the same time, for what it is attempting to be (a fairly high quality place) it's decidedly average. If you want something classy and comfortable, there are better places (both in standard and location) in KK you could choose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carruthers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The rooms are nice and well maintained, we really enjoyed our stay here. The restaurant food is very average unfortunately and doesn't seem to fit. With the hotel being so nice we really expected better food quality. The breakfast gives lots of choices but it's what you can get everywhere else. Dinner comes buffet or al a carte, for the price, your better off eating anywhere else. The service staff was very attentive and friendly. Food quality is the only thing lacking here!!

Room Tip: Stay off the main road side, the first night was quiet and didn't notice it but the second night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisicalmostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I spent one night here and left early for a 6am flight the next morning. It was completely fine - about ten minutes from the airport, well run, clean, modern etc. I ate a late dinner in the hotel restaurant which was totally acceptable. I was invited to partake in the buffet dinner, which was more food and more costly than I was looking for, but when I asked if there was a separate menu with smaller meals, one was forthcoming, which solved the problem. My wake-up call came through ten minutes late - so just double confirm your arrangements - and I was able to use the on-call taxi (you still pay though) for a ride back to the airport. This was fine and I'd stay here again for a lay-over, but possibly not for a holiday in Kota although I really didn't explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is spacious, clean and modern. It has all the facilities we were looking for but it just didn't deliver enough to make you want to return. We had booked the two bedroom apartment for our family (2 adults and two teenage boys) however the room was set up to only accommodate three. After enquiring, the solution was for one of our sons had to sleep on a roll out bed in the lounge area. The two bathrooms in the apartment were large and well equipped. The kitchen was also large but not one item of kitchenware was provided aside from four tea cups and four glasses. The Buffett breakfast was extensive but unfortunately for us not to our taste. We ate in the restaurant one night which was very expensive and again not to our taste. The staff however were very friendly. The pool area is nice but unfortunately when we visited the smell wafting from the neighbourhood forced us back indoors. If I stayed in KK again I would go for a more central hotel. It was easy to get a cab into town or book ahead on the shuttle bus but it did mean that there were was no ducking off to the shops, trips did need to be planned ahead.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing