We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, open market type” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gayang Seafood Restaurant

Gayang Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Noisy, open market type”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Can get very busy and wait for a long time for a table. You have to search and wait for your own table if it is full. Service is cheap. Food Is ok. Overrated. We came back because we got so sick of Hotel food and it is the closest.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WinWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    99
    42
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

My kids love the food especially the deep fry squid, buttered prawn and shells. They prepared the food within 15 minutes even they have a big crowd. We packed some the left over food and bring it to the hotel for late supper.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kakijalans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Average Seafood Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I agree with some reviews stating that this is just another ordinary Seafood Restaurant. A bit expensive but still cheaper if you compared to another similar Restaurant outside Sabah. Quality of food acceptable, but service a bit slow as the workers are just too busy or make themselves busy, pretending not to see you when you are actually trying to get their attention. I came here solely because of the food. I give this Restaurant - 3 1/2 Star out of 5 mainly because of the food. Their competitor, Salut Seafood Restaurant is not far from this place. Come here if you love seafood but be patient especially with their workers, sometimes they are just too annoying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thecuriostraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The ambient is not so good for entertaining friends or clients. The shortage of staff causes ordering and deliveries of food a big hassle. Quality of Food is just average

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny Chuah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice seafoood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had dinner at this restaurant. There was a large crowd in the restaurant. The service was fast, the food taste delicious and the price was really reasonable. A plate of buttered prawn for 4 people only cost RM20. We had 7 dishes with rice and drinks amounted to RM160, that we considered very cheap compared to the restaurant in KL.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gayang Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Gayang Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing