We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Hotel with Simplicity.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located at town area where it is closed to a mall called Wawasan Plaza,City bus station,Banks and Restaurants.Everything will be on walking distance,however need to be extra careful when crossing the main road as the traffic is busy during working hours.Service provided by staff is just ok,not too bad and not too good.Its suitable for people who come for business trip where you dont need much attention as family vacation.The main restaurant Spark provide lots of choice for breakfast.Room is new and quite spacious,specialy for the residence type.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Stacy S,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews for our services. Your comments are greatly appreciated especially your compliments regarding our outlets and rooms.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. See you! :)

Kind regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Ming Garden is one of my favorite hotel in Kota Kinabalu. I especially love the variety buffet breakfast and pastries. Large swimming pool and relaxing on the patio. Modern design rooms and I love the bathrooms. Free basement parking for in house guest and also provide free shuttle to kota Kinabalu town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wengSDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear wengSDK,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel with compliments on our breakfast station, swimming pool, rooms and mostly of our facilities. You can actually make Ming Garden Hotel & Residences your second home! :)

We value such feedback which is shared with all and look forward to your return in the not too distant future. We hope to have you back soon, wengSDK. See you!

Kind regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Been a year since I visit KK. Wanted a hotel in the town city area instead of in the One Borneo area.

Chose Ming Garden because it was new and wanted somewhere near to Warisan Sq and Centrepoint.

Hotel was new as expected. Good size room. Amenities adequate. Internet connectivity.

However location was not ideal. Surrounding the hotel has nothing. The key town centre is abt 1.5 km from the hotel.

No shops near. Closest 7-11 or food outlet 500 metres away.

Cab to Warisan Sq or town centre cost RM 15 each way for a 5 min ride.

Close to Sutera golf club.

Price for room averagely on the high side.

Advice to travellers. no car stay somewhere else near Warisan Square or One Borneo for convenience of shopping.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Lapi,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, As the location of our hotel is quite a walking distance from the city center, we trust that our 24-seater Shuttle Bus Service has aided you throughout your jouney around Kota Kinabalu? A 24-hours taxi service is also available on standby just in case you've missed the pick-up and drop-off time.

We are pleased to know that you find our hotel facilities a plus point and that you've enjoyed a good night's sleep in our rooms with adequate internet connectivity.

Looking forward to having you back :)

Warmest regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We got very special rate through an agent. Stayed for two nights and had one night dinner free. The food was great and plenty of choice.
The superior room was just okay. With the rate we paid, no fuss at all. Don't expect to have any nice view. The hotel is located below the flyover and it is pretty distance to walk to the town centre. It is not safe to walk during the night. Free shuttle service is available but only runs every hour. It is wise to check the schedule with the receptionists when checking in. Taxi fares are high and cut throat. If we had paid for the normal rates, we would have gone to another better hotel in town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambooKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear bambooKK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

It is always nice to hear reviews from our local guests and we thank you for the great comments on the variety of food choices at the Golden Dew Bistro.

The location of our hotel is a main concern to most of our guests and we apologize sincerely should this caused you inconvenience during your stay. To ease our guests' traveling needs, we do provide a Shuttle Service that runs every hour, in which you can book your seat at the Concierge. Car rental is also an alternative here in Kota Kinabalu for easy traveling.

We hope our heartfelt recommendation is acceptable and we earnestly look forward to your next stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences in the not so distant future.

Regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Booked into the Ming for 3 days / nights after 3 weeks of touring Borneo. The main attractions were;
- excellent rooms
- swimming pool
- close to airport
- close to shopping
We were given a fantastic room on the 10th floor, with views of KK and the bay / islands. It was spectacular .
The pool area was great, lots of sun deck chairs and umbrellas , bar facilities, and food.
The Resturant was also excellent - buffet with lots of choices.
The staff really tried hard, and obviously had been extremely well trained. Each and every staff member was friendly and helpful.
The hotel runs a shuttle bus into the the heart of KK , the shopping in KK is very average, however there are lots of Resturant choices
The Ming is a hotel that is well priced ( we booked on Agoda) as compared to other major KK hotels some of which do not have pool facilities .
" highly recommended"

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Coroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Coroona,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are extremely delighted to know that you had an excellent stay with us and were pleased with the hotel facilities as well as the service provided by our associates. We certainly do strive to make every effort to deliver highest standard of personalized customer service to all our guests and it is always encouraging to receive such praise.

We earnestly hope that you will consider staying again at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu as we look forward to welcoming you back. :)

Best regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Date: 11/05/14
Room: 1 Bedroom Residence
Room condition: comfortable n well decoration..large room except bathroom a bit small..anyway recommended for anyone to try it..
Check in & out: fast process n polite staff..
Other: i left my laptop at lobby n thanx to the staff they kept it n return it back safely..
Overall: if u come to k.kinabalu then this is one of the hotel u should consider to stay..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Azwan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Azwan R,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are indeed very pleased having you with us and also delighted to know that you had a fantastic and memorable stay. We are glad that you have adored our hotel residence room, overall facilities, and most of all, the unparalleled service, honesty, and hospitality provided by our Front Office staff.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Warm regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Room was ok, nothing special (don't expect any kind of view), but fairly clean. There's a frosted glass partition between bathroom and bedroom so if you go to the loo in the night and your partner is sensitive to light they might get woken up when you turn on the bathroom light. Staff seem inexperienced and have trouble understanding what is required so everything seems to take a while to explain (which is fine seeing as though English might not be their first language and we don't speak Malay- the problem was more that they'd say yes to understanding something but then not deliver what was requested because they'd not understood clearly- it's always better to ask again if not sure!) Location is probably the worst aspect of this place- it's not walking distance to KK town centre, and it's next to a pretty deprived shanty settlement so it's potentially not very safe to walk even if you wanted to. There's a free shuttle service provided by the hotel to transport you to town but it only runs once per hour. If you get a taxi, and the driver knows you're a tourist, be prepared to be ripped off (RM40 for a taxi from KK town centre to the hotel is a total rip off but we couldn't be bothered to argue). We didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on the food. We used the gym once which was ok, it's got a decent range of equipment although some of it is not in the best shape and needed maintenance.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Grandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £50 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing