We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but no service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Klagan Hotel
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location but no service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed two nights on 13/6/13 and 18/6/13.
First night disappointment. Had made arrangement for connecting rooms as we were traveling with children. Was told hotel is full house and no other connecting rooms available.
The breakfast is not great and doorman and porters are hardly seen.
Second disappointment. We checked in after a tiring climb of Mt KK at 7pm and was told our rooms were not available. As they had allowed late checkouts from our rooms at 6pm!! How can this happen? The reception was non apologetic and nonchalant about the whole thing. As we were all very tired, we did not want to kick a big fuss. Needless, to say, we ate out for our breakfast.
The hotel is busy and noisy. Poor upkeep. Hairs could be found sticking to the toilet walls etc and the rooms smell musty. The carpets are worn and the windows need cleaning from the outside as there are a lot of foreign bodies stuck outside.
Location is great though. Near the fantastic Ocean seafood restaurant. Nearby, there is also Quicksilver and BodyGlove shops.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wenbenSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    169
    61
    14
    2
See reviews for
56
82
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Stay for 3 nights. The lobby wasn't that welcoming but room is clean and equipped. Ask for higher floor can have a good view of the water front although the hotel only have 11 levels. It location is walking distance to all the eateries and markets.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews on trip advisor and was not disappointed. The rooms are clean and spacious, hope that they can maintain this. It's a newly renovated space, so it'll be up to the management - the bathrooms are clean however the plastic shower curtain in my room was not sufficient and the bathroom floor flooded w water after every shower. My friend had a similar room but his bathroom had a sliding glass door that fell off its track. Unfortunately, these are issues with design and maintenance. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, as are the bed linens and towels provided. Wi-Fi worked without any issue throughout the hotel. The staff are pleasant. Location of hotel is excellent with food, shopping and entertainment literally at the doorstep. Overall a good experience, I would go back there for a no-frills comfortable clean safe stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a non-smoking room on the high floors, but since the rooms are spread across 8, 9, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogbertBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I've stayed here with my husband for 3 nights. Both of us had a pleasant stay. We stayed at a superior room on level 9. It's a very spacious room,with a view of South China Sea. The bed is big and comfortable. There's separate WC,basin and bath tub in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast is served at the Wanyan Rooftop Cafe, where you can enjoy a fabulous seaview from the rooftop cafe while having the first meal of the day. There's variety food such as fried rice, fried noodles, varieties of fruits, salads, eggs, cakes, muffins, croissants, bread toast, ham, baked beans, fruit juices, milk, coffee and tea.
The hotel is located in the Warisan Square. You can mentioned to the taxi driver about the Warisan Square if they are not sure about the location of the Klagan Hotel. This hotel is very near to the Filipinos market, where you can get varieties of local souvenirs as well as the local tit bits, like kuih cincin. Some more you can also get lots of sea products, like seaweeds and scallops.
The cheap and nice seafood is 20 minutes away from the hotel. Take a walk towards Pasar Besar. The varieties of seafood stalls are just immediately after the Pasar Besar. Choose your favorite seafood and ask the seller to cook the way you want.
Because of this hotel is located in the Warisan Square, that's why it's very convenient, if you need to buy any personal cares. There's also a money changer located in the Warisan Square.
If you wish to go to Taman Tunku Abdul Rahman, you just need to walk to the harbor to purchase the boat ticket.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor (level 10) rooms, because the breakfast is served above the level 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine_lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kajang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Good points:
Clean
Good location
Near to the shopping malls, handicraft markets - 5mins walking distance
Nice little touches: Ironing facilities, international adaptor, prayer mat
Spacious bedroom

Bad points:
Carpet smells slightly musty

Highly recommended. Well worth the money

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squiddy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Paying RM210 w/breakfast for superior room, the room is large and spacious. The lobby doesnt look appealing,however thats not a problem as long as the hotel room is comfortable.

Breakfast at the rooftop, breakfast choices is typical continental buffet.

Would recommend friends to stay at this hotel. For Kota Kinabalu standard,this hotel is considered good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

It's the first time I came back after they changed it from imperial international to the klagan, and i must say that i'm quite impressed. The rooms might be the same as before but it's still as comfortable & spacious. Of course the carpets might be a bit worn out but i dont mind it at all. The location is still a plus point as well (it's attached to warisan square & has centre point mall right in front of it). And an important note to all guest who're driving their own cars (cuz it drives me a bit crazy trying to find info on parking since the place is quite notorious for being busy most of the time); do rejoice since the current management lets you parked your car anywhere inside (not the outside parking) the warisan square building with no charges at all. All you need to do is take the ticket & get it stamped from the hotel's receptionist. Definitely another plus point for me :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoichoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Property: The Klagan Hotel
Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing