We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
KK Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I was travel here to attend a wedding dinner. But I had a nightmare staying at this suck hotel. I made 3 complaint to reception,the room 211 had few cockroach and then change me to room 212. This room is dust everywhere. And they change to me to room 311, this even worst cos it got huge smell coming in to the room and time of 5am. And they said is mosquito fogging from the building. The management said can't do anything of it. So have no choice and made a police report.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

we stayed here for single nights when passing through KK, the staff were always very helpful, helping us arrange car hire, storing excess baggage etc..
very clean (new) and comfortable.
just a couple of minutes away from the seafront

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

KK Waterfront Hotel is smackdabbed right in the center of KK city, therefore, making it the best location in terms of accessibility to all the interesting spots (i.e. nightlife) in KK. Some of the rooms in the hotels boast a fantastic view of the sea. The rooms are very clean - I love the water pressure in the shower! Just be careful of the floors in the bathroom. It can get really slippery. Wear the flipflops that the hotel provide - they provide a few of different sizes in the room. The lights in the rooms make up for a cozy ambience - I had a great sleep in all the five nights i was there! I stayed in a deluxe room. There is a huge flat screen TV in the room, however, the channels are quite limited.

The best thing about the hotel is that it is located just opposite STARBUCKS and of course other lovely eatery joints. So, if you do get hungry, just go down and out and you'll have what you want. The hotel is a 2-minute walk across to the waterfront where some of the best nightlife and water holes are.

The hotel overall looks chic /elegant, lobby area is comfortable. Check in/out was swift, however, I must comment on the grooming of the staff. I think the management could do more about staff grooming overall - no long colored finger nails, no chewing gum while speaking and checking in /out guests, no flashy make-up, and have proper uniforms for the staff. Remember, every word that you say, everything that you wear and every move that you make speaks on behalf of the hotel & management.

I would stay in this hotel again when I'm in Kota Kinabalu. It's value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Was staying for 2 nights 22nd and 23th July 2013, convinnient location. The reception was kind enough to waive my cab fare to airport as there was a power cut for 3 hrs( better than nothing) ... Thanks( Kunar @ Johor Bahru)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShanJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

good location, close to almost everything...food, pubs, massages, shops, shopping complexes...all close by.
rooms were clean, rooms were made everyday, receptionist and staffs were great.
just wished for the price u pay, the rooms were better...thats all...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manorekha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here for one night in April, and you could not get a better location as it's right opposite the the bars and restaurants. Though, that does mean it can be noisy, especially if it's Saturday night when we stayed. The music goes on until about 2am, and you can hear the planes taking off from KK airport. Recommend earplugs if not staying out too late.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumble_Swerve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed for a night. This place is just perfect. It’s located at strategic location. Walking distance from flee market & fine dine areas. The lobby staff was very friendly.

The room was great & cosy. I stayed with 3 friends in a family room. The hotel room rate is reasonable. It’s better than cheap back packer’s hotels nearby.

Pro's :- Strategic location & great room. (new)

Con's :- No waiting area for taxi. Drop of & hop in on a taxi very difficult.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#78 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Celyn Hotel City Mall
Celyn Hotel City Mall
#80 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
74 reviews
5.1 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#54 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Kooler Inn
Hotel Kooler Inn
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
18 reviews
7.6 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#31 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
44 reviews
4.7 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Waterfront Hotel

Address: Jalan Puri Warisan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £28 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your KK Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing