We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is not good but the room is nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed there for a business trip. I find it difficult to catch the shutter bus to the KK city as they have limited trips in a day. When I am back from work at 6.30pm, I have to make sure I am done with my dinner at town before the last shutter bus at 7.30pm comes. Although from the hotel to KK is within walking distance, I will not recommend you to walk especially when you are alone as the area is dark and right beside the hotel there is an illegal housing area (rows of small wooden houses) which illegal immigrants are staying there.

I like the room that I am staying in. Cozy, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sailormoon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have to say that having just arrived, a rat ran across the foyer. This must have been a one-off, as it didn't reappear in the 4 weeks I was at the hotel. But it highlights probably the main disadvantage with this hotel - its close proximity to a shanty town which comes right up to the approach road, and which several of the rooms at the back of the hotel overlook. I was advised not to walk past it, but if you turn right out of the hotel through a small gate, you can walk towards town, using the pedestrian (!) crossings and in 10 minutes you are in the eating places on the sea front or in the shopping malls. The hotel also has a shuttle bus service, which it is best to book beforehand, but sometimes (a Saturday, for example) the traffic is so bad it's quicker to walk. Otherwise this is a good, modern hotel, with spacious, comfortable rooms (although rather stark - a picture or two would help) and excellent bathrooms with showers. Take care to direct the hand shower away from the shower door, as a design fault here means a wet bathroom floor otherwise. Breakfast was good and plentiful, catering for western and eastern tastes; the a la carte in the evening was rather restricted, but the pastries and cakes on sale were excellent and reasonably priced - the carrot cake especially. The clientele was virtually all Chinese on holiday, who seemed to spend most of their time in the pool. It was a pleasant place to relax, though, although the view towards the sea has been obliterated by new buildings across the highway and there was the occasional whiff of drains and noise of planes. The concierges were excellent in arranging tours which would pick up and drop off at the hotel, and were good value. The staff generally were very friendly and amenable, and once you have got used to the local geography, this is a hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musexmner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is closed to air port, quite new hotel with very good facilities. The staffs are very helpful and friendly. We fully utilized the gym room and swimming pool there during the stay.
Hotel is quite isolated with other shops, shopping malls, restaurants, and normally need to take cab to go.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laikaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear laikaum,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, As the location of our hotel is quite a walking distance from the city center, we trust that our 24-seater Shuttle Bus Service has aided you throughout your jouney around Kota Kinabalu? A 24-hours taxi service is also available on standby just in case you've missed the pick-up and drop-off time.

We are pleased to know that you find our hotel facilities a plus point and that you've enjoyed the gym and swimming pool.

Looking forward to having you back :)

Warmest regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We wanted to try a different hotel on our recent visit to Kota Kinabalu with our friends who came abroad to visit us. As usual we booked with Agoda and several hotels popped up with room rates ranging from low to high. As our friends had specifically requested for one with a swimming pool, we went for Ming Garden which looked decent and pleasant. Their rates were reasonable and one could have a choice ... with or without breakfast. We opted for the latter due to our familiarity of the local scene and locale.

When we arrived, the desk clerk was fast and efficient and the check in was smooth. We were assigned adjoining rooms overlooking the swimming pool. All our special requests were made online and we were very pleased that all were accommodated. This hotel also provided hourly shuttle to town center and this facility had to be prebooked. We did not utilise this facility as we had our own car and had the wheels to go sightseeing and dine out of the hotel. For those who would like to shop and try the local cuisine, a 10 minutes walk to the right side of the hotel entrance would bring you to open air coffee shops with good stalls selling noodles. Opposite this food centre is a mall called Asia City. Crossing over the roads with traffic lights were made easy and safe as all pedestrain crossing were installed with "stop" buttons.

The hotel was always busy with foreign tourists from Hong Kong and China and the swimming pool was swarmed with kids and their parents. This was the only setback! Besides this small issue, everything was pleasant. We will use Ming Garden again in the near future and we highly recommend this hotel to those who would like to enjoy a lodging with no hassle... only professionalism!

Room Tip: Rooms on non smoking floor (9th floor) facing pool are just perfect
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyonyaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear NyonyaLady,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are extremely delighted to know that you had an excellent stay with us and were pleased with the hotel facilities as well as the service provided by our associates. We certainly do strive to make every effort to deliver highest standard of personalized customer service to all our guests and it is always encouraging to receive such praise.

We apologize for the swimming pool incident, however, we look forward to welcoming you back to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu! :)

Best regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is nice and new. The rooms are spacious. Bathrooms large and well equipped with a normal shower and a "rain" shower. The breakfast is a good spread of both western and Asian food. and service is also pretty good. The only thing that was a bit of a negative is that the gym has poor quality running machines. Its ok if you walk but for a runner, its a bit risky. Its slightly away from the waterfront but I saw a hotel shuttle which probably goes there. Will be back but with my wife this time :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HowardMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear HowardMyers,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are indeed very pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and that you adored our hotel rooms and state of the art' rain shower' experience. Thank you for you warm acknowledgements as well on our culinary fare and high level of customer service provided by our team of dedicated colleagues, who live and breathe our "Service From The Heart" brand promise.

We do apologize for the inconvenience that you have endured while at the gym, this matter has been communicated to the management and we thank you for your warm comments and advice.

I am utterly glad to know that you will definitely return to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back :)

Kind Regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Room looks new and clean. Situated next quite isolated from from any walking distance shops, malls and so on. You can walk and explore but you would have to crossed the main road to the nearest shops. The road leading to the hotel very deserted. Everynight we could see group of teenagers from the village next to the hotel would hang out on the street and in the bushes. Dont know what exactly they doing but one thing for sure a few of them were sniffing glue. You would them holding a plastic bag of which they poured yellow coloured glue inside. So sad to see this at that young age.

That prevented me from exploring and walking out from the hotel at night. Gym is alright not as big as some other established hotel. It has two treadmills, two stationary bicycles, one weight machine and free weights. Car park is safe with the automatic gate parking system. Must get it stamped for your inhouse complementary parking ticket.

Room view not so much to rave about as our room is facing another room and the black big drain. Curtain it closed all the time for privacy. Internet is good and fast. No need password. Dont see any 'non- smoking' sign anywhere. One time bumped into two japanese guest smoking in the hall way while waiting for the lift. Not use to this as most hotels banned smoking inside their building. But here they placed the garbage bin with the cigarette sand/pebbles to put out the cigarette on every floor.The good thing is our room has no hint of cigarette smell.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank high4adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear high4adventure,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

Firstly we want to apologize for the unsightly situation that you've encountered at the main road of the hotel. We are completely aware of this problem and rest assured our team of security supervisors are making sure that these roads are well protected and 100% safe for our guests to take to Harbour City at night.

Our rooms are divided into smoking and non-smoking floors which you can choose either preference for your next visit. We appreciate your concern on public area smoking, hence we have implemented the 'no-smoking' sign for public areas especially the hallways.

It is indeed rewarding to receive such reviews and we as a growing hotel will take your untimely advice and strive to better ourselves in service. We earnestly hope that you will consider staying again at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014, we booked 2 rooms and the rooms are huge with a living area and kitchen. Breakfast was nice with a variety of selection. Gym room is small but you will find everything you need for basic excercise.

Outdoor pool is nice but just too crowded, you can't swim properly with all these guests standing, chatting, and excersing in the pool. Our room have a view over the swimming pool where we chose a time where there weren't not too many guests hanging around.

There was a problem of water leaking underneath the air conditioner, we found out it was the water pipe that caused the problem, the engineer came and put something around the pipe to stop the leaking temporary. We didn't request to change room or anything as it was not a very serious issue that would affect our stay.

Since we are departing on a early morning flight, the duty manager was nice to dial a local phone call to our driver to pick us up. Unfortunately, the driver overslept and didn't came but the hotel was able to arrange a car for us to go to the airport with a reasonable price.

Bad things about the location, its in the middle of nowhere and not close to city centre, you will need to take a taxi to reach any place.

Overall, we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the swimming pool
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Howie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Howie L,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel with compliments on our breakfast station, swimming pool, residence rooms and mostly of our facilities. We hope the water leaking problem wasn't too severe and that our helpful engineer has aided you throughout the situation.

Thank you for recognizing our Duty Manager who impressed you by their attentiveness and professionalism. It is always with pride that we are able to personally recognize them for their efforts to exceed our guests expectations.

We hope you will be able to enjoy our 24-seater Shuttle Bus Service whenever you're in town again, as this is one of the complimentary perks that our guests enjoys when moving around Kota Kinabalu city.

Looking forward to having you back :)

Warmest regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £47 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing