We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value in Koto Kinabalu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Koto Kinabalu”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We only stayed one night but we were were most impressed with the value for money, in the centre of town, and the warm reception and hospitality we received. Even though there is no food available, it didn't matter as one can just step out of the hotel and there are numerous places to eat at.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctbm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    258
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
191
204
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location of the hotel is superb, near to the Sunday market and local eateries. The room we stayed has 2 Queen size bed and it fits four of us. Four mineral waters are provided daily. This hotel will not suit people who wants to use the gym/swimming pool as the hotel has no facilities. There is a bakery next to the hotel and a convenience store next to the bakery. The hotel is also a 10 mins walk to Jesselton jetty where you can take boat to visit islands such as Sapi island. Reception staff is efficient and friendly. We will definitely stay here again if we happen to visit KK in the future.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryhotelfansclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The room size is big but the air-conditioner has some problem as it is auto to drop to 20 degree and I increased to 25 degree, it also drop to 20 degree later. So that, I got fever next day and cancelled all my itinerary and need to see doctor in there. It make me to feel disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank smallyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The first time I stayed impressed me. But the second time of my visit disappoints me. I booked 3 rooms and we couldnt check in at the same time. Eventhough it is December, I didnt see all rooms were crowded. Also, the rooms' facilty were a bit lousy. The shower head keeps dropping, there were lots of small insects flying around the room (as if food/garbage were in the room for days). Worst of all, there were no TV channels for the 3 nights stay. The reason given were - programming work in progress. But, what do you expect the kids to do in the room?????

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank F T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Situated right amongst the action in Downtown Kota Kinabalu. easy to walk everywhere, especially down to the pier at night time and enjoy the wonderful seafood market that evolves there every night. Sunday market is right next door.
Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel boasts of being "dedicated to the trendy tech savvy traveller" with "rooms equipped with state of the art Select TV digital feature that will revolutionise the way you work". Yes, they do have this complicated smart TV.. 2 of them in fact in my suite. HOWEVER, BOTH ARE NOT ABLE TO FUNCTION! According to the hotel staff, this was due to a system fault which affect the signal. I checked in on a Friday afternoon. By Friday night, I can no longer watch the TV programme. On Sat, I was informed by the staff that the maintenance people are working on it. On Sunday, there was a prompt on the screen that says "the portfolio of this room has not been updated." (Yah! It was THAT state of the art!). When informed, again they said that they will inform maintenance. I guess it will only work when I check out tomorrow.. ya.. I am still staying in this hotel (room 209) and cant wait to check out.

The reception counter staff ( day shift) are nonchalant with zero initiative. For example, when I checked in, I was carrying my sleeping toddler and I had my other 2 toddlers in tow. My husband was carrying a huge bag and a bagpack. When asked if there is anyone who could help to bring our bags up, the lady staff was hesitant and then told us to leave our bags at the counter and that someone will bring them up LATER. Goodness know when that will be ..Also she told us that we have a sofa bed in our suite but did not offer to send anyone to do up the sofa bed. (There are 2 adults and 3 toddlers.) It was only the night reception staff who asked us if the sofa bed had been done up. Thank you to the night staff ( a guy)!

The plus points are..This hotel is near jesselton point and gaya sunday market. The housekeeping staff ladies are very friendly. The suite is spacious and clean. Kudos to housekeeping staff!

The hotel should just replace their state of the art tv and just have a conventional lcd tv. It defeats the purpose to have smart tv yet nobody knows how to maintain it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZahaRazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Everything is accessible from this hotel, from Suria Sabah to Jesselton Point, where the island hopping activities will commence. The room is spacious with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and modern facilities. Right across the street is a Chinese restaurant and bakery with delicious and affordable food with lots of choices, and an Old Town Cafe which serves my favorite white coffee. This was one of the best value hotels I've stayed in, and I could not be more satisfied. BTW this was a late review as I travelled last August 2012.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauriceEspina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing