We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In general a very nice hotel - but.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Hannover, Deutschland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In general a very nice hotel - but.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

In general it could have been a pleasant stay.. but there were some things that spoilt the fun.

the good things first:

- Location leaves nothing to complain about - you are in the middle of the city center / don't expect a nice view from the room though
- lobby and hallway and also rooms are designed in a nice, contemporary style

what i didn't like:

- one of the rooms was not ready in time - we were promised to be contacted once the room is ready, but apparently we were forgotten

- if you paint the walls or the columns, put a note on it. I did not plan to swear my loyalty to Saruman, so i really didn't need the white hand

- Wifi. there seems to be only one router per floor, in the middle of the hallway. The outer rooms have so poor signal that connecting isnt possible. So basically, for Wifi, you have to sit in the hallway. Inconvenient. shouldnt be a problem in the 21st century, especially not when you pay for it.

- Service personnel attitude. This is just a feeling, I have no proof for this... but I always had the feeling that they were very good at pretending to care about your concerns.. but in the end nothing happened, so I think they didn't really give a f.

If you wanna enjoy the vibrant downtown life of KK you can either look into this hotel, or the Gaya Centre Hotel, the Jesselton Hotel or the Horizon hotel

Room Tip: get a room in the middle of the hallway to have acceptable WIFI signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havoc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear havoc23,

Thank you for choosing us during your stay, and sparing time to review us.
We regret to learn that our service standard did not meet your expectation and
appreciate that you have highlighted a few matters for us to improve.

It's important that we know are guests are well-connected to the free WIFI service. There are about 2-3 routers (some are in the rooms) depending on the floor but we will certainly look into guest feedbacks to ensure that there are no blind spots.

We have noted your other concerns and will certainly do better to offer an above par experience for all our guests.

Thank you again and we hope to be of your service again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    258
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
191
204
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We took the family room (wife and four children below the age of 12) for two nights. It was good enough for us as we were busy with activities in the day time - and were in the room just to sleep. Check in and check out was fast and the room is clean. We asked for extra pillows and the response was fast too.

As I hired a car, parking could be a challenge because there is no dedicated parking at the hotel. However, Lady Luck was smiling at us because I managed to find parking space exactly in front of the hotel.

Old Town was in front of the hotel - and we had dinner there. The Tourism office was also across the hotel. As I said, the hotel is strategically located.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McD8003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here on recent family trip to sabah. The family rooms were excellent, 2 king beds. Very comfortable, very good bathroom with shower head from ceiling. Olde town cafe and fook yuen bakery across the road. Jesselton pier up the road for easy access to Islands. Gaya street market every Sunday is right outside. Also stayed one night in amazing 1 bed apartment. Very spacious, awesome spa bath, very very clean. Great service overall. One of the best value for money hotels I've experienced

Room Tip: Family rooms are great value. Sleeps 4 very comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in between various Sabah excursions. Got to see quite a few rooms. Rooms are large, modern and clean. Staff very friendly (especially Alfiann who took very good care of us). Papers and WiFi complimentary and happy to store our bags while we went off on trips. No bar/restaurant but excellent location with great choice of cheap and tasty food within 2 mins walk. Recommend Fook Yuen for pastries and Noodles, Old Town Cafe for breakfast and deserts, New Mantai for good Chinese! All 2 mins walk. Great place to stay and excellent value!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnonnAgusArAisAris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here with my wife and two kids for only one night, standard twin room. The room is big enough for kids to run. Beds are comfortable that we slept well as at home. The staff are nice and very helpful, check-in and check-out are quick. The Location is excellent, no provision of breakfast is not a problem, nearly all kind of food we planned to try is nearby, we left here for another place with an full stomach. The value for money is excellent!

Room Tip: Book from official site, convenient enough, easy to find a room type you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ball615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

we spent 3 nights at hotel sixty3 and it was a very pleasant stay.

family deluxe room was clean and big enough for 3 adults, comfortable bed and we have good quality sleep overall.

staffs are helpful, the tv remote has tiny problem and they act very quick to sent someone to fix it.

location is great, close to sunday market and most of the famous resturants.

great value, will stay in this hotel again if come to KK again.

Room Tip: family deluxe room is very big and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sefollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel does not purport to be - or charge like a - a 5* hotel - It is however very central, very clean and has very helpful staff. We had a large room on the first floor looking directly across to the Sabah tourist office - the old colonial Post Ofifce building. It had a very comfortable bed, was spotlessly clean and large shower and WC attached. There was a common airy sitting area outside the room for general chatting, meeting, reading etc. The hotel did not provide breakfast - or dinner but there was a very good bakery right next door which server breakfast in a room attached to the shop. There was also an Old Time White Coffee outlet across the road where you could have breakfast for around Rm10 plus numerous other small local outlets all within easy walking distance as this hotel is right in the centre of the old town. A walk of around 5 mins brought you to a new shopping mall with a good selection of restaurants for the evening meal and also it was very close to the Jesselton ferry terminal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamelbourne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Property: Hotel Sixty3
Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing