We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to stay !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zara's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Place to stay !!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Good location with plenty of free parking space, the room is big n nice. WIFI available at lobby and room. Staffs are helpful and polite. We'll definitely stay there again. Walking distance to restaurants serving local food and a convenient store that opens 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WongPv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaraBH, Manager at Zara's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear WongPv

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to send us a review, we will share your review with our entire team during our morning briefing. This will definitely give them a positive encouragement to strive for excellence services to all our guests.
We have recently upgraded our wifi connections on all the floors and we are glad that you have enjoyed the excellent wifi coverage in your room.

We take pride in being the best value hotel in Kota Kinabalu by providing 4 star services at a reasonable rate.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future.


Patricia Michael
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    24
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
21
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tawau, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

What can I say? I love this hotel for many reasons. Convenient location with free parkings, among others. The staffs were all very thoughtful & helpful. They even 'reserved' a parking lot for us, a perk (maybe) for being regular customer:-)...it was during the Harvest Festival (30-31 May), KK was busy, Zara's was fully booked. But the staffs still managed to extend their services at best, always with a smile! The family room was huge, spacious enough for 3 active little kids-running & jumping around! My sister & her kids love the room & hotel..with eateries, convenient store, bank, within walking distance, what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were meant to stay here for several days but we left early due to a power blackout. The hotel, despite claiming it was quite new, was not built vey well and the bathroom sink leaked everywhere and the whole place looked rather shabby. During the power blackout we tried the emergency stairs only to find the door was locked at the bottom. Very unsafe! The breakfast was cold and greasy unfortunately. We decided to find another hotel and luckily they gave us a refund.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrijiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaraBH, Manager at Zara's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are somewhat surprised to see the unflattering review from this particular person after our kind gesture of giving a full refund for charitable purposes.

Regarding her comment about the hotel being unsafe, it is completely erroneous as Belinda guided the group to the incorrect door despite the clearly mark signs in the hotel and was explained to her by the hotel staff thereafter. The power outage was citywide and quite common for Kota Kinabalu. In this regard, the hotel is fully equipped with a backup generator set which powers the entire hotel. During this time the generator was in the midst of powering up while Belinda was proceeding to an incorrect door. Therefore, there is very little reason for the group to look for another hotel.

As it relates to breakfast, we provided a scheduled hot buffet breakfast as requested specific to this group, which they were late coming down to. As the hotel was full at the time, the staff reiterated to Belinda that the breakfast would be served at the agreed specified time in an area reserved for their group.

Perhaps Belinda was a bit embarrassed as she initially tried to short pay us for the stay and was hoping that we would have overlooked it. Again, despite this, we provided a full refund even though the hotel extended every available resource to ensure this group had a pleasant stay, at an inexpensive price in consideration they are traveling on a budget. We initially took on this group (Australian Boys Choir) as a part of our charitable work.

Yours truly,
Patricia Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay with many walking distance restaurants serving local delicacies, seafood and a convenient store that opens 24 hours. You don't have to worry about food. The hotel is serving basic but healthy breakfast and value for money. All staffs are friendly and helpful. We were impressed by the service we received throughout our stay. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My family and I stayed at zara hotel for 1 night on 13 May 2013. We found the room was clean,comfortable.the room was quite large eventhough you add the extra mattress. Our room facing the view of water village and quite. It's suitable for relax after visit many places in kk city. Location near city and tg aru beach,many restaurant nearby and have lots of parking space. Overall we really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alya1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandakan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Zara's Boutique Hotel.My friend recommended the hotel and we were very pleased and would stay there again. It was close to the restaurant and airport.Rooms were clean and tidy.Very nice and helpful staff. It's good value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee_Schv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed for 1 night which I glad that my friends and I only stayed for 1 night as the bathroom is awful and view from room was not nice.
We highly anticipated the stay but was disappointed.
Please do not expect view of Sutera Harbour, any yatch or even sea, which is far away.
Overall, the room was OK with air-cond and TV, but the bathroom was a real 'nightmare' for us or rather was a bad experience for us. So far, the worst bathroom that we ever encounter from all the hotels that we stayed before.
Even though the toilet was big enough but the setting was bad not to mention low water pressure. Unpleasant bath and after bath as the floor was all wet and slightly flooded with the bath water due to the drain hole setting and there is no proper partition/blocking between the bath cubicle and the whole toilet to prevent the bath water from flowing in the whole toilet. Even the shower curtain was useless.
Please remember to put the floor/feet towel outside the toilet instead of inside the toilet as the towel tend to get soaked. Request for replacement floor towel and drying of the toilet floor was unattended and we have to request the second time, however, we cancel the request to dry the toilet floor as it was late night when we are back to the hotel later that night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraT329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel No 5
Hotel No 5
#21 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#33 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#46 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#71 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zara's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zara's Boutique Hotel

Property: Zara's Boutique Hotel
Address: Harbour City Jalan Kinabalu | Jalan Pantai Baru, Sembulan,, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zara's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Zara's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing