We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful small island with crystal clear water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapi Island

Sapi Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.50*
and up
Private Tour: Gaya Island Hike and Zipline Adventure from Kota Kinabalu
Attraction details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful small island with crystal clear water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Actually the island is very beautiful, which has a white sand beach and crystal clear sea water. Colorful fish swim wandering on the beach. just do not come here during the holiday season, because you can bet the beach will be filled with visitors. In general, the island is worth it to visited ....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Verdyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    613
    439
    134
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for single visit..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The water is still clear when the day is still early and there are not that many tourists in the water yet. You could see everything very clearly! The more tourists arrive, the blurry the water. As result, you need to swim farther away from the shores to 'enjoy' the underwater view.

Another point why you should get there early, is to get yourselves a nice spot. The beach is not that big and would be overwhelmed by (mainland) tourists in short time. Not really a place to sunbath and relax though..

As many reviewers already confirmed, the corals are dead. At least you could see many kinds of fishes in the water. Good for a single visit..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lazyism T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great funny monitor lizards eating near barb q. Very busy though but well worth the trip disliked nothing mayb busy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank herthaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Overcrowded”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We paid 60 rm for the two of us to get a boat there. Chose not to do it as a package tour and glad we did! On arrival, I would say there were far too man people on the two small beaches and we were advised that our boat would pick us up at four and as we arrived at 11am we quickly felt that 5 hours would be far too long.

The central area just off the beach was swarming with people eating bad quality buffet lunches! Glad we weren't eating what thy were.

We felt our space was invaded a little and the small shop did not really provide adequate food for the day.

My husband took a walk around to the other side of the island and was very sad to come across a massive rubbish tip. All the wildlife was around this side... Wading through all the rubbish! A sad sad sight.

I would suggest that this national park island is far from protected and hat the authorities need to consider ow many people can go to this island each day.

At he end of the day there was a stampede of people trying to leave the island at the same time. Nth is was a trip not to be repeated!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank r0amingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dead corals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Disappointing.... No more corals near the shore. I was here last year and I didn't have to swim far to see live corals. Now, you have to swim all the way to the edge (swimming area is bounded by buoys). Corals are bleached and are dying. Really sad to see the place deteriorate in a year. I really hope the government would do something to save the place!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sher1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sapi Island also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Sapi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing