We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As hotels go this isn't bad....”
Review of Hii-5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hii-5 Hotel
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hue, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As hotels go this isn't bad....”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We've stayed here twice and each time we found it value for money and worth staying in. It has a few downsides like no real communal area but otherwise a good place to rest your head. Not all of the staff speak good English but someone will be around if you ask. Good that the hotel has tea and coffee making facilities, shampoo and soaps plus TV and not showers. Will provide you with extras if you request it. Also good that the hotel has local bakers and food courts locally...

Room Tip: Don't get a room which faces onto the construction site e.g 101-105 and 201-205 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We have just left this hotel after a 2 night stay in a standard double room. Whilst the room was clean (other than a previous guests underwear on top of the open wardrobe), relatively modern, comfortable and in a reasonably central location, there are a number of downsides to this hotel which I have outlined below.

Firstly it is almost impossible to find by foot. It's address is stated as Jalan Laiman Diki on Agoda which is wrong. It is actually on the next road along behind the Sedco Centre.

Upon arrival, we were "greeted" by a lady on reception who spoke virtually no English. Now, I accept that not everyone speaks English, but I just would have thought someone on an international hotel reception would at least have communicative English- she couldn't even manage to check us in properly (she didn't ask for ID, didn't tell us check out time, didn't tell us what floor we were on, didn't have any maps or useful leaflets). We also asked where the local laundry was-she had no idea what we were talking about so I was left wandering round KK with my washing for a whole evening.

The "free wifi" did not work once on the third floor during our stay but there was absolutely no effort from either the lady in reception or her male replacement (who spoke equally poor English) the next day to help or give us some comfort that something was being done about it-just "sorry". We really needed to use the wifi to plan our Sabah stay so this made life very difficult for us. The language barrier made it almost pointless asking the hotel for any help. Thank goodness there was no emergency in the hotel during our stay.

The air conditioning unit in our room looked relatively new but sounded like a force 9 gale every time you turned it on so that was pretty pointless having.

The room was also lacking basic things like a cabinet next to your bed and hangers! Our room was also not made up during our stay.

I will be back in KK on 15 Feb 2013 but will be avoiding this hotel-it is extremely average and the service is non existent.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpw222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

SE Asia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Good budget hotel in central location. Easy walking distance to all sights and attractions in KK city. Surrounded by a large choice of many different eateries. The area is undergoing a renaissance and is becoming more upbeat. Lots of small boutique budget hotels opening up and a large range of cheap to moderate restuarants in the area.

Room was well sized and clean. Bathroom smallish but functional. AC and flat screen tv good.

A good choice for a budget stay and I will stay again next time I am in KK.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nonbg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Just a short walk to the center of the city,rooms were a good size. No minibar/ ref nor in room safe. Stayed 2 different times in same week rooms were about the same. Poor wifi. Connection was good but speeds very slow also was unable to connect to some websites.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank sirchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel in family room for 1 night. overal is good. but the wifi is quite slow at ground floor and the room is quite noisy because of the restaurants next to the hotel. will stay at this hotel again next time and will request the room upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ynarosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and the hotel was surprisingly stylish/modern looking with the price of RM80 for a standard deluxe room as compare with other hotels just nearby with the same price as hii-5. We had trouble finding the hotel because the address in booking.com is incorrect. It is not located in J.Laiman Diki but in Jalan Kampung Air 5, behind Hotel Rafflesia. My husband and I thought we wouldn't find the hotel so we looked around Kampung Air, we're very particular on looking for a hotel with window, not close enough to the main road, a elevator coz we wanted to have a high room and a soft bed, but upon inquiring and entering 6 hotels we decided to call hii-5 contact number, though I know it'll cost us as much coz we don't have local number, thank God the person who picked up the phone said it is behind Hotel Rafflesia. Though we got tired looking for this hotel, our overall stay has been satisfyingly relaxing and receptionist, Razlan and the other girl were very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhara08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Sarawak
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

very good location. its actually located at Jalan Kampung Air 5 not at Jln Laiman Diki. Just a stone throw away from Center Point, a few minutes away walk from the waterfront, behind the seafood foodcourt. Clean room, LCD tv & fantastic price. the only problem is that tv reception not good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kuching_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#74 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
#33 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#61 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#50 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#70 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hii-5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hii-5 Hotel

Property: Hii-5 Hotel
Address: Lot 7 Block A, SEDCP Complex, Jln Laiman Diki, Kpg Air, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hii-5 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hii-5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing