We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Klagan Hotel
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have stayed in KK twice before, once at the 5* Shangri La and another time at Eden 54, the backpacking hostel. Both great and at different ends of the spectrum. The Klagan is somewhere in between but offers fantastic value for money.
I'm not a fan of mid range hotels, I find them depressing. I would rather blow out or rough it. When we booked a room here therefore as part of a group of friends traveling, expectations were low.
I was very pleasantly suprised therefore by both the room and the fantastic location.
We supersized our booking and had a large room overlooking the harbourfront which for GBP50 or Sing$100 per night was excellent value. It was comnfortable and clean and just a stride from the pubs and restaurants.
Minor issues with this hotel include:
- no breakfast
- corridors haven't been brought up to the same standard as the rooms / lobby (doesn't really matter but you feel like you are in the set of the Shining once you leave your room!)
- no mini bar
but for the price we paid, there is very little to compain about.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room its worth the extra tenner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is one of the best value you can encounter. The hotel is perfectly located in front ot the waterfront. There are amenities all around it. It is modern, clean, with great decor and the deluxe rooms are spacious with great bathrooms and amazing landscape views of the bay. The staff was very nice. Everything was perfect .

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Our twin bed Room was spacious, clean & beautiful. Lodation : situated in a shopping mall. Parking is free, staff are courteous & helpful. Wifi available for multiple devices based on request. Booked via iphone thru Agoda on the spot since we were very disappointrd with Hotel Imperial Boutec in the sama shopping complex

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhfBangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is a nice hotel, although a bit on the expensive side. Rates range from 175 to 250 ringgit. However, it has large rooms with hanging closet space and desk space as well as places to lay out suitcase besides the floor. The bathroom is large with a separate shower and tub. The beds are very comfortable. The deluxe rooms have an unobstructed view of the ocean with large viewing windows, great views of the sunsets and islands.

There is no restaurant or breakfast included. The staff was helpful and the lobby area was in the process of adding a sitting and lounge area, not sure what else was being added. However, the hotel really didn't seem to be oriented too much toward tourists. No tour desk or even brochures in the lobby.

I would definitely stay here again, it is located across from Centre Mall so lots of eating places in the basement food court.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra money for the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rin101_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ai piani alti la vista è più ampia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 핫셈
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank あちゃ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing