We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels”
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kota Kinabalu
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stay in this hotel twice in a month after high recommendation from a Japanese friend who stayed here before...and since then, I start falling in love to this hotel. Without any notice, my room was upgraded to an executive room on my first stay. Hotel staffs are polite, friendly and extremely efficient. The room is clean, big and comfortable. I like the central atrium the most, which feel like the 5 stars hotel before entering to the room. On my second stay, I requested a room, which window facing to the back of the building, because the street noise from the main road at night could be disturbing. However, all rooms facing to the back were all occupied and so I've got no choice but just have to stay in a room facing right in front of the Sabah Tourism Board building...and surprised me that I couldn't hear any single noise from outside. I have visited to KK twice this month, on top of that I'd tried to make online reservation to stay in this hotel again, unfortunately both tries were fully booked. Guess I have to make my booking as early as possible for May's stay :-) The hotel's pillow is feather pillow, if I'm not mistaken. Although feather pillow can be soft, comfortable and luxurious..but my head sink in to the pillow and thus provide less support to my neck and shoulder. Further more there is uneasy smell of the feather from pillow. Well, different people has a different taste of pillow. So, not a big deal. The bed is comfortable anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiKi_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Sabrina A, Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Kiki_KK,
Thank you for the time and effort taken in writing us a lovely review. It is a great encouragement for us to continue working hard in keeping our standards. Our goose feather pillows are very soft, cuddly, and snug to sleep on ; glad you liked that too ! Thank you again and we look forward to extend our hospitality to you again in your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    273
    46
    11
    4
See reviews for
204
217
42
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Hotel location is excellent with extremely easy access to food outlets, banks and shopping malls. Situated at the end of the famous Jalan Gaya (Gaya Road), it is just a stone-throw away to where the Sunday Market is.

Room is clean and well maintained, generously sized with big modern bathroom. Ironing board, a carrier bag plus two umbrellas were provided. We found the umbrellas very handy as two of the three days we stayed there were raining. Staffs are polite and friendly. Wifi is free, but access can be difficult depending on the occupancy. There are 2 computers for free usage/surfing at the lobby.

The front of the hotel is normally blocked by cars parked in the parking lots as it is situated on a busy road. This caused the traffic to be held up when guests are dropped off or boarding a car at the entrance. Wall insulation is not very good as noise can be heard along the corridor.

Overall, a good clean and affordable hotel at a very convenient location which I would recommend to all visiting Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Book through internet. It's cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Sabrina A, Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sim_W,

We thank you for reviewing Sixty3 and your kind recommendations. We hope to make our pick-up and drop off for guests more convenient when our parking lot is approved by the authority soon. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a great stay with a mix of Malaysian business travelers and upscale regional and international travelers. (Having said upscale, the room rate was only $63 a night online.)

Rooms are big, clean, location is great, staff was friendly. I stayed at another place in KK my first time through the city (LeHotel) for about $20 less a night and 63 was many world's better.

The shortfall, which the management knows about and is trying to correct, is that they hype the hotel as a place with free wi-fi in all of the rooms. They have a bunch of router/hubs, but the speed was ridiculous to non-existent. I had booked with the hope to catch up on some connections back home and do some web research, so it was a bit of disappointment. Expect spotty coverage, get up in the middle of the night when everyone is sleeping, or lobby surf with the better coverage on the ground floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explore_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Sabrina A, Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear explore_2011,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us recently. We truly regret and apologise for the inconvenience of spotty connections during your stay. We are continuously working to improve our wifi services. Nevertheless, we're glad that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed our central location. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hotel sixty3 is just renovated so it is really clean.
The rooms are very nice, we did get an upgrade to the exeutive suite and it was really great especially the bathtub.
It is perfect to stay in this hotel before going to Mt KK or going to the jungle.
ps try to get rooms in lower floors as there is a big ac on the top floor that make some noise and could be disturbing at night

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxlecaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Wow! Money for value is great! Very cheap for the quality, which is quite good. There are large bathrooms, comfy beds, chairs, TV, and a fridge. It is also in a good location. I believe there is a sunday market on the street right outside the hotel. There are several nice restaurants nearby and there is a shopping centre about a 15-20 min. walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsquared4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at 2 family rooms of Hotel Sixty3 from April 14 to 17, 2011. As early as August of 2011 I was already communicating with Lisa and Shiella regarding our reservation. They were very nice and all my emails were answered very promptly.
The family rooms are big and very comfortable. One had a view of Sabah Tourism board and the other one of a parking lot (no problem about that).
The hotel is situated near all of the nice places you would want to go to. Restaurants, malls, Sunday Market and the Jesselton Ferry are all walking distances.
People at the Front Desk were very nice, warm and accommodating.
This hotel is really worth recommending. We had a very nice stay and we'll definitely stay here again if we go back to kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonypet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel even though just for a night. Strategically located with new, modern, clean and quiet room, comfortable bed, advance entertainment TV... Helpful customer service and great airport transfer service. Overall happy and satisfied with the room and services provided. We will definitely stay here again during our future KK trip! Highly recommended to all..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing