We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasant stay with pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a pleasant stay with pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

this hotel really lives up to service's name.
for those who appreciates good service, this hotel will be the answer.

true to its words, the hotel "welcomes you" (the hotel's motto) definitely.
we came here last 15th March'14; group of 3 adults and 3 kids (below 12years).
booked a family deluxe and wasn't disappointed. :)

Positives:
1. Service: what can i say? im a sucker for service and this hotel made my stay a truly unforgettable one. staff are efficient, friendly, all smiles, helpful.
2. check -in: was a breeze, total check-in & waiting time: 7 mins.
3. room: huge room; it was really big! 2 queens, 2 armchairs & side table, and super long dressing table. tv was about 32 inch; flat screen.
4. location: this place is definitely near to alot of places, eateries BUT for HALAL eateries, there's only a few of them. and 1 funny thing that I've noticed, everywhere in KK, those HALAL eateries (besides those who are really HALAL certified by MUIS/Jakim) they claimed are the eateries that serves no pork. one could only wonder how true is that? cos even their bak kut teh stalls have female servers wearing tudung. hmmm.... LOL

Cons:
1. No pool; it's a sad thing. cos i believe if there's a swimming pool to this place, im sure, it will be much better and much sought after.
2. bathroom:
i was expecting it to be far better but sadly, nop it isnt. it was actually quite dirty if u look into the finer details. the top shower head was dirty or rusty, that we didn't dare to use the top shower head. the corners of the bathroom wasn't washed properly, and even the tiles on the wall wasn't washed properly either.

But on the whole, all i can is that, i truly enjoyed the stay despite the minor flaws.
Thank you, Hotel Sixty3. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    258
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
191
204
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is very clean and nice deco. Rooms are very spacious and bed is comfortable. Toilets are clean, there is free wifi. Best of all, the location is very good and there is a lot of shops/restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Total satisfaction here. Stayed at the executive suite, and rarely I got so much for less than £70. The room is huge, with a huge bed, a separate seating area, a huge tv, a huge bathroom, a huge bathtub, ... you got the point.

The hotel is very modern, lean, clean, without an ounce of pretentiousness. What it is is very comfortable. It does not have a restaurant, but the suite has a separate area with microwave, dishes, and cutlery. And next door there is a very nice bakery which serves breakfast.

Smiles all around, very friendly staff. Definitely a repeat, should I find myself back in Kota.

Room Tip: Go for the executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel, on two different occasions. On our first stay, we were upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room when we requested a high floor, at no extra cost, and the room was amazing and huge. On our second visit one week later, we stayed in a standard room but it too was very spacious and nice, and had the same very large, beautiful bathroom with a killer rain shower head. The hotel is only two years old and tastefully decorated. Great value for your money when compared with a similarly elegant hotel - The Esselton - just down the street that was far more pricey.

The hotel location is also excellent, centrally located and near everything you might need or want to see. There is no restaurant on the premises, but there are a selection of bakery stores, grocery stores, and restaurants very nearby, and there is both a kettle and a fridge in the room.

At all times the service was exemplary. We would definitely staff here again.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Sabrina A, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Bev Z,

We are delighted to learn that you have had wonderful experience in KK and
satisfactory stay with us!

Thank you for rating us 5-star, we truly value the time and effort in reviewing us and will certainly share the compliments with the rest of the team.

We hope to extend our hospitality to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Unless you demand for resort facilities, this hotel should satisfy you with : (1) Ideal location right at the city centre (2) If you are interested in the Sunday market, it is just minutes away (3) Lots of good food near the hotel (4) The hotel is new and well decorated with many vintage black and white photos of North Borneo. A real photo gallery by itself. For sure you would learn a lot as you walk through the lobby, lift, hotel corridor and finally the guest rooms. (5) Big room with modern design and user-friendly (6) Friendly and well trained staff (7) Great value for money.

I will sure come back to this hotel again on my next trip to KK and I recommend highly to anyone who has not been to this hotel. collectborneo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEEDBACKS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Sabrina A, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear FEEDBACKS2014,

Thank you for rating us as Excellent. We truly appreciate the time and effort
made to review us!

Your comments on the availability of good food and the proximity of the famous
Gaya Street Sunday market highlights the convenience of our location, close to all that one
needs for a stress-free holiday.

We're glad that you appreciate our facilities, among others; our black & white photo gallery adorning the wall and rooms . Many guests enjoy them as it had given guests a look into Sabah/Borneo's rich history and culture.

We certainly hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The title is self-explanatory.

Although this hotel has minimal and basic facilities, I have already known that before before I booked because it is not a resort. It is not only clean but is has a strong rain shower that gives you a quick and refreshing bath and that was what I was looking for.

Highly recommended for visitors who is particular about immaculate cleanliness, likes spending time in town dining and shopping, or out on short trips.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very satisfied.
Room was spacious & clean.
Check-in & check-out were a brisk.
Friendly staff.
Perfect location (Jalan Gaya/Gaya Street area) & close to malls, banks, restaurants/eateries & access to public transportation (taxis & city buses).
Basically nothing major to complain about.
Definitely a value for money choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_SimplyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing