We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KK Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel on February 2013 for 2 nights. Frankly not worth the price I paid for of RM158.00. Rate is expensive then what the same hotels has in K.L. The only good point of this hotel is the location where the food courts, seafood restaurant & shopping mall just nearby the hotel within walking distance.

All rooms equipped with wifi but be prepare to get frustration with the line, very...very bad. i got disconnected more then 3 times within 10 minutes then you have to keep trying in order to get back online. If you call the receptionist they will give the same answer, 'I will restart the router' or 'we have lots of rooms occupied tonight and all rooms are using internet'

Staff are not friendly all, don't expect a welcome wish upon check in.

Rooms consider ok but too expensive. Shower room very small and for sure your arm will hit the glasss when taking shower

Will definately not going to stay at this hotel in future.

Room Tip: few another hotels nearby which I believed should be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satria_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

I pay RM148 for queen bed room with the window facing star buck coffee. I can hear the music from nearby road and pubs, others may find this annoying.
The air conditioner leaked out on the second day but they managed to fix it. Free bottled drinking water, coffee making, wifi and limited tv channel.
The location is good as it is near to malls.

Recommended for short stay only. There are cheaper hotel with better environment and condition

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank mawing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The location is very good. Many shops besides this hotel. Just walk in.. but still not value for money.. my room have a television but the signal is very bad and only have 6 channel to choose..Please don't choose standard room because it have no window..You need to choose deluxe room or family room. Only that types have window but still, the view is only stall..because the hotel is in a building..It only have one lift..The receptionist also want me to pay deposit for extra room card..so annoying..I already pay RM 100 per day for deposit.. House keeping very bad.. They just put all thing near to the lift.. They should have a place to put all the towel etc.. My first and last to stay to this hotel..

Room Tip: please choose family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arifafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We book 3 rooms there, one is oki, other 2 are horrible. We arrived very late due to the flight delay, my friends checked in the room then went out for late dinner. When they came back, they found that the ceilings of these 2 rooms are leak so water dropped in the toilets. They then moved to another rooms. But it was not the end. Then they found that there are no water (this happened again in next days). The staffs said it was maintained so there were no water. They only went to sleep at nearly 2am. The horrible thing happened in the early morning when hotel began to construct from 6am. Impossible to sleep because of noise. Bad experience

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thaolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here during our stopover prior to diving trip and also post diving trip. Good location is a plus factor. Rooms are small, but clean and need with all the basic amenities. It is a budget hotel, so do not expect a Le Meridien. Value for money. Recommended for short stay.

Room Tip: If you have the means, choose a deluxe room which is more spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynd_anwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Location of the hotel is great... Everything was within walking distance and Starbucks Coffee right opposite of the hotel which is our place to hang out during night time... Stayed 2 nights in this hotel but the sleeping quality is just terrible... Check in on my first night and was told that all the rooms are fully booked and we're given the keys to the room at ground floor and my 2 other friends at upper floor... Actually, we had enquire for a room with window but due to our late check in around 8pm, no choice even after we argued with the staff there... It's ok, we're promised a room at upper floor for the second night so just take the only room at the ground floor... Bad mistake!!! First, no hot water for shower... Wife keep on nagging as the water is too cold so no choice again, complain to the staff and it took a while before the maintenance staff go and check on their machine... Of course you will need to stand at the counter in order to make sure the staff do their job before my wife nags me again... 20 minutes waiting, the hot shower is working and the staff told me that I will need to turn on the tap for 10 minutes because the hot water need time to flows from the top of the building.... What!!??! 10 minutes of water just washed away to the hole because need time to wait for the hot shower... Second, no sound proof at the ground floor because I can hear the staff talking so loud at the counter among each other... Not to mention door banging because the housekeeping room is located just beside our room... Second night was much better as we got the room at second floor and everything works very well until we hear staff singing songs while doing housekeeping at the opposite room... *speechless*... If you're renting a car, be prepare to pay for parking fees from 0800-2200hrs on weekdays and until 2300hrs on weekends... First 3 hours RM5, subsequent hours RM2/hour...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The family and I ( 2 adults, 3 kids) just spent 2 nights at the KK Waterfront.
The staff was okay. As it is a new hotel, they're obviously still working on some of the finer points of running a hotel.
The state of the place however definitely needs improvement. There were loose wires dangling from ceilings in the corridors, dirty linens and towels just heaped on the floor next to the lifts, and our rooms walls were covered in what looked like plaster residue. It certainly wasn't finished to a reasonable standard. It seems with a small amount of work, they could really elevate the place. Shame.
I've stayed in (far) worse and much better, hence, the average grade.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpparenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
4.6 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
4.4 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#36 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
InHotel
InHotel
#45 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
4.7 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#53 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
64 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Waterfront Hotel

Address: Jalan Puri Warisan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £27 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your KK Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing