We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but Need Better Care” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Decent but Need Better Care”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed for one night in April. Overall, a fairly safe choice with optimization potential.

Room was nice, but one could clearly see that the cleaning and maintenance staff could be more attentive. On the grille of the bathroom door, there was still construction dust, and the bathtub had removable stains. The air con thermostat did not work properly, so the room got very cold, and we had to control temperature in the good old binary way (on/off).

Staff were very friendly. Pricing is OK but not cheap, even hotels in Johor are more competitively priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gumshoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    254
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
184
200
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very nice hotel, big room, clean and very good position. Really recommend~

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watermelon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Watermelon76, Thank you for the review and we're pleased that you have had a pleasant stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

For the price of the hotel the room was spacious, clean and included Wifi. The bed was comfortable. The shower was large and the towels were soft. The staff were friendly and helpful. Barring the view (of which there isn't one) I would say this is better and cheaper than chains like Marriot or Sheraton.

The hotel is near the Jesselton Hotel - and that area is really lovely to walk around. We made the mistake of switching hotels to one on the other end of KK - and I wish we had just stayed at Hotel Sixty3, the area was nicer and had fewer malls everywhere.

There isn't a tub, but with all the sand in KK you don't really need one. They also don't serve breakfast, but there are many eateries and bakeries very close by we didn't have any problems finding food/coffe.

My only problem is that they hotel plays music in the hallways loudly and when we were falling asleep we could hear it in our room. Granted we fell asleep very early each night (being out in the sun all day) and I didn't notice the music in the middle of the night if I woke up. It would be very nice if the hotel turned the music down in the hallways, but I never asked if this were possible while we were there because it didn't bother us that much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear BELondon, Thank you very much for the review and we are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay as well as what our locality has to offer! We apologize for the slight noise disturbance from the hallway music. We will improve this and ensure that volume is controlled better at night. We hope you will come back to Sixty3 and explore more of Kota Kinabalu in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Very nice hotel to stay in - clean, modern, free internet. The hotel reception staff are very helpful and pleasant and the location cannot be faulted. Handy having the tourist centre directly across the street. A bakery is next door, plenty of restaurants and a supermarket a short walk up Jalan Gaya. Recommended for a short or longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Mdm, Thank you very much for the review and for staying at Sixty3 during your trip. We're very pleased that you've had a pleasant stay. We hope you've had a memorable time in Kota Kinabalu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed in the family delux room for one night, and wished could have stayed longer! the internet rate for this room was only 190 RM, with that price, I expected to have minimum hotel amenities only. As I walked in the lobby, I was delighted to see the nice and comforting decoration. It did not feel compact as the other hotels with this price do in KK. The lift was fast and I really like the interior design of the different floors. Opened the door to the room and was totally surprized to see a spacious neat room! big wardrobe, lots of drawers to keep your stuff in. LCD TV with internet on it, you just need to borrow the wireless keyboard from reception for no extra charge. And the bathroom was great too! The rain shower was just what I needed after a long day out! Aircon great!

Location is very central as well, with the Sabah Tourism office right opposite and EuroBakery right next door which has fresh bread and breakfast!

Absolutley loved the stay, great value for money! Would not hesitate to stay here next time!
Staff at the reception are not very friendly, but professional enough! I'm sure this would eventually improve if the hotel management wants this hotel to get even higher on the Tripadvisor rankings!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveloholic-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Newly renovated hotel with reasonable price
online promotion only RM$170 for twin bed. Spacious room.
Near city center. Restaurants nearby.
Wifi sometimes weak but overall is ok
It's a really good stay in KK city.
Highly recommend and good value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Pros -
Family deluxe room is big
A very new hotel
Staff is helpful
Bath room is big

Cons -
Mattress is too soft
Pillow is too soft
No hot water for shower in the morning
No facility in the hotel but with this room quality is already value for money


P.S.
If you are planning to play activities outside & no need to use hotel facilities, it is a good choice to save money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing