We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Chilli Vanilla

Chilli Vanilla
Ranked #1 of 572 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mediterranean and Healthy foods, reasonable prices and ambient atmosphere.Home Made Cakes and gluten free díshes.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely evening at Chilli Vanilla with great food - the menu was varied, featuring Hungarian dishes as well as salads, burgers, pasta etc. I found it difficult to decide what to eat as everything coming out of the kitchen looked so good! In the end I went for the chicken roulade, which was delicious, although I was a little disappointed the chicken came with cold potato salad and not hot mash as I had requested (although in the end it tasted good and the place was so busy I couldn't be bothered to ask them to change it). The dishes my friends ordered - tortilla wrap and chicken schnitzel - were also delicious.

The restaurant is quite small so had a really good atmosphere, though I felt that staff were a little too stretched at times. Overall a great meal though, and highly recommended for a break when you have eaten too much satay and nasi goreng!

Helpful?
1 Thank EBernheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    175
    54
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here 2 nights out of 4 and could easily have gone back again and again. The food is great and reasonably priced. They have a specials board which changes often. The staff are really friendly and definitely offer service with a smile. If you are staying in KK even for 1 night make sure you pop by here, even if it is just for a smoothie and a dessert.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 293917Charles16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we've been to in KK”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I wish we had tried out Chilli Vanilla earlier! The service is so much friendlier than that I have experienced elsewhere. Unfortunately in KK as a whole customer service is really severely lacking! This was one of the few times we have been greeted with a welcoming smile!
We tried the Chilli Vanilla platter - light, tasty and the bread served alongside it was tasty. Not like the barely toasted, sugary bread elsewhere. My partner had the crumbed calamari - he said it was the best he had ever tasted, and he is fussy!
For our mains I had the Moroccan lamb stew with couscous - so delicious, tender and the mix of apricots and crunchy flaked almonds was perfect. My partner enjoyed his beef burger with truffle mash. It is really cheap here too, bonus!
Other restaurants we have visited have been good 'for KK food'. Chilli Vanilla is just plain fantastic, whether we had stumbled across it in our home town of Perth or elsewhere.
Great casual atmosphere, staff are really well trained & industrious and the food is so good we will be going back tomorrow. Make this one of your first stops, cause you will probably want to go back more than once!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyMaiready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
470 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Great food quality and very friendly service in KK”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Why did we first go to Chilli Vanilla? Because of previous reviews on tripadvisor. Why did we go back 3 times? Because of the great food they serve, and the feeling that owner and staff really want to run this place in the best possible way.
Dishes served were a level above all we received in the 3 weeks we were in Borneo, with real attention for taste combinations and dish presentation. You could call it a kind of fusion food with mainly local + mediterranean + Hungarian influences. Prices are moderate at 10-30 Ringit for the normal dishes and 20-35 Ringit for the Specials which are regularly changed.
It's a small restaurant (about 25 places), and it has a more cosy atmoshphere than most other restaurants in the neighbourhood.
Don't hesitate to go there, you'll enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“The best eatery in KK by far”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a lovely place. Sweet and friendly service from hostess 'Carameena' and the food is GREAT: Very fresh, comprehensive menu and decent portions. Probably the best spot for Western good in KK, and at a venue with a real travellers cafe vibe but smarter around the edges. Really recommend the salads, particularly the Aphrodite salad with smoked duck!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chilli Vanilla also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Chilli Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing