We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
66
209
146
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
209
146
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel shopping mall swimming pool shuttle bus junior suite town area buffet breakfast hotel is located flat screen tv housekeeping staff city view main restaurant short stay jesselton point sparks kota oposite
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Terrible experience. Misleading information online about the spa which was the reason I'd booked there for some luxury - the menu is entirely different and more expensive, as well as the pictures misrepresenting the drab spa they actually have. When I said the spa was more expensive than the list I had been sent via Facebook before booking, literally the week before, the colleague I was speaking to told me she owns the spa not the hotel so she sets the prices as she likes... how rude!! There were countless other issues. Escalated to the hotel manager. Promised a refund via email. It's been two months and they're now not returning my messages after weeks of telling me the refund was being processed. Dishonest and realistically not as nice a hotel as portrayed online. VERY overcrowded everywhere from the reception to the pool. Dirty carpets in my room, faulty lights. The only thing that was nice was the chap working in the car park who directed me to the mall so I could get some peace from the overrun hotel.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Good location. in the middle of kota kinabalu city. walking distance to new shopping mall Imago. 10-15mins driving distance to International airport. however, the service and facilities no good as expected. Staffs no greet us when we doing check in. we stayed 2 nights only provided 2 towel, which no additional hand towel and small tower to dry the sink and toilet floor. bed no comfortable as well

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Located in a strategic place, not to far (about 10 minutes) from KK airport, and in the opposite of Imago Shopping Mall. The room is spacious, comfortable, clean and quite.
Breakfast is good, with many variance item of food & bread, this breakfast place rather crowded with tourist.
Staff & receptionist helpful & friendly.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmy_Tjondro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Timmy_Tjondro,

It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as the services provided by our dedicated team members. We have shared your comments with our teams, and they are all very pleased to receive such positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

stay here for 3 nights. the room was good with clean toilet. I like their breakfast buffet.
location wise was good too. about 10minutes to KK water front.
the pool area was clean too. recommended for family with small kids.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbak85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear sbak85,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu!

We are indeed delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us and appreciated the overall facilities at the hotel and most of all, the unparalleled level of service and hospitality provided by our hardworking team.

We look forward to your next stay and sincerely hope that Ming Garden Hotel & Residences will be your chosen destination again.

Kind regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Convenient location for those travelling with own car. good access to city centre and airport. Breakfast is rather crowded with tourists mostly from China the few times we stayed there. So most of the time, we choose to have breakfast outside hotel.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Freddie T,

It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews