We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood everywhere!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Night Market, Kota Kinabalu

Night Market, Kota Kinabalu
Attraction details
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Seafood everywhere!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

These night markets are a hive of activity. I enjoyed walking through the wet area where all the locals are selling their catch of the day. There's all sorts & the prices are great. We bought 2 lots of green prawns on separate occasions for approx $8AUD per kilo & had a cook up in our apartment, they were delicious. There's also fruit & veg to buy as well as eggs and all sorts of sweets & savouries. We also ate there one evening & had them cook some very large prawns for us, they were ok we actually had better in KL. There's also some other stalls attached to the same area where you can buy the usual souvenirs but all the stall holders pretty much had all the same. It's well worth a visit here for some food especially the cobs of corn - yummo!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    150
    87
    25
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
354 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“KK night market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Typical local market. But with plenty of variety local food which are very cheap. We just bought fruits and some novelties since it was all crowded during our visit and finding a seat was quite difficult.

But still we enjoy cheap fruits.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic food at a very cheap price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

An array of foods to choose from. I would suggest take some time to explore before deciding on what you want to eat. food ranges from 1 RM to 50 RM (approximately). After a first couple of nights exploring and trying different delicacies, we found a fixed place to eat. A Filipino lady offering an assortment of their local cuisine (there are quite a few of such vendors), ranging from beef, chicken, fish, etc. made in different styles. our favorite was the sting ray with a few other dishes. Generally, rice with 3 items would cost you about 5.5 RM, you can choose more or less of course and wash it down with a drink worth 1 RM or fresh juice ranging from 5 RM to 15 RM.

The place is quite easy to find, right opposite to the Le Meridian hotel. One suggestion would be to go with friends as it can get quite crowded and you might find yourself alone in a big crowd and hard to find a seat during dinner time, with no one to talk to. Try to leave the by 11 pm as some people say it might get a little risky so stay late around that area. Just walk down the street and you'll find quite a few bars and clubs, if you want to stick around and have a nice time, and even get a massage while looking out at the sea and enjoying the breeze.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faruq_Isu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food of Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

When I arrived at the night market, I just Feld that I want to grab all the food to ate. Too many stalls and delicious food. The price is reasonable, fresh vegetables, fresh seafood. I enjoyed my night dinner with family.
I just a little not comfortable with the kids beggar. Noted with don't give them money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulyna_jee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Many people confuses the staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Food was ok. Freshly cooked is always a good thing. Places can get crowded so prepare to wait.

Go for noodles, chicken wings, rice, and fish.

The soup and veggies are ok but nothing grand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Night Market, Kota Kinabalu also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Night Market, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing