We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Market”

Night Market, Kota Kinabalu
Attraction details
Zhanjiang, China
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Market”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have always been a big fan of local markets and this night market is great. There are so many things on offer, and if you are a foodie like me, you will be in heaven. I spent a couple of hours just walking around tasting many of the local delicacies on offer. Some were cheap, some were not, but all were worth it :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank robinchina2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    159
    94
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and cheap, fresh fish”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I really enjoyed this market. I ate dinner here many times. There is a huge selection of fish and other seafood and so you pick one out and then have a seat and its prepared for you right then and there. I had a chicken kabob for RM1 (30 cents US) per kabob. I had it with sticky rice and a corn cob. The place is great fun to walk around and watch all the locals working to sell their product. There are also loads of vegetables for sale. Good people watching and I didn't see loads of tourists there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JayS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A must eat”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

You'll come and be overwhelmed by the massive display of seafood, fried foods, and skewers. Be advised that not all the options are inexpensive. Some of the prices for the jumbo prawns were pretty steep. Make sure you try all the small non seafood goodies. There are delicious pancakes, potato latka type things, and much much more. Peoples sell fresh smoothies that are just the cherry on top.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“pasar malam!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

it is always nice to visit local market. we have enjoyed walking along the stalls to stalls, along the river. fulll of fruits, veggies and fish...it was really fun to see them. there are many eateries & eat-in area, but we planned to have dinner at another place, unable to taste them. it was my first time to see 'umi budo' (sea grapes) here. in japan, it is eaten as sashimi, how locals eat it??
it is always fun to visit a market.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The BBQ Squid is not to be Missed!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Check this place out for dinner! By far the star of the market was the BBQ squid. Ask for hot sauce with it and they will give you a delicious homemade version. I got back from KK more than a month ago and I am still salivating over the squid! Also try the waffles there. Too die for!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Night Market, Kota Kinabalu also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Night Market, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing