We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice room”
Review of Hotel Sixty3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sixty3
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

A group of family booked 4 rooms, one was upgraded to family deluxe room, room is spacious, clean and new, staff are helpful. Central location, walking distance to harbour for boats to Islands. Near to local food, money exchange and shopping mall.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank hamtaru88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel we chose to begin and end our climb of Mt Kinabalu. Rooms are simple and spacious. Very central and close to good restaurants - Little Italy was great. Had a computer in business area if you need access, free wifi. Only complaint is there are a ton of loud families that stay here, walls are paper thin so you hear everything. Call down to the reception if you have an issue, they got the kids in the room next door to turn the TV down and shut up. All was good. Service friendly, helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: top floor and end room to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Flashpacker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

An absolute bargain in a great part of KK. The town itself turned out to be a really pleasant place and this hotel is the perfect place to stay.

No breakfast though lots of options close by. Amazing seafood market in the evenings about a ten minute stroll away.

Facilities and staff were excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redfella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Redfella83,

We're very pleased to learn that you have had a good experience at Sixty3!
Thank you for taking time out to review us an giving us a 5-star hi five!
It will surely motivate our team to do better.

We certainly look forward to be of your service again in the future!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Thoroughly recommend HotelSixty 3. The Hotel is clean and modern, I stayed in a suite which was a fantastic size - huge bathroom, great TV system etc. I can't really add more than the other reviews other than the hotel deserves all the positive reviews it has received.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Claire P,

Thank you very much for your 5-star review on us!
We're glad to learn that our value-for-money Suite room had
served you really well throughout your stay.

We appreciate the encouraging review and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in your next trip!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great facilities and perfect location to the shops and for food. All rooms is great order, but I did require service for the TV to be activated and it was laggy interface but all in all a great hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Sarah L,

Thank you for spending time to review us! We're pleased to learn that you've found our services highly satisfactory.
We apologize for the small fault on the TV service. We were experiencing some interfacing issues with our TV and IT vendor for a couple of weeks in July, which caused some hiccups in the viewing experience. We have since fixed this issue.

Thank you and we look forward to the privilege of serving you again in your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Top drawer - the room (spacious and snazzy bathroom especially) was superbly fitted and immaculately clean, with an enormous and comfy bed with high quality bedding. The location is excellent, near lots of the good restaurants, the shopping and the sites in KK, and was able to park outside the hotel. Staff very efficient and friendly. For the 190RM paid, this was great value for a very nice hotel indeed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TonyMoon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A lot good things have been said in the reviews - the locations, room space, cleanliness.. However I can't find anyone talk about what i think is the best feature about this hotel - its TV system. I have literally stayed in hundreds of hotel around the world (from 5 stars to backpackers) and this is the first hotel which i come across a comprehensive, user-friendly room TV system. First of all, all channels have good signal (so frustrated with the blurred or weak signal channel even in some 5 stars), secondly it has a full array of choice from normal national channels to movies, and games to viewing your bill on TV, thirdly (the bit I like the best) is the dedicated remote control which is so easy to operate (most of the hotel uses controls with a lots of useless buttons and which are irrelevant to the TV)..

Other good stuffs are the use of glass bottle to refill drinking water, and some small detail like the use of hand-fold paper bag as garbage bin in the toilet.

The only downside is each time I open the room door there is breeze of ammonia smell poking my nose, may be is the special cleaning chemical the hotel use to clean the bathroom I am not to sure. The smell doesn't stay long so i am not particular fussy about it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnmcsls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAmbrose, General Manager at Hotel Sixty3, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear mnmcsls,

Thank you very much for a positive review on our TV system!
Indeed, it is a feature not much reviewed about thus we are pleased to read yours!

The TV system also allow users to surf the internet from it (kindly request for a keyboard from Front Desk) and has functions where you can choose an 'ambiance' to set a mood in your room ( waterfall, rainforest sound/image etc). There is also a PAYU music library and connection to free online radios.

Thank you for noticing the little details and efforts we are placing in being eco-conscious ; the paper bag made out of used magazines and our new refillable drinking water bottle. We hope to do more in the future.

We certainly look forward to the privilege of serving you again in your next trip and many thanks again for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sixty3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sixty3

Address: 63 Jalan Gaya | 0 KM, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £39 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sixty3 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sixty3 is a truly centrally located hotel in Kota Kinabalu city.It sits on the quaint, bustling, yet charming street of Jalan Gaya (formerly known as Bond Street during colonial times), with the State’s tourist information office right opposite the hotel. The street is flourishing with a myriad of restaurants, bistros and cafes, burgeoning with everything from lifestyle malls (Suria Sabah Mall, Wisma Merdeka) to local side-stalls, and being the city’s business high street, it is surrounded by financial institutions. Also famous for its colourful and vibrant Sunday market, it is evident that Jalan Gaya captures perfectly the essence of life in Kota Kinabalu and at Hotel Sixty3; all of this are just pulses away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sixty3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing