We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New and pleasant”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is nice and new. The rooms are spacious. Bathrooms large and well equipped with a normal shower and a "rain" shower. The breakfast is a good spread of both western and Asian food. and service is also pretty good. The only thing that was a bit of a negative is that the gym has poor quality running machines. Its ok if you walk but for a runner, its a bit risky. Its slightly away from the waterfront but I saw a hotel shuttle which probably goes there. Will be back but with my wife this time :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear HowardMyers,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are indeed very pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and that you adored our hotel rooms and state of the art' rain shower' experience. Thank you for you warm acknowledgements as well on our culinary fare and high level of customer service provided by our team of dedicated colleagues, who live and breathe our "Service From The Heart" brand promise.

We do apologize for the inconvenience that you have endured while at the gym, this matter has been communicated to the management and we thank you for your warm comments and advice.

I am utterly glad to know that you will definitely return to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back :)

Kind Regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    189
    132
    30
    22
See reviews for
107
105
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Room looks new and clean. Situated next quite isolated from from any walking distance shops, malls and so on. You can walk and explore but you would have to crossed the main road to the nearest shops. The road leading to the hotel very deserted. Everynight we could see group of teenagers from the village next to the hotel would hang out on the street and in the bushes. Dont know what exactly they doing but one thing for sure a few of them were sniffing glue. You would them holding a plastic bag of which they poured yellow coloured glue inside. So sad to see this at that young age.

That prevented me from exploring and walking out from the hotel at night. Gym is alright not as big as some other established hotel. It has two treadmills, two stationary bicycles, one weight machine and free weights. Car park is safe with the automatic gate parking system. Must get it stamped for your inhouse complementary parking ticket.

Room view not so much to rave about as our room is facing another room and the black big drain. Curtain it closed all the time for privacy. Internet is good and fast. No need password. Dont see any 'non- smoking' sign anywhere. One time bumped into two japanese guest smoking in the hall way while waiting for the lift. Not use to this as most hotels banned smoking inside their building. But here they placed the garbage bin with the cigarette sand/pebbles to put out the cigarette on every floor.The good thing is our room has no hint of cigarette smell.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank high4adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear high4adventure,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

Firstly we want to apologize for the unsightly situation that you've encountered at the main road of the hotel. We are completely aware of this problem and rest assured our team of security supervisors are making sure that these roads are well protected and 100% safe for our guests to take to Harbour City at night.

Our rooms are divided into smoking and non-smoking floors which you can choose either preference for your next visit. We appreciate your concern on public area smoking, hence we have implemented the 'no-smoking' sign for public areas especially the hallways.

It is indeed rewarding to receive such reviews and we as a growing hotel will take your untimely advice and strive to better ourselves in service. We earnestly hope that you will consider staying again at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014, we booked 2 rooms and the rooms are huge with a living area and kitchen. Breakfast was nice with a variety of selection. Gym room is small but you will find everything you need for basic excercise.

Outdoor pool is nice but just too crowded, you can't swim properly with all these guests standing, chatting, and excersing in the pool. Our room have a view over the swimming pool where we chose a time where there weren't not too many guests hanging around.

There was a problem of water leaking underneath the air conditioner, we found out it was the water pipe that caused the problem, the engineer came and put something around the pipe to stop the leaking temporary. We didn't request to change room or anything as it was not a very serious issue that would affect our stay.

Since we are departing on a early morning flight, the duty manager was nice to dial a local phone call to our driver to pick us up. Unfortunately, the driver overslept and didn't came but the hotel was able to arrange a car for us to go to the airport with a reasonable price.

Bad things about the location, its in the middle of nowhere and not close to city centre, you will need to take a taxi to reach any place.

Overall, we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Howie L,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel with compliments on our breakfast station, swimming pool, residence rooms and mostly of our facilities. We hope the water leaking problem wasn't too severe and that our helpful engineer has aided you throughout the situation.

Thank you for recognizing our Duty Manager who impressed you by their attentiveness and professionalism. It is always with pride that we are able to personally recognize them for their efforts to exceed our guests expectations.

We hope you will be able to enjoy our 24-seater Shuttle Bus Service whenever you're in town again, as this is one of the complimentary perks that our guests enjoys when moving around Kota Kinabalu city.

Looking forward to having you back :)

Warmest regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way home and the location was ideal. We walked and got some food then went the night market. The next day we had breakfast and left for the airport. Food was good the staff were friendly the accommodation clean, but it had a strange stale smell. It was in big need of a new air con system and maybe new carpets. On the up side there was a pool on the roof which was lovely.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KevinBirminghamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear KevinBirminghamuk,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, your comments are greatly appreciated especially compliments regarding our outlets and rooms.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, we apologize should this problem has caused you any inconvenience during your stay. We make every effort to ensure your expectations are exceeded and I sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to share your personal experience with us.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. See you! :)

Kind regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night in the hotel-which was close to the airport and shopping district.

Staff was courteous and accommodated my request for a late checkout, though it appeared to be a busy time for them.

Food was alright, and room was comfortably decorated, fitted and spaced.

Recommended for those who drive to KK. Those who rely on public transport, they have a shuttle to the city center and back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kamalzukhairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is an adequate hotel if you really have to visit Kota Kinabalu.

The good:

- about halfway between the airport and down-town
- comfortable, well-equipped rooms
- friendly, efficient service
- large pool and gym

The not so good:

- in the middle of nowhere
- although downtown is only about a 15 minute walk it is very hard to reach across major roads
- the shuttle doesn't run after 7pm
- terrible buffet breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamvong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The location of the hotel is not so good. It is in front of the slum area and there will be kids coming to beg for money when you walk out.

The hotel room shower head wasn't working properly. some of the bathroom lights are not functioning as well. Poorly maintained.

However, the hotel is new and bed are super comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing