We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 05:30 - 17:30
Save
Review Highlights
Great day

We had a lively time riding around Tuaran area visiting local villages and admiring the vistas. Hot... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2020
838marikam
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
via mobile
A Great Day on Mountain Bikes

Just had a great day riding in rural Sabah on mountain bikes. We stayed on fairly flat rural roads... read more

Reviewed 28 February 2020
Jeremy K
,
Indented Head, Australia
via mobile
Read all 201 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kota Kinabalu
from US$52.61
More Info
from US$48.72
More Info
from US$77.00
More Info
from US$56.42
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
175
19
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
175
19
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We had a great day out with the terrific hosts, Patrick, Jeffrey and Christian.It was really good to get off main roads, see the countryside, learn about the local culture, agriculture and history. The riding had some steep sections on dirt roads but the guides gave us plenty of opportunity for rests, drink and an opportunity to chat and ask questions. The bikes were in good condition and no issues with the equipment. A fun activity to do with teenagers.

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank Etakumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We did the Tuaran ride with Borneo Bike on our recent stay in KK. Christian & Geoffrey were terrific hosts & guides. Only 3 of us on the ride so plenty of time to converse & get information about the locality, KK & Sabah in general. Some hilly stretches & rough patches but generally an easy ride. Very scenic through the rubber plantations with Mount Kinabalu in the background when you were least expecting it. Add in the suspension bridge ride & lunch & Temple and it made for an interesting outing. Equipment in good condition, the guides knew their gear & made some quick changes to make it more comfortable for us. Would definitely use Borneo Bike if we visited KK again.

Date of experience: June 2016
3  Thank 429stevel429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Went on the Turan day ride
It was ranning the day i went,
The ride was appropriately 2 hours and went for 20 kilometers. We went through villages and across four suspension bridges with beautiful views. We had lunch in the town of turan at a local restraunt. The food was nice with a wide selection of foods.
Overall it was a fun day out and was a good experience.

Date of experience: June 2016
5  Thank CallumB389
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2016

My wife and me wish to thanks Patrick, Chris & Jeff for making our cycling & trekking trip a memorable one. These guys are great, wonderful, accomodative. They perservere with patience most of the time with us of we have to push the bikes due to steep climb & heat. All of them are great cooks and real comedian too. The journey they planned for us was a real challenge (uphill & loose gravels) but was filled with plenty wonderful country side scenaries and friendly locals who live harmony and contented with their livelihood. Hopefully in our next ride with them, we will be able to mingle more with the villagers. Nobody should regret having them in your trip. They are the source of energy that drives and rejuvenate for any cyclist regardless casual or tough.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank Tian Sin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Manager at Bike Borneo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Hi Mr Tan,

Thank you for your honest feedback!

Jeff, Christy and myself enjoyed the tour with yourself and Mrs Tan.
We are just normal guys trying to make the best of time
while we still can:).

Borneo is beautiful place, even for us locals. Hopefully it stays that way.

Patrick CM
Bike Borneo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

This was definitely a true highlight of our trip. Jeffery & Christian promptly picked us up from our hotel to begin a 2 day 1 night bike/hike adventure. Everything went like clockwork from start to finish. They provided plenty of snacks & cold drinks. They prepared us the most fabulous outstanding dinner at our homestay. They were both extremely knowledgeable about every aspect of the ride. Including the area, the people, the history etc. This trip is a must if you enjoy adventure and beautiful scenery. Hope to get back to KK again soon!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews