We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms in the centre of town”
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Huge rooms in the centre of town”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Found myself here after last minute change of plans. Was recommended by locals and they weren't wrong. Huge room at a very affordable rate. All the usual in room services, spotless, friendly staff and conveniently located in Gaya Street.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Easterbeilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    265
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
194
210
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Brilliant place. Great location. Lovely service and fab rooms. The beds are huge and the showers excellent. A good place to stay in kota Kinabalu

I was impressed with the high standard of cleanliness and quality of room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyswpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Sallyswpea, Thank you for reviewing us and we're happy to learn that you have had a good stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in our recent trip. I would say the stay is definitely worth the money. We stayed in a Family deluxe with 2 big beds. Room is spacious. Love their rainforest shower facility! The only shortfall would be the poor soundproof. We can hear vividly the conversation of the next door's guest when they speak loudly and laugh. Another thing to improve would be their pillows- too soft that it doesnt provide support.

Nevertheless, overall experience was good!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PricessY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed in HotelSixty3 for 3 nights (in 2 parts). So, we experienced two different types of rooms (Standard King). They are both different apparently, the one closer to the lifts is bigger and spacious, and it seems that rooms further from the lifts is smaller. There is a rain shower which I quite liked. Some notable mentions - the hotel provides 2 x bottled water, Tenom coffee (very fragrant) and decent channels on TV. One quirk they had initially is charging RM2 for a sewing kit. This is normally free - so had to explain that to them that it's strange to charge this fee.

The location is good - it is very close to Suria Sabah (big mall) and on Gaya Street (seems to be a popular tourist street). Right across the hotel is a decent coffeeshop and next door is a bakery/kopitiam and 24-hour mart.

If you walk along Gaya Street, you can eat some of the local food, most notably Bak Kut Teh at night. There are other cuisines like Laksa, Wan Tan Mee, Claypot Rice but you have to spot it.

Laundry is available very cheap down Gaya Street. This is a bit of walk but more worth it than hotel laundry.

Taxi from airport is RM30 one-way, similarly going to airport is also RM30.

Overall - not bad, maybe try to get a bigger room and book so you can get a decent rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1_foodiedoodie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The location is very good. Near to Jetty, eating places and Sunday morning market.
Room is spacious as I booked for the family deluxe. 2 huge beds. Clean and good service.
Dislike the wifi connection and TV had poor reception due to their satelite issue :(

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeBe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Went with my partner for an 8 day holiday (originally from Melbourne, Aus) in KK.

THE HOTEL
-Very clean
-Spacious rooms
-Amazing "waterfall" shower
-Short walk from Suria Sabah (large shopping centre) and also many restaurants near by (we ate at many of the cafes across the road, and walked around the place - no more than 5 mins - to nearby restaurants that have been rated highly on Trip Advisor eg Fatty Kee, Moon Bell restaurant, El Centro)
-Great price for what you get
-15 min (or less) drive from the airport
-15 min drive from 1Borneo (larger shopping centre)
-Helpful staff
-5 min walk to nearby tourist centres as tours from the hotel are more expensive


CONS
-No room service, if you're into that sort of thing, but there are plenty of cheap places across the road and elsewhere surrounding the hotel itself
-No gym or swimming pool (but we were more interested in the islands)
-There is a lounge area where people can sit outside the hotel rooms themselves. Can get a bit noisy when some guests decide to have a drink and congregate out there, but otherwise most noise was kept to a bare minimum after 10-11pm

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redruby_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
182 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed three nonconsecutive nights in this hotel and used it as our base between other activities (i.e. climbing the Mt. Kinabalu). We stayed in three different rooms. All were spacious, had clean beds, clean bathrooms and were adaqute for the amount of money they charge (~210 MYR). The first time we stayed in room 203. This room was a bit smelly and we could only cope with the air condition on. A couple of days later we stayed in room 311, almost the exact layout, the smell was a bit better. The last night we stayed in room 202 - this room was even a bit bigger than the other two and smelled absolutly wonderful. So whatever the management/housekeeping staff did to that room, please do it with the other two (311, 203) as well. 
Would we go back: yes under the same conditions: using it as a starting base for tours, not for holidaying in Kota Kinabalu. There you would have better options. 

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SFH75x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing