We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chilli Vanilla

Chilli Vanilla
Ranked #1 of 563 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mediterranean and Healthy foods, reasonable prices and ambient atmosphere.Home Made Cakes and gluten free díshes.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly service and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had the lemon grass chicken for a main, it was fantastic. Lots of yummy food on the menu to choose from and a nice relaxed atmosphere. The waitress was very friendly. Only down side is that my main took about 10 minutes longer to come out than my partner and the restaurant was half empty. Other than that I would highly recommend this place to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishmash010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    167
    54
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
“Good but don't go hungry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Food was very good and is very nice to see gluten free options on the menu. Staff are friendly and helpful but not in any rush! Only issue is the portion size. I ordered the Hungarian goulash although tasty it was tiny and I had to pop to the shop next door when I was finished as I was still starving.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ireoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Chilli Vanilla is a winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have had two meals at this resturant so far and loved the food, atmosphere and service. The Hungarian Goulash is superb and the homemade pate is so good we have ordered some to take back home. I don't think it matters that you are eating Mediterranean food in Asia as long as the food is good and this food is excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigFairless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hungarian food in Malaysia? YES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Chicken Roulade is awesome!!! I have dreams about it. Its really worth the price. The lamb stew is also delicious but the portion is a little small.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank emilicious56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton WA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Delightful Mediterranean Cafe...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

4 Nights in KK...3 very enjoyable meals here. In the main street of KK City, but, this has a small street presence, and can be easy to miss.....Please perservere! Real Greek cafe feel here, lively atmosphere, attentive friendly staff & owner. Special thanks Chia!!!. Each night, as a table emptied, someone was ready to take the spot. It wasn't hassled, or pretentious; just great well cooked food in a friendly environment. Travellers were aplenty here...but, also a nice smattering of the locals.
Prior T/A reports confirm the merits of the food here...we can recommend the Duck pasta, Scallop pasta, Lamb Burger was a monster feed..and Granny's chicken soup was all comfort.
Great variety of drinks, and try the cakes...these Guys are renowned for their chocolate brownies, but, the Red Velvet & White Choc Cranberry Mud were really good.
Easy comfortable, not 5 start dining...and nor does it pretend to be...but, you won't leave here disappointed. First stop on next trip to KK!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chilli Vanilla also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Chilli Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing