We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Budget Hotel I Ever Stayed”
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Total of us were 12 peoples, hence we booked 3 Family Suite Rooms for 2 nights, with the promotional rate of only RM265 per night per room. Although no breakfast is provided, but overall I'm very satisfied with the hotel. The hotel is new, clean and modern. The rooms are big, with super good services provided. It was raining season while we stayed in Sabah, but two umbrellas and iron are provided in every room, it was a surprise for us and helped a lot in our journey. The size of Family Suite are big and comfortable. The location of the hotel is super nice, just at the Gaya Street, with a lot of restaurants surrounded. A bakery and a 24 hours convenience store is just located beside the hotel. Definitely will choose the same hotel again if back to KK in future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tee_Malacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Booked and paid online which took me less than 5 minutes to get everything done. Checking in was so swift, I found myself in the room within minutes of stepping out from the cab. Even got a free upgrade from the superior king room to the family deluxe room which was pretty huge for a lone traveller like myself. The room itself was pretty clean except for the mini fridge (spotted some stains) and the decor is pretty cool. Didn't expect much from a shop-lot hotel but they didn't disappoint.

Location is definitely an advantage, everything is within walking distance. Banks, cafes, malls, convenience stores, restaurants and you name it. Tourists would find it helpful that the hotel is just located across the street from Sabah Tourism Board.

Was also very satisfied with the customer service, they were very helpful with arranging my morning calls, room service (which technically isn't available) and my ride to the airport upon checking out. Well, I like this place enough that I've already booked a room for my next stay in January 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIZUMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days at the end of October. It was okay but nothing special for what I paid, particularly given that there's no breakfast. For that price and the size of the hotel I would expect more from staff than what I got. The most memorable which is ridiculous was asking about my 6:20 am flight to Lahad Datu on Malaysian Airways. At this point I had already taken two internal flights. One with MA and one with Air Asia. I was told by 4 people at the hotel that I in no uncertain terms, even with checking in online needed to be there 2 hours in advance. I respect opinions of those who apparently know better than I do. Security screening doesn't even open until around 5:15 am. That reception doesn't know something like that is ridiculous given that this definitely geared more as more of a business hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank AmandaMF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Booked online and stayed here for 4 nights in total, split over a week. Hotel was very clean, modern, and very well located - convenience store, bank, restaurants and new large shopping centre all within 5 minutes walking distance. Also well located for the Sunday markets held on the same street a mere block away. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very spacious and beds were comfortable. Bathroom lovely with the best shower I've had in a long time. Each floor was immaculately presented with comfortable lounges and beautiful black and white pictures of the historical side of KK. Would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SusanT125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Nov. 2013. This family room is big, clean and comfortable but the WIFI is poor signal. Lost of famous restaurants nearby the hotel and not far walking distance to the pier. Although the price of this hotel is not cheap but it always full house, so must book earlier. It is suitable for a family to choose this hotel because the room and bed is spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The location of this hotel is very convenient. Alot of restaurants, supermarket, shopping mall near arround this hotel. Rooms is big and clean and the Staff are very friendly. Just walk about 10 minutes to the Pier were can get the boat to the islands. Is there a convenient store next of this hotel.

Room Tip: Very closed to the Pier, just walk arround 8 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Macaufriend2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is very comfortable. The room is big and clean. The staff are very helpful and polite. The hotel is in the heart of the city, there are famous shops and restaurants nearby, you can enjoy famous food as you like. I would like to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank To Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 Km, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £42 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing